Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
52
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 June 2014
This is one of the best value printers on ther market right now. As expected you don't get any fancy features in this model, but it does have quite decent print output, and is small enough to fit anywhere with ease.

Quick summary of good and bad points

Pros:
+ Nice price, and smaller footprint makes for a handy sized printer
+ Print output is quite good for a budget model, text is pretty sharp and graphics and photos are good quality too
+ It can scan up to 600 x 1200 dpi scan speeds are acceptable not the fastest fine for text and not bad for photos (you really need a higher priced scanner for lots of photo scans) This does an ok job
+ It does have a quiet mode and whilst it slows it down printing speed wise, if you're a late night print person it is much quieter than normal printing (ie it works as described)

Cons:
- Basic stuff here no wireless printing just USB cable (not a big deal for most)
- No top LCD just the controls for the printer
- Copier speeds are not that quick (about 25-30 seconds I've used faster)

Some notes:
It's compatible with Windows 8: Windows 7: Windows Vista: Windows XP SP3 (32bit only): Mac OS X 10.6.8 or later, so that should cover all requirements
Installation is very simple and easy with the disc provided

Paper tray holds about 50-60 sheets of normal A4 paper

Printing costs, note the XL cartridges have much higher capacity than the normal ones, so balancing the cost factor out per page try to go with the XL ones if possible. Canon's yield rate is about 180 pages for a normal cartridge and 400 for the XL (Black)

Photo printing, I'd avoid over using budget printers for this as they consume quite a bit of ink for photos. The odd print is fine but if you need A4 prints you might find it more cost effective to use a local lab (depending on quantity)
Printers like this are better suited to light home use, it's a good printer for the asking price and the small size is a bonus. Ideal as a second printer or for a childs pc. Bit of a bargain but watch your ink use as with all budget models.
22 comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
I bought this all in one printer recently and it does everything I want it to do, Prints, Copies, Scans - It looks good - Modern and white makes a welcome change. A lot less expensive than a lot of the all in one's that are available and definatley serves it's purpose.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
I like it very much. Very easy to use. the best thing about it that it require only two Cartridges to change in place 4 with the HP printer.
It is just like my first printer which lasted me for 5 years and my last one lasted only 18 months as it had too many Cartridge and they got struck and the company told me that they don't repair them thus I had to buy Canon Printer.

I have recommended to friend who is looking for a new printer and showed him hoe easy to use it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 June 2014
This is one of the best value printers on ther market right now. As expected you don't get any fancy features in this model, but it does have quite decent print output, and is small enough to fit anywhere with ease.

Quick summary of good and bad points

Pros:
+ Nice price, and smaller footprint makes for a handy sized printer
+ Print output is quite good for a budget model, text is pretty sharp and graphics and photos are good quality too
+ It can scan up to 600 x 1200 dpi scan speeds are acceptable not the fastest fine for text and not bad for photos (you really need a higher priced scanner for lots of photo scans) This does an ok job
+ It does have a quiet mode and whilst it slows it down printing speed wise, if you're a late night print person it is much quieter than normal printing (ie it works as described)

Cons:
- Basic stuff here no wireless printing just USB cable (not a big deal for most)
- No top LCD just the controls for the printer
- Copier speeds are not that quick (about 25-30 seconds I've used faster)

Some notes:
It's compatible with Windows 8: Windows 7: Windows Vista: Windows XP SP3 (32bit only): Mac OS X 10.6.8 or later, so that should cover all requirements
Installation is very simple and easy with the disc provided

Paper tray holds about 50-60 sheets of normal A4 paper

Printing costs, note the XL cartridges have much higher capacity than the normal ones, so balancing the cost factor out per page try to go with the XL ones if possible. Canon's yield rate is about 180 pages for a normal cartridge and 400 for the XL (Black)

Photo printing, I'd avoid over using budget printers for this as they consume quite a bit of ink for photos. The odd print is fine but if you need A4 prints you might find it more cost effective to use a local lab (depending on quantity)
Printers like this are better suited to light home use, it's a good printer for the asking price and the small size is a bonus. Ideal as a second printer or for a childs pc. Bit of a bargain but watch your ink use as with all budget models.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
The thin shell is the only negative about this Canon 2550 colour multifunctional printer otherwise the rest adequately satisfies home use. The software is easy to manage and functions well in each mode driving the machine's motor that's a bit noisy providing a splendid presentation for children and adults alike. The cartridges are affordable also.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Very good for a budget printer. Had to replace my old printer and wanted one without breaking the bank. Was going to get HP. but sadly where i went it was out of stock. and i am happy with my purchase.

Very easy to setup. 5 minutes of clicking next.

Print quality is very good. have not done any scanning. But so far i am impressed. good thing is cartridges don't seem too expensive. which is good.

Now if i have to find fault. its noisy, and not that quick. in a normal print, quite long. But again for £30 i am not going to get laser speed, and quiet.

I would give 5 stars, but again its not perfect. so hence 4. But for a budget printer to get good results. worth it hands down.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
I bought this printer to replace an HP wireless one which I was never happy with. The wireless HP was very "iffy" would not always connect to my Wi-Fi. Eventually connected it by cable until one morning it completely failed! I am delighted with this Canon printer which I use almost daily. Printing is perfect for me, I scan a lot of documents to send by e-mail and any photographs that I want to print, I am very happy with what comes out into the out tray! It was very reasonably priced so I decided that if it does fail, it is not expensive to replace. Very very happy with this printer, I would certainly recommend it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
This now serves as a second printer in our house. My other one is the older MP640 All Singing and Dancing machine which has impressed me from the day I bought it some two years ago. This MG2550 is a remarkable All In One printer. It may not actually have all the 'buttons. my older one sports but, for the price, it's marvellous. Software was easily installed on a laptop and a notebook and worked immediately without any problems.
There is no doubt that Canon have mastered the consumer friendly thing by making sure that their machines do actually work. This is a bit of a relief because, like a good many companies of this size, getting their service people to respond is a pain in the whatsit!. (I have one of their cameras which had a glitch and which demonstrated the total uselessness of this company's service department.)
Don't let that put you off this printer. It's worth the money.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
"In this printer, the bottom margin is 16.7 mm and nothing can be printed in that area."
https://canon-europe.com/Support/Consumer_Products/products/Fax__Multifunctionals/InkJet/PIXMA_MG_series/PIXMA_MG2550.aspx?faqtcmuri=tcm:13-1092073&page=1&type=faq
Printing and copying of full page documents are real pain in the ....!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
This printer is light and comparatively easy to set up (not struck on the picture diagrams, they could be clearer). However, as stated by other buyers, it doesn't come with a USB cable to link computer and printer and you do need this to set up the printer. If you don't already have one you need to buy this at the same time as you buy the printer. It does NOT link wirelessly. Having said all that... for the price it is a good little item and worth purchasing if you don't aim to do a lot of printing. No good for an office I suspect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 34 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)