Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£10.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2014
Much better than expected. I'm not sure why but this Metallica concert film was ignored by every rock fan I know, maybe it was seen by everyone as a 'make Metallica some more money' or due to over exposure. Here in England we have been treated to Metallica playing a lot of festivals. I have seen them live about 4 or 5 times in the last ten years. I watched this film free on a plane, I probably wouldn't of watched it otherwise.
They are one of the best bands to see live so i'm not sure why the film was ignored but onto the review.

This is Metallica blowing the budget off a couple of million and boy to they make it into a great live show. Metallica playing in the round, TV screens under their feet, a giant 'Lady Justice', fire, massive floodlights and Metallica playing a great really well. The fans in attendance at this arena got a great show, that energy gets transferred when you watch it at home.
The story can be taken or left it is an extended Music video storyline. It does link in with some of the songs and keeps the energy up, seeing the city on fire.

Watch this if you want an apsolulute stonker of a Metallica show.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Yes "Metallica: Through the Never" has arrived and after much hype from a rabid fanbase and a certainly mixed response - I got my chance to see it and had a mixed reaction. This movie is essentially two parts - the live Metallica concert and the plot that surrounds, or rather is on the side of it involving a young roadie sent out on a mission to get a piece of kit - and getting caught in a vicious riot which he must survive.

Because for the most part the roadie's story is tagged onto the end and beginning of songs with a few exceptions, the two are better to look at as separate entities. The concert is brilliant, excellently well filmed and edited, filled with special effects and epic set pieces from an electric chair and lightning bolts, the fall of Lady Justice and crosses rising during "Master of Puppets" - the band is on top form with energy, chemistry and passion and their usual cool appraisal (even when things begin to go wrong in the third act). The audience, which at times is as loud as the band is energetic, moshing, singing and cheering the whole way through. The set list varies over the entire band's career as early as "Hit the Lights" up to "Cyanide" from Death Magnetic with two songs from the Reload, 10-11 from Kill Em All - Black Album and the aforementioned Death Magnetic. All of it is perfectly well done and flawless in its presentation.

The movie part is the let-down of the film. Whilst Dane Dehaan acts the role perfectly, barely saying a word but very capable with his facial expressions and gestures, he has very little to do but mainly walk, run or look terrified as the world goes mad around him. The movie segments though are ultimately too short and have very little meat on the bone, they mainly book-end songs and whilst they're capably filmed, it doesn't have much to invest in and the pay-off is non-existent. It does have exciting, powerful, empathetic moments but ultimately is somewhat weak in how little screen time it gets.

Despite that though I would say watching this was a worthwhile experience at the cinema just for the band and an awesome live show with the movie being just action extras on the side and has some freakish imagery to accompany. If you want to see a Metallica DVD / Blu-Ray which won't cost you an arm or a leg to see Lady Justice fall, this is the one to go for.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Concert footage and sound is good. However, the 3d is woeful and the film (alleged story) sections are lame and add nothing to it.
Not sure what they were trying to achieve but it did not work for me.
Would prefer them to concentrate their efforts on new music. The actual concert footage is pretty good and is one of the in the round type shows where the band is in the middle and the crowd around them. All the hits ate there and the sound quality is great. But what on earth is the rubbish around the songs?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Was a little unsure about getting this after a few bad press reviews.
Firstly the picture and sound is the best I have ever come across on a concert blu ray. The DTS HD master audio is awesome, my only complaint is the drums seem to dominate the mix a little.
The performance by the band is first class as you would expect from Metallica.
They play songs from each of their studio albums except St Anger (this is not a bad thing).
It's good to see Justice and ride the lightning played.

BUT the film parts are not needed and they don't work. I am not really sure what they trying to do.
Probably seemed a good idea on paper.

I have a lot of their VHS / DVD and blu ray concerts and leaving out the film parts this is the best.
Personally I would have preferred more songs making it the definitive Metallica live performance.

One last thing where was seek and destroy with the giant toilet?

If they thought it would not have fitted in the film could it not have been an extra on the disc?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Loved this when I went to see at IMAX. A must for Metallica fans. Its a concert with a back story... good fun and the concert footage is just amazing. Note buying from this seller my BluRay came in German packaging/sleeve - sure not a problem to play as the region was correct, but I wanted my packaging in English so returned. Just beware.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
Their own label, their own computer game, and now the metal legends can add a 3D movie to their arsenal too. As well as a gazillion album sales over the last 3 decades of course.
'Through The Never' is hugely enjoyable viewing, with an entertaining plot throughout involving a roadie sent on an important mission for the band. As for the concert footage, the sound and picture quality are phenomenal, and the performance itself is as razor-sharp as you would expect from the mighty Metallica.
The film works just as well in your front room as it did on the big screen, so buy it and invite the neighbours round to get a pit going. Awesome.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
This is a concert film and the centrepiece therefore is the actual gig, the story feels a lot like an add on or break more than it does an essential or integral part but nonetheless is pretty enjoyable.
Seeing as the set is essentially a Metallica 'Greatest Hits' (although with quite a few obvious absenntees - 'Whiplash,' 'Fade To Black,' 'Welcome Home/Sanitarium,' 'Blackened,' 'Sad But True' in particiular) there is little room for a cohesive storyline which feeds off of the songs as Pink Floyd's 'The Wall' does, but it works quite well.
The sets are spectacular; 'Ride The Lightning's' Tesla Coils, '...And Justice's,' statue and the 'Master Of Puppets' sets are my favourites. Some are lot more stripped down e.g 'Creeping Death,' but the strength of the song and its performance makes it enjoyable nonetheless.
The extras, whilst plentiful are for the most part filler really. The Q and A session a the Orion Festival in particiular drags on and although I am a big fan of the band, found it very dull as it was only questions that had more or less been answered by either watching the film or the more enjoyable 'Making Of' segment. It could be interesting to some, but honestly, save yourself some time and buy the normal version without the dull extras.
55 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2016
I've been a huge fan of Metallica for many years. Metallica playing live are as brilliant as ever, but what's with the film? What a mistake, not needed. Stick to a live Metallica DVD to appreciate their true quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
superb film and one of my favourite young actors of this generation
in this film

most well sort after actors
the one and only, Dane Dehaan.

he played the younger green goblin
just as good as "williem defoe's"
older goblin, which i'm very glad say?

i've met willem defoe in person
superb guy
now? Dane Dehaan was born Feb 6th 1986

your simply amazing, very unique indeed
your were fantastic in
"through the never"

i so want to see
such more future projects from this guy for many years to come :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
Had the privilege of seeing this on the iMax, for the warm up the cinema had a Metallica comp cd playing for background music (normally they play movie soundtracks) This was a great start to the afternoon and the movie was exactly what I came to expect, full of Metal and I could not sit still to be honest as I could not help but rock out to every song. Even the end credits were class. They play the songs fitting to the movie sequence it was great and with the iMax being 7.1 the sound was phenomenal and on a good home cinema setup this will sound GREAT!. Having all other Metallica live vhs/dvd/Blu-ray I can honestly say this is a great addition.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)