Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
739
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2014
As a long standing fan of Bill Bryson, and after hearing him plugging his latest work sometime in December on Radio 2, I eagerly downloaded this book ready for my winter holiday. I'm happy to report that this latest offering is right up there with favourites. I was puzzled why anyone would pluck the summer of 1927 out the ether and dedicate a whole book to it, but you learn to trust Bill after reading his books, so I knew the reasons would be valid. Every American headline and newsworthy item covered within the book is done with typical Brysonesque attention to detain and enthusiasm. It grabbed my attention on the first page and never let up until the last. 5 stars for sure
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
As an ardent reader of the books of Bill Bryson, I always look forward to a new one. This book however, turned out to be nothing less than a letdown. The main reason being that it is limited to the interest of Americans (for whom it must have been written).
Some major stories surpass that drawback: Babe Ruth, Charles Lindbergh, and a few more.
But once such a story has begun, Bryson meanders in great detail into side stories about the lesser gods.
He lost me after a while. A novelty when it comes to Bryson.
This is not the book I had been hoping for.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Some interesting stories about the first manned flight, but a good deal about baseball also that made it hard to maintain my interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 March 2016
Bit too much baseball for the UK market, but intriguingly written. Not up to Bill Bryson standard of humour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
This is in my estimation one of Bill Bryson's best books . It has to rank up there with Notes from a Small Island and Walk in the Woods. He has exhaustingly researched his facts and tells them to the reader in a very mellow , relaxed manner so the reader may absorb them without big shocks and starts. Books like this should be on the top selling books for a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
This is one of the most fascinating 'history' books I've ever read. Bill Bryson is a master storyteller who teases out the most incredible nuggets to serve up to his readers; I absolutely loved it and will doubtless re-read it often!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
Bill Bryson again triumphs with his relaxed narrative. He effortlessly tells a number of stories from an extraordinary year in American history, unravelling them, then intertwining them in a way that keeps the reader engaged without over-complicating the journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Taking as its centre piece Lindbergh`s historic transatlantic flight, the book, in masterly fashion, celebrates the other heroes of the age. Engaging and captivating throughout this truly captures the spirit of its focus and more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
If you like a very thorougly researched book with amusing anecdotes and some shocks, historical facts and a plethora of wacky personalities - this book is for you!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)