Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
96
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2013
Wow! Where to start. Ruth offered me an e-copy of this book in return for an honest review. It gives me great pleasure to say it was brilliant.

Many people dismiss chick-lit as having no substance but often, as was the case with this book, you learn so much. I have been fortunate enough to have attended an Asian wedding and have experienced first hand the generousity and vibrancy that Ruth managed to portray so well in her book. For me Mills Ali the main character is brilliant. I felt every emotion that she felt - I laughed out loud and cried with her all the way through the book. By the end I felt she could have been someone I knew personally.

Mills is a typical young adult who feels stifled by her family, who actually understand her better than she realises. With the help of her mother she persuades her father to let her pursue her ambition to become a journalist and sets off to work on a magazine in London for twelve months - what she doesn't tell them is that she's also going to spend the year finding her own future husband to avoid the marriage her parents have arranged for her to a groom she's never met!

At the heart of the novel is the strong message of personal, cultural and family values which were different for Mills and her western friends but amounted to the same thing - respect! Ruth managed to weave the exotic Pakistani culture into this book in such a way I could see and taste the exotic Eastern clothes and food. She managed this in a typical, laugh out loud chick-lit style whilst respectfully conveying the difficulties and emotional struggles faced by young Muslim women living in a modern, western, society.

It's a very modern book which I highly recommend to any chick lit lover. Ruth Saberton is an author to sit up and take notice of - thank you.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
The most funny book I've read in a while! As a white woman I have little in knowledge of Pakistani culture or traditional Muslim family traditions, this book was written in such a way that I never felt alienated and felt like I was part of the gang. As well as being an entertaining read, I've learnt a lot along the way.
Bollywood without the tinsel, singing and dancing!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
Mills is brought up in her cultures ways but manages to persuade her family to let her continue her education. She completes her degree and wants to continue on her career path. Her family has a different idea. This book shows the problems encountered by different cultures living in modern Britain. A nice summer read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
I was hooked from the first chapter,a fascinating peek into how relationships work in a different culture.
I was so eager to find out what happened next almost missed my stop on the train...one of those books you can't put down but you really don't want it to end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
Ruth Saberton has a way of writing about her characters that makes you feel you know them. I was entertained by Mills Ali and her exploits to find her own romantic hero, rather than have the arranged wedding her parents want for her. I enjoyed reading about her ventures into Muslim dating and her work on an Asian magazine. A very easy fun read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 October 2013
Well, I have already said this and I can only repeat that Ruth Saberton writing as Ruth Saberton and not under her other pen names, is just the best.

The book was brilliant and new in some ways. It was colourful, exotic, full of sounds and nice smells, and first of all, full of wonderful descriptions of a culture that is not so well known to me. And it was great to read about those new aspects, it was great to read about the visit to Pakistan and the preparations for wedding.

Mills is a very modern Muslim girl with more modern Muslim - sisters and brother and not so modern parents. The parents want Mills happily married and happily means: they must arrange the marriage. And they did arrange it. But Mills doesn't want this, she wants to fell in love, she wants to know her husband before she marries him and what is more, she wants to work as a journalist. And she got a wonderful chance, as she got a job at the magazine. But it's in London. Will the parents agree to this? They do, indeed, so maybe they are not so conservative as one thinks and they are not as afraid of other relatives, for whom only children, grandchildren, weddings and not some job in the capital city are the most important things in the world. There is only one condition: if Mills doesn't want arranged marriage she must find herself a nice boy who'll stay her husband. And she must do it fast.
So Mills hits London and its dating scene. The guys that she meets are hilarious, and it all written with typical Ruth style, I have laughed out loud or shook my head thinking, how it is possible? Is it for real? Why, people, why? Why do you come to Europe if you don't want to try a new life? And even if the guy does seem okay, his family is the example of a really bad, bad dream.
The ideas for finding a men, the dates were brilliant. Wouldn't like to be in Mills' shoes most of the times, oh no.
But I guess I can understand why the men doesn't want to change. It must be really nice to be a centre of the world for all women in a family, it must be really great when someone makes your wish come true before you can only think about them.

Mills was brilliant. Of course I felt desperate when she agreed to the arranged marriage but I could see her inner battle: the modern Mills against the polite, obedient daughter. I may perhaps don't understand it but I respect it. But she was intelligent, clever and funny and had great imagination, this must be told. Her friends were brilliant but the best of all them was her gay - friend from the magazine. Loved him with all my heart.
The men in this book are important characters as well, and we get really a big variety of them, one more ridiculous than the other, good and very bad, and of course Wish comes true:)

The book was written in a light, funny, engaging way, and the plot was fantastic, I think, no I am sure I have never read a book about such topic and it was great! The chapters were not too long and I just wanted to turn the next page to see what's going to happen. In my opinion, a brilliant read about really some important issues but delivered in a light, warm and funny way. All what I want :) Have waited long for another Ruth Saberton and just devoured this book.

I received a copy of this book in exchange for a review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
I must admit this is the first Bollywood style novel that I have read though I have seen films before.
Meeting Mills Ali from the moment I turned the first page has been continuously exciting!
Mills is achieving her dream job in London working on an Asian magazine as a compromise with her parents before an arranged marriage in a years time if she does not find a suitable Muslim man whilst living in London!
Here ensures moments that have you laughing , gasping with shock and close to tears with happiness as Mills blunders her way through dating via singles nights , supermarket singles shopping nights and dating a London solicitor whilst trying to find her soul mate!
Like every single woman there is pressure to date and this has been written about in a funny, yet sympathetic way as Mills has met all sorts and had some disastrous dates and some spectacular ones! I couldn't help laughing outright at some points , as she evaded creepy men and has a knight on a motorbike come to her rescue!
Mills has been a great character , not without flaws and that's what has made her more likable and a great character to read about and follow her adventures with.
This book is a kind of cross between Pride and Prejudice meets The Devil Wears Prada and has been a joy to read and the ending was worth the wait as Mills gets her man , but no spoilers you will needs to read it yourself to find out who!
Pick this book up and enjoy the ride that Ruth Saberton has created as it's fun all the way!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
I've read quite a few of Ruth's books and found them very entertaining for one reason or another. This one is quite different as it focuses on issues Asian girls face living in the UK facing arranged marriages back in Pakistan. I believe she wrote this in collaboration with someone else with first hand knowledge which helped. I would have liked a bit more explanation regarding the names used for things I have no knowledge about and simply a (Pakistani) word/name/title meant nothing to me to assist my understanding, hence only 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
I have read it twice. I loved the story line but also found it very interesting with the arranged marriage thread and also visiting Pakistan. It was a bit slow on the first few pages but don't give up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2015
This was the first of Ruths books I read, the beginning reminded me of East is East until Mills moved down South. It taught me about Pakistan culture and how it blends with the western world. Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse