Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
818
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 July 2013
The film starts by introducing the two main characters. Sandra Bullock plays FBI Special Agent Ashburn. She is smart, confident, arrogant, cocky, and disliked by all her fellow employees.

Melissa McCarthy plays Mullins. She is a street smart Boston cop with her own way of doing things. She has a potty mouth and even arrested her own brother to the dismay of her zoo family.

Circumstances forces these polar opposites to work on a drug case in Boston with formulaic results.

Melissa McCarthy was simply hilarious, stealing scenes from Bullock on a grand larceny scale. The humor at times is slapstick and other times crude, but always funny. I had to laugh out loud just watching Melissa get out of her car. It was a marvelous performance. The plot of the story proved to be immaterial as I waited for the next gem to flow the mouths of Bullock and McCarthy.

This is a comedy worth owning.

Parental Guide: many F-bombs. No sex or nudity. Bullock in bra. Sex talk.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 January 2014
One by the book F B I agent, Sarah Ashbourne is forced to team up with loud unconventional cop partner Shannon Mullins when they realize that they are both after the same drug dealer and must put their differences aside to work together despite hating each other. It's a familliar buddy buddy cop action comedy with the big twist that the 2 cops are women being the best most original thing about the whole film. Sandra Bullock and Melissa Mccarthy are both good as the mismatched partners and there are some decent action and laughs but plot wise you've seen this sort of thing before.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Marvelous entertainment with laughs galore, about 2 mismatched cops ready to take on the world. One cares and the other, it doesn't really matter. Now why spoil it for you and go to great details than let you down. If you like comedy that is different with a twist here and there than you will love this. I found this fabulous with the cast doing a fantastic job convincing me I was there with them. So I rated this movie an A grade plus for sheer pleasure of relaxing in front of the television and not wanting to leave for any reason, I didn't want to miss a thing to be honest. Entertainment at its best worth putting your feet up with all the family, Don't forget the popcorn. Relax and enjoy a marvelous show.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 November 2013
FBI Special Agent Sarah Ashburn (Bullock) is a by the book agent with a patronizing & arrogant attitude, gunning for promotion. And if she can bring in an illusive drug kingpin, only known as Larkin, she has it in the bag. However, as the trail leads her to a low level dealer in Boston, she crosses paths with the arresting officer, larger than life, foul mouthed, rule bending detective Shannon Mullins (McCarthy) who doesn't work well with others & has her own motives for getting to the bottom of things. Comedy & mayhem ensue.

After the bitter disappointment of Identity Thief , we thought this could go either way with Melissa McCarthy saddled with another Hollywood A lister & hoping for the best. Thankfully though.....The Heat is a much better offering thanks to the great comedy writing by Katie Dippold (Mad-TV) & directing from Bridesmaids Paul Feig, who certainly gets the most out of his lead duo, who click well & are hilarious. Sandra Bullock's (Speed) natural flair for comedy & Melissa McCarthy's (Mike & Molly) larger than life persona & stand up comedy roots. Both bring they're unique, hilariously flawed characters to life perfectly, which makes for very funny situations on they're own, but together, the clash of these poles apart sisters offers up some comedy gold. While it throws in some serious edge too, as both characters have sad past's that you can't help but connect with them on some level, with a few heartwarming moments. In this respect, the writing makes these flawed characters more likable than loathable, making for a much better transition (compared to Identity Thief) for us to understand the characters motivations, and gradually feel sympathy & friendship for them.

In conclusion, Bridesmaids showed us that the girls can do outrageous comedy just as well as the boys, and now with The Heat they have proven they can make an all round very funny buddy cop action comedy, with just the right mixture of action, laughs & serious heartfelt moments. The sequel is in the pipeline, high hopes for that. Contains very strong language throughout & some graphic violence. Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Sarah is has her eye on a promotion, but her co-workers hat working with her. She is sent to Boston to uncover the identity of a drug lord, by tracking down his second in command, and stands a good shot, if she finds him.

When she arrives in Boston, she learns that he has been killing his competition and taking over their operations.

The SIC is in police custody so she goes to ask him what he knows, but is warned that the cop who arrested him, Detective Mullins, is very territorial, and unsociable.

Like all true buddy cop comedies, they don't get along. When Mullins learns why Sarah is in Boston, she decides to find the drug lord herself. But Miss Congeniality decides they should work together.....

If you like McCarthy, you will like this film. Despite Bullock getting top billing, she is just company for McCarthy, who steals any scene she is in. Having seen Bridesmaids and Identity Thief, and being left very underwhelmed, it surprised me just how good she is in this.

If this movie was made in the eighties, it would have become something of a cult classic. It has that feel to it, a little Midnight Run crossed with Tango and Cash, but having two women play the cops? Joel Silver would have balked back then.

If you don't mind profanity, its funny, and there are some lines that has me laugh out loud, and although Bullock is good, she's channelling Stanley Goodspeed from The Rock, with her non profane dialogue, until her little outburst.

Supporting characters are good, and although the plot is a little derivative and predictable, its still a pleasant little film which promises McCarthy will be a standalone box office star soon.

Plus its the best film ever made starring Bullock where she is starting to look like Cher.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2016
I watched this online after mistaking it for something else but I am so glad I did. This has become one of my favourite films.

I love the banter between the characters. Such a hikarious film to watch with friends.

But the scene with the guy choking is too much for me and I have to look away 😳
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 August 2013
I must say I am surprised that though this movie has been out a while, only one review has so far been posted.

If you love great comedy movies, go see this one because this is probably the funniest movie you will see all year. Melissa McCarthy previous movie with Jason Bateman Identity Thief grossed over $134 million. Heat has grossed over $146 million domestically in 6 weeks of release.

Heat features a well pinned down yet ambitious FBI agent, played by Sandra Bullock, who does not get along with her peers, and will probably despite her accomplishments, be overlooked for promotion yet again. She is reassigned to work with the local police, which brings her into contact with the irrepressible Melissa McCarthy character, who does not play apparently by any established rules.

The more sophisticated FBI tactics and the local less sophisticated tactics create numerous humorous situations which are developed to great comic effect. Although the Academy does not usually honour comic performances, Melissa did break this particular pattern in Bridesmaids, and I consider her performance in this movie the best i have seen to date, and even more deserving than her previous nominated effort.

The entire movie crackles with humor even from the bad guys in response to her, and several memorable bits with an Albino character. I admit I am not a close follower of her career and hardly ever watched her tv comedy series, yet after seeing these most recent two movies in particular I realise that a classic comedy talent like this comes along rarely, maybe once in a generation.

If there is a funnier movie this year it has yet to be released.

I think you will love it, and I hope this was helpful.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2016
I adore Sandra Bullock but here she is, with co-star (from 'Bridesmaids') - both strong characters - brought together in a very enjoyable action film. This has a feel-good factor which means I will keep it to watch again and again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2017
rubbish ... what a waste of time and space ... lousy plot, lousy acting, in fact atrociously lousy acting ... swear words, more swear words and even more swear words in no way compensate for that good old art of acting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
This is hilariously funny movie. I actually did forget what the plot was half way through the movie as it was son funny. Sandra Bullock was excellent as always. Melissa McCarthy was hilarious. I think she even stole the show from Sandra, setting herself of as the leading lady of the movie. Yes many of the jokes were on the more crude side but movie definitely comes across as funny rather than dirty.

Sandra plays the ambitious, arrogant, straight arrow FBI agent with a chip on her shoulder. In fact her straight faced play by the rules attitude just seemed to make Melissa's slapstick, scruffy, foul mouthed playing by her own rules badass cop that much funnier.

After closing more cases than anyone else, Bullock thinks she would be a shoe in to be promoted in place of her soon to be promoted boss. She is told the main reason she is not going to get the job is because all her co-worker hate her (nobody hates their boss right?). Anyway the only way she is going to be able to show she should get the job is by showing people she can not only solve the case nobody else could but also that she can co-operate with others. So of course fate pairs her up with McCarthy who is just as alienated in her department because everyone else is scared of her. What follows is an explosive, funny, movie with many twists and twists and turns, albino cops, comedy, pretty boy drug lords, sadist enforcers, comedy, obligatory drunken night of girl bonding, and did I mention comedy. One of the funniest movies I have seen this year.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)