Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 24 January 2016
fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2017
The movies was really boring
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2015
The only reason I watched this to the end is because I was also shopping online at the same time. Don't get me wrong - it's not as bad as some films in the same format, but there's really nothing new in it, and as another critic said, the ending is disappointing. The premise of ghosts/entities being the product of the human mind was interesting, which is why I stuck with it, hoping for something better. There were a couple of goodish points (eg when the girl nails the door shut on the entity only to find herself on the wrong side of the door), but too many echoes of other films. The house seemed very similar to the setting of the Paranormal series and the couple set up cameras in exactly the same way as that film. There were also two "special effects" which have been directly taken from the Japanese classic "The Ring". As a horror fan I found this extremely annoying. I wouldn't recommend this film at all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2017
After a failed experiment attempting to prove that human belief, en masse, can bring forth a supernatural entity, the participants find they have succeeded in contacting something malevolent that is much more powerful than they are, and it wants to come across into our world.

Competently made, there are a number of issues with this film that means it just doesn't fly. Firstly, it's all been done before and this film doesn't add anything new to a 'haunted people' (as opposed to a 'haunted house') story. Secondly, it is a one-trick pony film and even though the run time is a short 79 minutes, the idea doesn't have enough going for it to spin out a story for this amount of time.

The acting is good and there is one scene where the entity begins to manifest in our world which is quite well done and adds a decent scare. But there's not much else going on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2013
This is a good simple ghost story that the teens can watch. The film starts out with a seance in 1973. It then abruptly switches to the present where a "scientific seance experiment" is going to be performed. The crew wires up their heads in order to intensify the energy field for the entity to pass through. Things don't go that well for Patrick (Tom Felton, Draco from "Harry Potter") and his crew as something has happened.

The film jumps again to Ben (Sebastian Stan) who was part of the experiment and Kelly (Ashley Greene, Alice from "Twilight" ) one of the world's worse house sitters. Their house number is "2812" which flashes for a moment. It adds up to 13, although we really don't need a premonition of things to come. Like a good ghost story the odd events in the home build up slow until they reach a boiling point at which time my cat jumps on me.

I enjoyed the build up. I also liked the way they integrated the "found footage" into the film and didn't rely strictly on it. Thank you Todd Lincoln. Ashley Kelly, who was allowed to act in "Twilight" gives us a good performance in this one in spite of Sebastian Stan being unconvincing in his part. As the lead actor in this film, his character was written rather shallow, which was the downfall of the film. I didn't like the repeated narration near the end of the film and the ending needed to be tweaked.

Makes for a decent film for the sleepover, especially if they are sleeping outside in a tent.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Ashley Greene in bra, panties and a shoulder up shower scene. Minor swearing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2014
Not a lot to say about this film. Its boring, its badly acted and has virtually no story line.

Avoid at all costs.

I have had more entertainment opening a packet of crisps than I had watching this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2017
Greathb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2014
A poor film. A couple of nice touches but overall not worth your time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2017
Amazing film so many out there like it but this stands out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2014
I found this movie rather difficult to follow, especially as much was filmed at a very low light which almost blacks out the screen. I was quite good but not as I expected it, certainly not very frightening, more tension making than anything.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)