Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
311
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£30.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2013
2011 Christmas Special
The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe

Series 7 Part One
7x01 Asylum of the Daleks
7x02 Dinosaurs on a Spaceship
7x03 A Town Called Mercy
7x04 The Power of Three
7x05 The Angels Take Manhattan

2012 Christmas Special
The Snowmen

Series 7 Part Two
7x06 The Bells of Saint John
7x07 The Rings of Akhaten
7x08 Cold War
7x09 Hide
7x10 Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS
7x11 The Crimson Horror
7x12 Nightmare in Silver
7x13 The Name of the Doctor

Extras
Audio commentaries for episodes: The Snowmen, Cold War, Hide, and The Crimson Horror
Prequels for: The Doctor, The Widow and The Wardrobe, Asylum of the Daleks, The Snowmen (The Great Detective, Vastra Investigates, Demons Run: Two Days Later), The Bells of Saint John and The Name of the Doctor (She Said, He Said, Clarence and the Whispermen)
Pond Life
As Good as Gold (exclusive to the UK version)
The Making of the Gunslinger
Creating Clara
Rain Gods
Clara and the TARDIS
Inforarium
Clara's White Christmas
Behind the scenes featurettes for every episode (except The Doctor, The Widow and the Wardrobe)
Last Days of the Ponds
The Science of Doctor Who
The Companions
Doctor Who at Comic Con
99 comments| 284 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
The Doctor Who 50th Anniversary season is a corker. The sad farewell of the Ponds, the puzzling mystery of Clara, exciting and interesting scripts, clever twists and some terrifying monsters.

CHRISTMAS SPECIAL 2011 - THE DOCTOR, THE WIDOW AND THE WARDROBE
7/10: a bit cheesy but Hey! It's Christmas

SERIES 7 - PART 1

1. ASYLUM OF THE DALEKS (9/10): great to see all those Daleks although there could have been a little bit more action. For me, the highlight of the story is Jenna-Louise Coleman as the sexy Oswin. I wish Clara could be a bit more like that.
2. DINOSAURS ON A SPACESHIP (8/10): the doctor has a gang! Maybe some adults would find it boring but it's perfect for the kids. And Mark Williams is the perfect choice for Rory's dad.
3. A TOWN CALLED MERCY (7/10): a bit boring when i first watched it but it grew on me. A good story but cowboy western mumbo-jumbo isn't really my cup of tea.
4. THE POWER OF THREE (8/10): the year of the slow invasion. An interesting insight into the Ponds' life. Jemma Redgrave is good as Kate Stewart just as she is in The Day of the Doctor. I wonder if she's actually a Zygon at this point aswell? I give 8/10 for the first half-hour as the ending seemed a bit rushed and we never learn why the Shakri took Brian and some other humans.
5. THE ANGELS TAKE MANHATTAN (9/10): the much awaited return of the Weeping Angels and in New York too! Alex Kingston is amusing as River Song as always although she has been turning up like a bad penny in the past year. The Angels do not dissapoint and the Ponds' farewell is as emotional as promised although as other people have said, Rory doesn't get a proper send-off.

CHRISTMAS SPECIAL 2012 - THE SNOWMEN
8/10: Good old Vastra, Jenny and Strax are back as the comedy Victorian gang along with the return of the Great Intelligence after nearly 45 years away from the show. Jenna-Louise Coleman pops up again, this time as a Victorian barmaid/governess called Clara. Good episode but I feel that the snowmen could have popped up a bit more seeing as the title of the story is The Snowmen.

SERIES 7 - PART 2

6. THE BELLS OF SAINT JOHN (8/10): nice idea, people getting attacked through the Wi-Fi. Fun season opener with a suprise cameo of Richard E Grant as The GI.
7. THE RINGS OF AKHATEN (2/10): utter guff. Boring, pointless, stupid. WAY TOO MUCH singing for my liking. If it wasn't for the magical yet sad story of Clara's parents before the opening sequence, I would have given this story 0.
8. COLD WAR (9/10): although the ice-warriors haven't been in Doctor Who since 1974, they are still just as chilling. I absolutely loved the idea of an ice-warrior coming out of its suit. There were obviously a lot of ice-warriors in the ship that came to rescue Skaldak. Maybe hinting a more epic ice-warrior story next year?
9. HIDE (8/10): oh dear, I thought. Another story by the author of Rings. I was pleasantly surprised by this story however. It's quite clever and has some good acting. I think the bit at the end with the scorpion-alien-things in love was a bit weird though.
10. JOURNEY TO THE CENTRE OF THE TARDIS (8/10): cool story. A great way to see what's actually in the TARDIS.
11. THE CRIMSON HORROR (8/10): watching this episode, I knew that a Vastra, Jenny, Strax spin-off would be great. This is a very funny yet gruesome tail and an enjoyable watch.
12. NIGHTMARE IN SILVER (6.5/10): an okay story but the cybermen are now too powerful. They're meant to have weaknesses. It's all a bit silly in some ways between bringing along the kids, the Doctor playing chess with himself and Clara hiding out in a fairy castle with Griphook the Goblin.
13. THE NAME OF THE DOCTOR (10/10): a perfect prequel to the even more perfect 50th anniversary special. The mystery behind Clara is very clever; she is just a normal girl who followed the GI into the Doc's timestream. I adore the opening scene with Clara following all the Doctors, the Whispermen are terrifying and seeing Trenzalore reminds us that The Doc won't live forever.

Overall a really enjoyable season. Buy if you like action packed, monster filled Doctor Who.
22 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Ive read various criticisms of this series and the Matt Smith/S Moffat era in general. Im afraid that I have to disagree with them. The point is valid that this whole post tennant era has been a rollercoaster of greatness and stupidity but as with life, you remember and take with you the good times. Here is where I choose to differ. The highlights of the Smith and Moffat era are so much better than what has come before that to then whinge about the poorer aspects is churlish. Its like being treated to a 5 star night out and moaning that the taxi was 5 mins late and the show you went to see finished a bit later than planned.

But I digress. The problem is RT Davies brought the show back from a very bad place and just kept building it up and up with Tennant the icing on the cake. But he peaked and there was nowhere left to go. He tried to change it slightly and all we got was self indulgent stories that bordered on ego. The tenth Doctor became a little too arrogant and toward the end a bit whiny. They should have ended the reign before the year of 'Specials' that saw Tennant leave. I was sorry to see him go but I was getting sick of it and that last year seemed tainted.

Matt Smith came in trying to fill some big boots. There was a lot of hit and miss as he and Moffat tried to differentiate themselves from what had come before but to my mind, Smith's inexperience in the role was not evident. He had done his homework and thrown all of himself into it. I have never seen an actor so young being able to portray the age and burden of a timelord who has endured too much. Yet he also bought an energy to the role. This was a character who was old but young, jaded but excitable, kind but dangerous. Smith literally nailed the eccentricity of the Doctor. There have been childish moments but when its mattered, Smith and Moffat have delivered such powerful scenes that all else is forgiven. The Doctors speech to young Amy in the Big Bang, the rings of akhaten, Amy's words at the end of The Angels Take Manhattan - Just a few moments that have brought emotion that most modern Television can only dream of. These are the kinds of motivational concepts that drive people to want to be better and to be more than they are.

Series 7 was more like a series of mini films. The production values were superb and although the Clara episodes seem a bit disjointed it was all enjoyable. The first half was more consistent and I get the feeling the second half had a bigger story arc to tell but there wasnt enough time. Although we are familiar with Clara it feels like we are forced to know her and her impact on the Doctor's life far sooner than we should.

This series is probably one of the best yet but the inconsistencies and the cliffhanger ending are a bit of a let down. That said, I will be really sorry to see Matt Smith go. There is a part of me that considers him the best Doctor (yes I grew up with Tom Baker so thats saying something!). I dont think he was appreciated for what he did. But he will be going out on a high. Just wish I could work out how this ends. Well Done to all involved.
66 comments| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 November 2013
Doctor Who - Complete Series 7 follows the adventures of the legendary time lord "The Doctor" (played by Matt Smith) and his companions. The five disc boxed set contains the following episodes:

Asylum of the Daleks
Dinosaurs on a Spaceship
A Town Called Mercy
The Power of Three
The Angels Take Manhattan
The Bells of Saint John
The Rings of Akhaten
Cold War
Hide
Journey to the Centre of the Tardis
The Crimson Horror
Nightmare in Silver
The Name of the Doctor

Also included are the Christmas specials, and a host of special features such as several features on the mysterious and rather yummy Clara (played by Jenna-Louise Coleman). There are plenty of features on the discs to keep even the hard core fans happy.

Generally the quality of episodes throughout the season are very high and an improvement on the previous series. Highlights for me were the first episode "Asylum of the Daleks" which had a great twist at the end, the heart breaking "The Angels Take Manhattan" and the brilliant "The Name of the Doctor" which paves the way for the up and coming "Day of The Doctor". There were a few episodes that I didn't enjoy for various reasons. Journey to the Centre of the Tardis for example disappointed me (mainly because of the ending), as did "The Power of Three" which I felt had so much more to offer, especially with the introduction of Kate Stewart (daughter of the Brigadier Lethbridge Stewart.)

Nevertheless most content is very enjoyable, entertaining and watchable. The series also introduces a new foe in the way of the sinister Whispermen, while the Daleks (both new style and old) make a reappearance.

Matt Smith plays the Doctor very well with brilliant acting (backed up by good scripts) and makes this season his own. Matt will be missed by Doctor Who fans and myself alike and this series offers the best examples to why.

The series was a bit disjointed during broadcast as there was a break after "The Angels Take Manhattan." While there were various reasons for this, it was a bit disappointing to have to wait so long for Doctor Who to return to TV, as I was really getting into the series come the time of Angels.

If you a fan of Doctor Who you will enjoy watching and or rewatching the episodes in this series. I'm sure you'll be counting down the days to the Day of The Doctor (I know that I am) until that day comes - enjoy this series.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
As a lifelong dedicated Whovian you can either fall into the trap of following the many forums and blogs where negativity is currency or you can watch a programme on it's own merits and enjoy the ride that each show runner provides. This, series 7, ran by the indomitable Stephen Moffat, is a different kettle of fish to his previous two woven tapestries with the fact that half of it is all movie style, stand alone epic bluster that says goodbye to two companions that came on board at the same time as Matt Smith, and the other half are stand alone stories infused with a mystery that is weaved in up untill the last episode while also introducing us to the latest plot driven companion. So, as a whole, it does feel slightly uneven as a dvd boxset but worked well to suit the gapping in it's transmission. That said, each story brings it's merits to the table and there is not really a damp squib between them. Yes even the critically panned Rings of Akhaten had it's good side where both Matt and Jenna act their chops off against a green screen monster/god. While doctor who confidential is missed the special features, while not up to par with previous box sets, does have a fair amount of importance to them, whether it's the mini episodes setting up the main course or little bite sized online making of vignettes it still makes holding out on getting the 2 part vanilla-ish dvds for so long and waiting for this treasure chest of a whole series of timey whimy, dinosaur hunting, angel dodging, tardis exploring, cybermen reinventing fun
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Admittedly series seven of new Who has several mediocre episodes particularly in the second half but for me it is the strongest series since two to four. I know some fans are disappointed with it but while it is not perfect there are a number of decent episodes, some excellent. There is still a story arc - namely about "the impossible girl" - which is a good thing but there are no multi-part stories which often works but also sometimes fails. For example everything up to the final ten minutes of "The Power of Three" is really exciting storytelling about an invasion but the end is so simplistic (a flick of the doctor's sonic screwdriver) that it could have done with a second episode with a better resolution. Two of the least strong episodes "Journey to the Centre of the Tardis" and "Nightmare in Silver" similarly have fast resolutions but at least there is more sophistication that leads up to them.

But anyhow, usually having single episodes is okay and this run is in my opinion superior to series five and six. Steven Moffat's era as Doctor Who boss has been dogged by too much exposition and a lot of his best episodes were with Russell T Davies as boss. It is like he needed Davies in charge to reduce the excessive, dodgy exposition so the stories are more accessible. Whereas series five was bland and six was pretentious, Steven Moffat has honed his style and for the most part it is no longer puzzle of the week. It is big and cinematic while retaining sophistication and not being an overly complex, difficult watch.

"The Doctor, The Widow and the Wardrobe" I might surprise people is my favourite of the two Christmas specials. While it is like the 2010 special based on a famous story, this time it is done right. Whereas 2010's special was tacky with the singing and flying fish, this time it is atmospheric with the snow and trees. The emotion of the mother's predicament as to when to tell the children about the father's death in the war makes it an emotional tale too. The 2012 Christmas special "The Snowmen" is pretty good though not quite as amazing as the 2011 one. Again it has a good Christmas atmosphere and differs from the previous two in that it is not based in any way on another story. The story of Clara saving the Doctor and world from the great intelligence is solid. The only thing, however, that reduces its effect on me is that the 2008 special was likewise based in Victorian London and I enjoyed that a bit more.

"Asylum of the Daleks" is one of the very best episodes. Again it is atmospheric on the snow-covered planet and in the grimy, dark Dalek asylum. It is a strong story and introduces Jenna Coleman in what was a surprise first appearance. Her saving of the doctor and his companions is a decent ending and initiates the story arc of the "impossible girl." It is definitely the best Dalek episode of the Moffat era and finest Dalek episode in a long while.

"The Angels Take Manhattan" is the strongest episode of the entire series and even fans who do not like series seven must admit it is a great. It is very emotional as Amy and Rory die in the present time and is as good a departure of the doctor's companion(s) as series two's "Army of Ghosts/Doomsday." What also makes it such a strong episode is unlike series five where the Weeping Angels are boring, this time they can again like series three's "Blink" send people back in time to use their lifespan for energy. It makes for a much more interesting tale and the setting of New York with all the Angels is really grand. Alex Kingston as Amy and Rory's part Time Lord daughter also contributes a strong performance.

"The Bells of Saint John" is another great and feels like a short movie. "The Crimson Horror" is Mark Gatiss' best episode since series one's "The Unquiet Dead." Similarly, it is set in Victorian London and the factory is a strong setting and feels like a proper adventure with its various rooms that the characters travel through. The mystery of the factory workers deaths provides intrigue. Diana Rigg plays one of the best antagonists in the series as she is so sinister. Meanwhile Jenny, Strax and Madame Vastra are interwoven well into the resolution of the story and it is admirable the way Clara smashes the first mechanism instead of the doctor resorting to his sonic screwdriver.

"The Name of the Doctor" is the best series finale since series three providing an effective resolution to the mystery of "the impossible girl" and five years of River Song stories. It is genius for River Song's death to have been back in series four and now the viewer is seeing her for the last time as an echo from the library's computer. The continuity over a long time enhances the emotion of River Song's last meeting with the doctor. The atmosphere is again excellent and the viewer really feels the sadness of Trenzalore. The reveal at the end that there was another life of the doctor - one who broke the promise of his name - at the end of the episode is really exciting and sets up the story for the fiftieth anniversary special. The episode flows well but the only thing is perhaps there is slightly too much exposition in the final ten minutes of the episode which reduces my appreciation a bit. But it is the strongest finale in a long time though and all the different reveals are gripping.

Other good episodes in series seven include "A Town Called Mercy" with its moral dilemma in an American Western town. In fact Amy and Rory's final appearances in the first half of the series are their strongest ever. "Hide" is also a solid episode providing ghost searching with a fantasy/sci-fi explanation.

The problem that series seven has however is that there are a few episodes that drag it down a bit as they are so average or even poor. "Dinosaurs on a Spaceship" is run of the mill and dinosaurs in space did not work so effectively in Red Dwarf too. "Cold War" on the other hand lacks a bit of complexity in the plot to make it a good story. "Journey to the Centre of the Tardis" is bland with its too frequent running through the same corridor. Meanwhile "Nightmare in Silver" though not as bad as reviews made out is crying out for a more action-based plot. "The Rings of Akhaten" is simply the worst new Who episode ever - the minutes of singing which are part of the main story are cringe worthy.

Series seven of Doctor Who is for me the best under Steven Moffat's direction as show runner - there are nine and a half out of fifteen good to excellent episodes here. Anyway, for me the post-Christopher Ecclestone series have all failed to be consistently great all the way through though series five and six are particularly average overall. The problem is unlike something like Red Dwarf which typically has six episodes in each run it must be quite difficult to make thirteen episodes all vital with only a years' space between each series. There have always been some weak episodes since series one and though series seven is not perfect it has enough fine episodes to make it worth buying. You wonder whether some people have been especially unfavourable towards it as perhaps they are bored with Doctor Who. Perhaps Doctor Who could do with a reinvention soon - though not completely different - to refresh it but for now series seven despite some dross has enough good in it to make it a reasonably successful run.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
Absolutely bloody brilliant! This has the greatest finale, ever as well… so great that I was inspired to start from season one again and go through the whole lot… I'm currently on the third disc of season 4… will soon get back to 7 again! Sad? Maybe, but it's a great kind of sad. ;)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
Serials contain:-

68: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe (2011 Christmas Special)
69: Asylum of the Daleks (1 episode)
70: Dinosaurs on a Spaceship (1 episode)
71: A Town Called Mercy (1 episode)
72: The Power of Three (1 episode)
73: The Angel Take Manhattan (1 episode)
74: The Snowmen (2012 Christmas Special)
75: The Bells of Saint John (1 episode)
76: The Rings of Akhaten (1 episode)
77: Cold War (1 episode)
78: Hide (1 episode)
79: Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS (1 episode)
80: The Crimson Horror (1 episode)
81: Nightmare in Silver (1 episode)
82: The Name of the Doctor (1 episode)

Plus extras
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
I really enjoyed this series from the excellent first episode through to the sad departure of Rory and Amy, then one of the best Christmas episodes ever, 'The Snowmen' and the introduction of Clara as the new 'companion' in the brilliant 'Bells of Saint John' episode. If you like Matt Smith's Doctor, you will almost certainly enjoy this series which is well acted and well paced with excellent chemistry between the Doctor and Clara. The continued themes from Series 6 and those that run through Series 7 lead to a stunning and dramatic last episode to this series that also sets up the 50th anniversary episodes quite brilliantly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2016
Throughout Matt Smith's career as the Doctor I couldn't help but think to myself "He's heads and tails above all the others" And even now, after a full Doctor regeneration after I still think the same. The story line in this series is just incredible with great characters, drama and humour throughout and not to mention the gorgeous Jenna Coleman. The only downside is there isn't more Matt Smith after this one,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse