Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 10 September 2017
This short book is an intriguing survey of deep space exploration, and the sometimes futile quest for "new, exotic physics" to definitely rationalise and explain universal phenomena. A worthy read for anyone interested in astronomy and astrophysics, irrespective of occupational background and educational attainment. Recommended reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2013
This book focusses on the motivations and trials of a small group of scientists focussing on a problem in spite of institutional challenges and shines a light on the choices agencies such as NASA have to make in these situations, which is unusual. The downsides for me were on the one side not quite feeling the passion of the scientists coming through, while on the other not getting into the technical detail of the problems more. Swinging one way or the other would have made the book more gripping for me but the shorter form writing does mean the book does not feel slow in its pacing. I would encourage those who want to feel some of the excitement of the early deep space probes to look into it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2017
A fairly detailed account of a decades long investigation.

I found myself speed reading some parts, not because I was uninterested, just to get to the punch line faster.

Much of the high level info is also available at space.com and Wikipedia.

This book goes more into the detail and covers the human side of things. I found it touching and respectful to those who spent much of their lives analysing the data.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2013
This exposition of scientific discovery, consternation, mathematical diligence and ability and then, finally, affirmation is as thrilling and gripping as many a novel. Even those readers without a Physics or Mathematics background will be able to follow the narrative to a satisfactory conclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2013
Wonderful story of dedication and patience to solve a mystery. It is that quality which brings hope for the human race. Such a tiny error, but enough to have people spend much of their lives working to solve the question of why?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2013
Only a relatively short book, but a fascinating history of the investigation of an observed scientific anomaly and how it dominated the lives of some of those involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2013
I was intrigued by the title but disappointed with the outcome. I found it overlong, not a particularly interesting read and scientifically unconvincing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2013
My background is in radar and communication therefore this was understandable
to a point but rather inconclusive however it was worth the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2014
Very interesting book but disappointed that the theory of an anomalous acceleration of the probes was, essentially, not proven.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2013
It was interesting, don't think I would recommend it to friends. Was good for reading on the train which it was bought for
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse