Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
57
Tracks
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 December 2013
I'm absolutely chuffed to have got this wonderful selection of songs (and lyrics booklet) for the princely sum of £12. But the main point of posting is to reply to some adverse comments on the packaging. My experience is that if you patiently and gently work it out (and it may take a few minutes to suss it) the individual cds will come out of their case quite easily, with no chance of them being damaged.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
At the current price of £11.99 for 4Cds,this set is an absolute bargain.
The songs aren't in general what I would call top tier Springsteen, but at the same time there is no filler either.
This box presents music, in chronological order, from the first cut he solo demoed for Sony through to his output in 1990s, and as such gives a thorough taste of the styles he (most often with The E Street Band of course) covered over that period.
Something of a bargain.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2015
Just had my passion for Bruce reignited after buying the live FM radio broadcasts boxset.I mmediately purchased this after that,Heavens,the man is such a poet of lost opportunity in the land of opportunity.I'd almost forgotten how moving he can be,how he paints such exquisite canvasses.Dylan is great,Bruce more down to earth,a working class troubadour.I like it ALL! Of course there are favourites,but money well spent!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2017
Brilliant box set that contains some absolute gems. It's worth buying the cd version as the packaging is great and comes with a nifty booklet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2013
when i first went to buy this it was going to cost £100 so i only downloaded it at a fraction of the cost now i am glad to say after the re-launch that i now own this excellent boxset
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2000
This box has a lot of good tracks on it. I am personally not that bothered about the early stuff that Springsteen did. I start liking the tracks from 'Darkness' and on. As we know Springsteen doesn't bombard us with CDs and this box is very welcome to us Springsteen fans that can't get enough. Some of the tracks on this box you have already heard before but in a different way. My favourites are "A good man is hard to find", "Stolen car" and "Rockaway". If you are in to Springsteen (especially Born in the USA era) , you will not be disappointed when you buy this box.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2017
Great Tracks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2003
If you've never heard of Bruce, or if you have but you associate his name with cheesy eighties pop, stop here. Buy Born In The USA, play it five times at full volume, and if nothing stirs within you, give up.
If you're still here, you're either a fellow Springsteenista or you liked the single Lonesome Day off his latest album. In either case, rush - do not stroll, do not even jog - to your local music retailer and fork over the full price for this masterly four-CD collection of outtakes, bootlegs and B-sides from the Boss's thirty-year career. Do it now.
The CDs dovetail neatly with four of Springsteen's five phases as an artist (the fifth began in 1999 after the release of this collection). Each CD in the box has a sleeve with a sepia photo which perfectly captures the mood of the era: there's the merry-go-round Dylan-inspired 1972-1975 Jersey period, the cars and girls River sessions, the industrial rock-out of Nebraska/BornITUSA, and the earringed ageing gypsy mellowness of 1990 onwards. Each CD contains gems, absolute crackers which missed the albums by a criminal whisker. To my great surprise, I listen to the first and earliest one the most: although the four acoustic demos of tracks which made it on to Bruce's first album are great starters, they don't come near the brilliance of Santa Ana, Linda Let Me Be The One and Thundercrack. 'Linda' is my all-time favourite Springsteen song, a simple piano-and-organ-driven street hymn with the most beautiful chorus in rock music, especially in the last verse. 'Thundercrack' is vintage early Boss, with its sprawling structure, exuberant (and sometimes chaotic) Vini Lopez drum thrash, and as always that gorgeous swirling Federici organ.
CD 2 is perhaps the weakest, though 'Loose Ends' and the concert favourite 'Be True' stand out. The eighties CD 3 has the poppiest tracks - 'Lion's Den' and the wonderful 'Janey Don't You Lose Heart' should have replaced the dreary 'I'm On Fire' and 'My Hometown' on the BITUSA album - and also the hardest-rocking one, Pink Cadillac. 'This Hard Land' beats hell out of the Greatest Hits version, mainly because of Bruce's thrilling harp performance at the end. CD 4 is superb even if you didn't like his nineties albums; it's as pretentious as they were, but 'Happy' might just make you cry, and 'Part Man, Part Monkey', while pilloried by snobs as inferior white-reggae dross, is a snarling blood-churning slice of Nu-Boss, and has the funkiest bassline since the genius Garry Tallent left and the edgiest guitar howl since 'Cover Me' (later, Springsteen and the E-Streeters recapture this on 'Worlds Apart').
Human Touch turned me into an infidel. After listening to Tracks, just once, I turned on the road to Damascus. I'll never, *never*, write off the Boss again.
1010 Comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2014
Music ... 5 stars plus. Bruce's leftovers better than a lot of artists best album.
Packaging absolute disaster and taking out CDs , putting them back, and getting them to stay in .... A right pity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2014
I have been a follower of the music of Bruce Springsteen ever since the mid 1970s when i first heard "Born to Run," and was utterly blown away by it. What this box set Tracks is, is essentially Acoustic versions of earlier songs, before "Born to Run," and the other Tracks are maybe tracks which never made other albums. What this box set Tracks does for me is to reconfirm why in the first place I have adored the music of Bruce Springsteen all this time from the 1970s til now. For me the music of Bruce Springsteen is somewhat overblown and over produced with too many musicians crowding the sound, and destroying the simplicity. Tracks is about a reawakening or a conformation of the enduring brilliance which is Bruce Springsteen. This is a worthwhile addition to your Bruce Springsteen collection if you haven't already have it in your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)