Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2013
Hardware
I like the all black design. Very sturdy with the exception of the keyboard that flexes extremely in the middle (around the G button). The design is very streamlined. and it is made of plastic that reminds of Thinkpads but gentler.
The screen is overall good but not in sunlight and the viewing angles are somewhat limited.
The keyboard has good sized keys. The key press distance is relatively short but adequate. The touchpad is responsive with 2 buttons and supports gestures, perhaps a bit on the small side nowadays..
The touch screen also works well. However it is a fingerprint magnet. You will always need to have a polishing cloth with you. There is a single headset jack for mic and headphones. The built in speakers are very good considering the size let alone the price bracket.
There are 1x USB 3.0 and 1x USB 2.0 port on either side, and HDMI, Ethernet and memory card reader.

Software
All the drivers were out of date. Had to manually install everything from the Lenovo website. The support software is buggy. The software wants to re-install all the time.
A start menu replacement is essential. I use the "Classic Start Menu" that is free and very good, makes your desktop like Windows 7.

Issues:
I had to update the drivers for most devices, especially the Bluetooth that did not work at first. Also the OneKey backup application, manually. That was not what I was expecting from Lenovo. The Bluetooth seems to have some lapses, once everyday. Not sure if it is the driver or a security feature.

Perfomance
This seems to be adequate. Windows 8 flows smoothly and the Office 2013 feels fast. This configuration employs the Hybrid Seagate HDD with 8GB SSD / 500 GB HDD that seems to perform as a fast HDD but as an SSD - Lets not kid ourselves, you would need to pay as much as this laptop for a 500GB SSD.

Overall
A decent system, good value for money. Pretty sturdy - with the exception of the flexing of keyboard. The touchscreen makes Windows 8.1 "tiles" almost usable.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Love this laptop. keyboard a little flexible in the centre but I knew that before pruchase and it doesnt affect performance. Big winner is the small solid state drive that really speeds up performance. Not quite big enough to cope with remote desktop working; it is possible but a bit frustrating. But anything direct to the computer, on line etc. and it's great. Small and light; does the job.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
So far this product has perfromed better than I expected. All round this item will do everything you may need in a domestic situation with fast set up and functionality coupled with clear graphics and on screen touch capability. Daughter loves it. Trendy colour too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
Could be a wonderful laptop - light, quiet, fast, compact, if it were not for the fact that I have had TWO of these laptops sent to me by Amazon.co.uk. Problem with first - Hashtag key did not work (at all) and the Backspace button only intermittently. Kudos to Amazon they sent a replacement overnight and I opened it to find (pretty much) the same problem - hashtag button not working + the Backslash button.
Hoping it is just a series of unfortunate events for amazon's batch, as I intend to purchase another one from Argos, or another high street store I can test in person. Not happy, seeing as it is needed for Uni work.

oh and the battery life is more like 5hrs as opposed to the 6hrs advertised by Lenovo.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
I received my laptop in a well packed box and very quickly. I love the feel of the laptop and the added bonus of the touchscreen is pretty impressive, for the price. Easy to use modern laptop.
I am not so sure about the middle of the keypad as it dips slightly as you depress the keys, some attention is probably needed for future models. The screen size and resolution is very crisp and clear and the use of the whole laptop to me is pleasing.
The weight and size of the laptop is also impressive. Overall for a great deal for a super fast little modern laptop with a touch of touchscreen class.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
I bought this for my wife. It is excellent value but little slower than I expected. My own laptop has SSD whereas this has HDD which probably accounts for it being a little slow. Otherwise a great little laptop and a great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
The main keyboard keys are big but flat, with the function keys half-size above them. The keyboard flexes as I type on it, which is a little disconcerting, but not really a problem so far. I find that I tend to touch the trackpad by accident while typing, which does odd things.

The screen is okay, it's a fairly low resolution and there may be a very feint bluish cast, but the viewing angles are good, and it is small so the PPI is higher than it would be on a bigger screen with the same resolution.

On the other hand, I'm uncomfortable with Windows 8, as a whole and in several parts. It's not obvious how you shut the machine down it seems to involve waving the mouse about in the right side of the screen until something pops up, so you click on that and get to a menu, then you get something with an on/off symbol. The usual Windows games (minesweeper, solitaire etc.) aren't present on the machine, there's a link to download them, if you call having to give Microsoft your email address free then it's free, but I'm still thinking about that one.

I've not tried using the touch screen, it probably works.

This sleeve 11.6" 12" 12.1" Black Neoprene Notebook Laptop Sleeve Bag Pouch for Dell Inspiron is big enough, one other with zips but rounded corners wasn't.

From me, it's five stars for the hardware given the price, though now there seems to be a higher spec. version for not a lot more, but one star knocked off for windows 8.
33 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
perfect for transporting and big enough to be able to use for document editing and browsing the internet. touch screen makes it a plus
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
great little pc and does everything you would want from a lap top at a price you can live with
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
Love my laptop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)