Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
139
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£127.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 August 2014
After going from the small iPod nano this was the perfect and well needed upgrade. Battery life is very impressive for an apple product (I achieve around 18hours of listening without excessive use of the screen). The bluetooth feature works well with headphones/car audio systems. The introduction of the 'Lightening charger' is very welcoming as a full charge is incredibly quick.

Quick tip: For best battery life turn bluetooth off (if not used) and lower the brightness in the settings.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 June 2014
I bought one of these for a friend who wanted a good quality mp3 player, and is a bit of an Apple fan (ie they like their stuff)
First thing that hits you is just how tiny this little beast is, it's a mere 5mm thick too which makes it very portable and easy to carry around.

It's a very solid player overall, though it's not cheap...
A quick summary of the good and bad points

Good:
+ Very compact, nicely made case feels quality in the hand
+ Headphones much improved over previous Apple buds (new "Earpods" are quite good) though not as good as some stand alone sets
+ Screen is a fairly respectable 2.5" 432x240 pixel display quite sharp and clear, very good touch screen response quite accurate
+ Pedometer is built in if you fancy keeping track of your fitness/walking
+ Bluetooth 4.0, range is excellent and I had no problems with streaming music

Not so hot:
- Radio function is a bit crude, lacking presets and no auto search (also required the headphones to be plugged in) It does have a live pause function though (which is unusual and useful)
- Wifi would be handy (maybe the next version)
- Have to use iTunes to sync, drag and drop can be handy for video

Other notes:
Lightning connector is a change from the older iPods so you have to buy an adapter (which isn't cheap) to fit most iPod docks. However you do have bluetooth which can make that a non issue.
Battery life is good for music playback (Apple say about 30 hours it's not far off that) expect a fair bit less with video playback though (enough to watch a movie or 2 at best, say 3 hours or so)

You can watch movies and look at photos (display is quite reasonable for movie watching but it's not super high res either)
Sound quality is good, though not high end audio by any means. Some people will find the new Earpods not their taste, I get on ok with them but some friends are not keen at all. Comfort wise it's down to taste.

It's quite a simple player in many ways no fancy features really, but it does the job well overall. Price wise, there are certainly cheaper options out there, but many feel Apple deliver in terms of quality and style.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
This is the first iPod I have owned that has similar battery life to its competitors (specifically Sony) - thank you Apple you got there in the end. Sound quality is good, build quality is excellent and user interface simple. The price from Amazon warehouse deals was less than some second hand items from other sources. All in all - very happy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Nano fitted the requirements of something light that can store audio books and music for holidays...no heavy paper backs to be carried. Just so flexible.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
I bought this primarily to listen to Audible audiobooks when walking to work or going to the gym, as they were incompatible with my Sony mp3 player. However, I decided I would put my music onto the device as well, as I listen to different stuff depending on what mood I'm in.

I am well impressed with the sound quality that comes out of the provided ear pods. The stereo is crystal clear and the bass is great; you can totally immerse yourself in the music, and indeed in the audiobooks' narrative as well.

The size of the device means that it slips into the back pocket of your jeans easily, as well as into those little high pockets that have started appearing on coats, no doubt designed for that purpose. I will need to buy an armband to use when at the gym, as there is no lanyard or clip to attach it to your clothing, but apart from that I love this little gadget and will probably rarely leave home without it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
This is a brilliant replacement as a walkman replacement, it does music, videos and radio exactly what a parent/grandparent wants with a music device. It is simple to use and my mother in law loves it. It also allows you to pause radio and rewind. The battery life is great and has enough storage to put many albums and movies onto when using the correct compression techniques.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2016
Bought this initially to plug into the car audio because CDs burned from iTunes seemed to have a bit of a compatibility problem (bursts of white noise superimposed on music, but commercial CDs OK). Driving on your own you need to set it up to play while the car is stationary because it can't be done by feel, unlike just shoving in a CD. But once done it produces good quality sound. Of course it's handy about the house too, with the radio as a bonus.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2016
Old ipod was the big old clunky like a iphone3 so time for a change. This is a thing of beauty. It feels so nice in your hand it just says quality. really easy to use, screen is crystal clear flawless with itunes obviously. Not cheap but if you want the real McCoy this is it. Connect to bluetooth headphones, you wont even know its in your pocket. Sound quality as you would expect is first class. What will they do for the next generation iPod I cant imagine how you could better this other than make it 64gb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
Brilliant present for the wife. Lots of months usage until we washed it on a full 3hr cycle. I wouldn't recommend it. To be fair, the instructions never said it would work in water, let alone be washed in detergents and spun dry for 15mins..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
great product . my first ipod easy to use and set up which is good for me as i'm a technophobe . arrived a lot sooner than expected from Canada ,and a few quid cheaper than buying here
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 55 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)