Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 19 January 2014
This book chronicled the ups and downs of HR's life from the East End of
London to the comfort and security of his family at his beach side house
in Bournemouth. I found the narrative endearing in its honesty, to 'tell
it like it is' and to highlight one man's extraordinary love of football.

Harry is depicted as a simple man with limited interests, yet in hindsight,
he is extremely successful. He has a close knit family, a passion for his
vocation that extends way beyond the money. I can see why Harry is so popular
amongst so many associated to football. He is gregarious, loves an argument
and banter about football and yet upholds the need to respect and assist his
fellow man.

His anecdotes are endless and it is clear that he would have many more to tell
and people to talk about if space allowed, after many years in football.
He may not be the Football Associations old boys club favourite, but his
willingness to be frank and fair is rare today. He never claims to be wise and
street smart outside of football and comes across as down to earth and humble.

He admits to be being gullible. He was conned for years by a 'jockey'. He is
irresponsible with his medication, dependent on his wife, sentimental towards
his family and unpleasantly moody after football matches. He is also human for
a private temper tantrum, destroying plates of sandwiches (once) when his team
let themselves down.

There are times in the book when the reader could be forgiven for thinking that Harry
is using the book to put his side of the story as an antidote for criticism, back
stabbing, prejudice, media myths or plain nastiness against him. That said, I never
felt he was trying to settle scores or disrespect anyone. He prefers to move on from
unpleasantness and prefers not to burn bridges. The book mostly takes a light hearted
and humorous perspective.

Clearly, Harry wasn't in football for the money, his wage negotiations and club moves
show this. He loves football, but foremost, he loves winning. Even to the detriment of
his health. I found Harry's depiction of the great Bobby Moore was moving. He seemed
to idolise the man and was hugely angry at the injustice of the way he was treated by
West Ham. So too, his unhappiness that Tony Adams did not get a chance to assist Arsenal
after his playing days were over.

I would say that anyone that got caught in a lift or on a plane, seated next to Harry
would be treated with honest opinions and endless anecdotes. A man, humble in nature,
who made good and never forgot his roots. A man of the people. I liked this book and
recommend it to more than just football fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2014
I found this autobiography a fun and enjoyable read. If like me you have a bit of a soft spot for Harry you will enjoy this book immensely. In fact i would go so far as to say it does often feel like you are in conversation with him rather than reading his book.

The stories themselves are wonderfully told as Harry talks you through his playing career all the way up to his relegation with QPR at the end of the 2012/13 season. Honest and open i enjoyed these passages of the book a great deal and would strongly recommend them to all football fans.

As a man i know he can divide opinions especially amongst football fans but i would suggest even to the people that are not his biggest fan to maybe give the book a chance as he may change your mind.

Another Fun Trip Down Memory Lane
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2015
As you would expect from Harry, this is blunt, accurate, pulls no punches and has a nice touch of humour thrown in. He tells it how it is, from his early days as a winger for West Ham to managing QPR. From his disgust at the late great Bobby Moore's lack of recognition (how does Trevor Brooking get a knighthood but Bobby never did) to his dismissal from Spurs, it's a riveting read. Harry is an old school manager that wisely moved on with the times. You won't see too many more autobiographies from the likes of Harry, read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2014
Great book, have read all of Harry's books, really down to earth and you can tell by his words that everything is heartfelt and sincere. All is described as only Harry can, with language everyone can understand. One of these books which you do not want to put down. I am a great admirer of his and when you read of the teams he has turned down the opportunity to manage, because he is happiest at home on the beautiful south coast with his family, his sincerity really rings true. A self made, hard working lad from the East End, he deserves the comfort and happiness which e now enjoys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2015
I've never like Harry much as a person and was expecting to be won over by this book but while he explains some of the more controversial episodes in his career quite well, I still struggled to fully accept his version of events as gospel. To be fair to him, he did admit to being at fault at certain times, so it wasn't all just trying to present himself in a good light and deflect criticism.

As with most other football autobiographies, it was quite bland and pedestrian. A few interesting details here and there but I would have expected a lot more fireworks and insight from a character like Harry. Passages on the abuse he got after the move to Southampton are interesting, as is the bit on his falling out with Billy Bonds. Julian Dicks comes across as a complete twat as well, which was nice to hear.

Watch out for the phrase "got the hump", which features 473 times - almost as often as Harry went out to dine in an Italian restaurant over the course of the 424 pages! ;-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2014
Harry has always been labelled as a character of the game - and of course he is. But what you get from his book, apart from some hilarious anecdotes, is the sense of a very passionate and astute football manager.

He REALLY hates losing, and is very organised when it comes to getting the best out of his team.

He tries to convey his sincere lack of bitterness over the England job, but you can't help but believe his ongoing anger at Bobby Moore's treatment by the FA and west ham (which was horrific) is also an admonishment to them all whilst trying to keep everyone happy.

He makes it quite clear nobody at the FA has played or managed in football and it is very clear certain types aren't going to fit in with university type executives - including our beloved 'Arry. He doesn't entirely go for them though.

This may an inclination that, despite what he says, if they did get in contact he would indeed probably take the job. And no doubt he'd be brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2014
Felt after i'd read this book that i hadn't had all the story.......warts n all although the chapter concerning West Hams treatment of the legend Bobby Moore was a great read but to be honest i found the book lacklustre in parts although very readable in parts it was never a book i didn't want to put down like some books i've read in the past, i'm a huge admirer of Harry Redknapp but his book never hit the literary spot!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2016
Excellent book all about the life of Harry. This is what you want from an autobiography , a full career and plenty of tales to tell. Surprised never talked more about his family life, but suppose that's his private side. Some great stories from his wheeling and dealing days and talks with complete honesty
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2013
Football writing from a football man, right from the heart of the game. Entertaining throughout, elegantly spanning a timeline of over 50 years in professional sports, he is not sparing his shortcomings and failures, and his touching excursion on Bobby Moore is sufficient proof that Harry Redknapp knows his own place in football history. While his success as a football manager cannot be compared to Sir Alex, in my view his autobiography is much better and by far the more worthwhile read compared to Mr. Fergusons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2014
Bought this before Fergie's book on recommendation of friends. Enjoyed it - Harry's been around a bit so it's a fun tale told at a good pace. As a Spurs fan I was a little bit disappointed at how he seems to rush through that part of his life; maybe I was just expecting too much, or maybe there are some things from his time there that he's not allowed to talk about.

Still, I didn't buy it purely to read about his time at my team. The stories from his playing days, then managing at Bournemouth, West Ham and Portsmouth (and Southampton!) are all fascinating as well. Would thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)