Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2015
CAUTION: This review is for the CSL switcher with a remote control. You may also be seeing it if you are viewing the page for the CSL switcher *without* a remote control. Be sure you buy the right device! Several people, including me, saw mention of remotes in reviews and assumed there was one with the switcher we were viewing. I ended up having to return the one I bought in error and wait another 24hrs (oh no!) after I ordered the correct one. That said....

So what if the instructions are in German? You don't even need to be moderately competent to set this up - just plug in your devices and go. There's no power pack because you don't need one; the DC socket is there for the rare instance when someone might have very elderly or very cheap equipment that doesn't comply with European HDMI standards and so may not power this switcher through the HDMI cable. Quite honestly, if this happens to you then you'd be better off upgrading your equipment, not buying a power unit!

This device feels solidly built. It switches between input sources automagically - when you put a source into standby it switches to any other source that's providing power to the switcher. The only time you need the remote control is if you want to leave more than one input source powered on; it's not quite clever enough to know which one you actually want to use :-)

You *do* need a fourth HDMI cable, to attach the switcher to your TV. I don't really understand why it's not provided as it is for the model without a remote control. I have loads of them (I think they breed in the back of the cupboard) but not everyone has a spare lying around.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
After having had a port wrecked on our previous TV by game-box plugs being repeatedly poked in and yanked out, I decided we would not risk it with our new Viera. Was sceptical about buying something like this but yes it works exactly as advertised, linking both the X-box 360 and PS4 to a single HDMI port on back of the TV. Full HD and sound with no quality loss whatsoever. It switches itself on according to which unit is being used and powers down automatically when that unit is switched off, there's no need for any manual interaction with it at all.
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I purchased this so that I could connect a Google Chromecast and a NOW TV box to my television that only has one HDMI input. It works perfectly but the Google Chromcast always takes precedence when I switch to HDMI (I suspect that it's something to do with Google, not this). However, you do have the option to manually switch between inputs using the button located on the top and it works just fine. I have the three port switch flexible model and if you're using it with the Chromecast, you can just about use all three inputs at the same time but it's a tight squeeze due to the Chromecast's shape and size. There are cheaper alternative versions of these types of devices available but this one is well made and built to last.
33 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
Excellent product. Solves a problem with a TV having only one HDMI port. Registers which device is turned on and connects automatically so just locate it behind the TV and forget about it. One reviewer mentioned having to buy a power pack???. Strange, it doesn't need one.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
My parents faced the conundrum of 3 HDMI devices and 2 HDMI ports on their Panasonic Viera tv. This device has had good reviews and the price was very reasonable. Arrived well packaged and on time. To be fair, it's a decent bit of put together kit - all shiny plastic with a small push button selector and about 75 cm of cable with a gold plated HDMI connector. Left the Panasonic Sound Bar plugged into HDMI 1 (ARC) and plugged the switch into HDMI 2. Added a BT Vision box and Panasonic Blu Ray. Now as other reviewers have said, if you have all devices turned off, then switch one on, then completely switch it off and then turn another device on - it will switch automatically. If you leave one on in standby - it will not. So you have to give the button on the switch a push to select it. This does mean getting up and switching it over manually - but then again - you would have to get up and take a blu-ray/DVD disc in/out of the player anyway - so it's no real hardship - other than having the switch dangling in free space between the bottom of the tv screen and the tv stand. In fairness the pidgeon English instructions do point out how the auto switching works. I've given it 4 stars as the HDMI cable could have been longer and that there are 3 red LED lights which indicate which HDMI port is switched on - that's okay - apart from at night they light up the back of the recess the TV sits in - I'm all for ambient lighting - but these LEDs take it to a whole new level! In summary - if you need additional HDMI ports - you can't go too far wrong with this switch- as long as you can live with some it's idiosyncracies. There is no breakdown in picture or sound quality either - so all in all - worth a punt.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
Arrived sooner than I expected considering I ordered just before Christmas.
As other reviews have mentioned the instructions are in German but YOU DON'T NEED THEM. Just use your brain and plug in. (If you are that bothered about reading them use Google Translate)
Is powered by the HDMI cables so no need to buy a power lead.
Works perfectly. I now have a SKY+ box, Xbox and BluRay player all plugged in to one HDMI socket in the back of my TV.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
gave it 5 stars becuse it works very well . only had 1 hdmi port on the back of tv and needed to add xbox1 and a 3d dvd player as well as running my sky box . the 3 way hdmi works brilliantly. auto switching to xbox and dvd player depending on which one is turned on. excellent delievery and came well packed. highly recommend to anyone needing extra hdmi sockets. hope this helps....
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
If you only have a single HDMI port on your TV and need to connect up to 3 items then this is brilliant. It auto senses whichever item you turn on - e.g. watch Sat then power on DVD it switches over immediately, power off DVD and SAT comes back. I also use this with Apple TV and it works just the same. If you don't want to switch off a box then it comes with a little remote with 3 buttons to toggle inputs, there is also a button on the unit to let you do the same manually. It's small, and has a led on it to tell you it's on, it powers from the HDMI so no need for additional power supply. I can't tell any difference in video/sound quality between direct feed or through this unit. I had one previously but it was manual switching only so the auto select on this is great. For the price of it I think it's really fantastic and definitely worth the money, it's made me happy and stopped me thinking of changing the TV just for more inputs. Even if there is yet another remote to deal with, it's made things simpler!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Super little device! My 2nd attempt with another device almost identical but £2 more expensive. All I got was fuzz and interference. Not with this! Automatically changes input but if a device is not recognised you have the cute wee remote control! Very pleased indeed. Zero loss of quality. Go for it, it's an excellent wee switch!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2016
This item has been temperamental and continues to frustrate and annoy. When it switches to the Sky box the screen turns green and it's a matter of chance wether the sound works or not. The only solution is to switch the Sky box off and wait a few seconds then try again. The splitter also switches from one device to another without warning. We could be in the middle of playing a game on the Wiiu and the next second we are looking at the Roku screen saver. This is not remote controlled so I have no idea why this happens. It's got to the point where I can only have one out of three devices plugged in at a time so the splitter was a complete waste of money and time. I am currently looking for one that works. I am concerned that there are bogus reviews singing its praises. It is truly terrible, don't waste your money.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 75 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)