Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
1,440
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 September 2014
I enjoyed The Wolf of Wall Street. I'm not convinced it's up there with the best of Scorsese but for a 3 hour movie it flew past in a whirlwind of excess and was certainly never dull.

It's based on the memoir of Jordan Belfort about his sky highs and depraved lows as a stock broker on Wall Street in the 1990's. It may be a lazy comparison but the film shares much with Goodfellas in terms of story arch and structure - Belforts rise and rise to become The Wolf and the inevitable crash and burn that must follow.

Leonardo DiCaprio of course plays Belfort and puts in another cracking performances, narrating and anchoring the tale in a similar fashion to Ray Liotta/Henry Hill from that previous Scorsese classic. There's great support elsewhere from Jonah Hill and a whole raft of familiar faces including a memorable cameo from Matthew Mcconaughey. It's all ably directed by Martin Scorsese, bringing the stylistic flourishes you'd expect, perhaps the main reason it all flies past so breezily.

Admittedly it's probably not going to be to everyone's taste - while there's not much violence of any description, there's a huge amount of bad language, shed loads of nudity, copious drug use and a distinct lack of a moral compass. Pretty much how I imagined Wall Street in the 80's and 90's to be honest.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 October 2014
Based on the real life memoir of Jordan Belfort, we follow the rise of this young, hungry stockbroker (DiCaprio) who learns the quick way to the top unscrupulously. From living on the poverty line, to living a lavish life of wild parties, drugs, sex, fast cars & his inevitable downfall by the FBI.

The Wolf of Wall Street's almost 3 hour run time is an excessive charting of the eccentric people Belfort comes into contact with or surrounded by in the industry, that indeed he himself soon turns into an equally eccentric, unrecognizable person from that young, hungry stockbroker he started out as. Initially for the first hour it is an interesting journey of rags to riches with a little skirting of the law & bad boy behavior. As the next hour & 45 minutes delves deep into the greed & mass excess lifestyle of drug addiction, sex addiction, relationship implosion & FBI/SEC agencies coming knocking as things spiral out of control. This movie isn't a serious dramatic offering like 1987's Wall Street but instead a satire with a mixture of silly & subtle comedy styles spread through the film. The comedy scenes with DiCaprio & Jonah Hill in particular were the ones that i enjoyed the most. The satirize approach means the drug addiction & sexual content goes way over the top, from snorting cocaine from hookers bottoms, to mass orgies etc... with little time passing without scenes of one or the other & F-bombs every other word. Indeed it is more a film about focusing on the excess & greed , than it is a film with characters you actually care about or follow much in the way of development after the first hour. Martin Scorsese behind the camera is pretty spot on in immersing you into this lifestyle, from the rowdy trading floor to the mansions & excessive parties. Along with some neat touches of Goodfellas-esque narration & one particular funny car journey from the country club with an interesting twist.

Leonardo DiCaprio (Titanic) carries the film impressively as you can't take your eyes off him, featuring in pretty much every scene, his acting quality is consistent & never wavers. He has a great supporting man in Jonah Hill (21/22 Jump Street) whose acting chops are well & truly established, he's given a chance to show off his unique silly comedy style here in different extremes & gives you an idea of the realms of excess the movie goes into with his more outre humor. There is a host of good supporting talent including Matthew McConaughey (Mud) as an eccentric stockbroker, Jean Dujardin (The Artist) as a shady Swiss banker, Kyle Chandler (Super 8) as a dogged FBI agent & Joanna Lumley (The New Avengers) as an English cougar...i mean rose.

In conclusion, The Wolf of Wall Street is a satire on the life of Jordan Belfort which succeeds in charting the macho, unscrupulous methods & excessive lifestyle route to the top as these untouchables come crashing down to Earth. But at almost 3 hours long it was too indulgent, repetitive & morally hollow. Contains strong language, violence, mature themes & sexual scenes (full frontal nudity). Worth a watch.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
An adaptation of Jordan Belfort's memoir chronicling his rise and fall on Wall Street and his hard-partying, addiction-fuelled personal life.

Welcome to Martin Scorsese’s 22nd feature film, another of his examinations of the rites and rituals of a particular sect, be it the wiseguys of ‘70s Little Italy ( Mean Streets ) or the society scions of late 19th-Century New York ( The Age Of Innocence ).

With its rise-and-fall arc, its hedonism and hubris, its gleeful exploration of the dark side of the America Dream, its money, crime and narcs, its sex, drugs and rock’n’roll (though the soundtrack also takes in Madness, Simon & Garfunkel and a fair bit of Euro pop), The Wolf Of Wall Street forms a loose trilogy with GoodFellas and Casino. And if it can’t quite match the energy and quality of those classics, it nonetheless stands as Scorsese’s finest for 15 years.

When we first meet Jordan Belfort, he’s more pup than wolf, his lowest-rung job at L.F. Rothschild requiring him only to “smile and dial”. A first-day lunch with big boss Mark Hanna (Matthew McConaughey, hilarious) sows the seeds of the chaos to come, though: Hanna advises him that the stock market is “all fugazi” while preaching the worthlessness of morals and the necessity of greed, cocaine and, to stay relaxed, jerking off twice daily. Then, on 19 October, 1987, the very day Jordan becomes a licensed broker, the market crashes and Rothschild goes under.

Jordan joins a penny-stocks firm in Long Island, employing a bunch of expert salesmen (mainly weed) from his old Queens neighbourhood and making Donnie Azoff (Jonah Hill, terrific) VP despite his phosphorescent teeth and shoulder-slung pastel sweaters.

The triumphant result is named Stratton Oakmont, and if there’s one thing these guys know how to do, besides sell, it’s party – Jordan blows $26,000 on a lunch, is married to a model, shags prostitutes five, six times a week, and hoovers Quaaludes, Xanax, cocaine and morphine. It’s only a matter of time before the FBI (in the form of Kyle Chandler) come calling…

Perhaps deciding the crazed behaviour is enough, perhaps thinking he took stylistic verve as far as it could go in GoodFellas , Scorsese shoots largely with a static camera. His use of whip pans, crash zooms, freeze frames and tracking shots proves so infrequent that Spielberg, visiting the set, suggested he might want to move the camera. But TWOWS is far from muzzled.

It is, of course, all part of Scorsese’s plan to charm viewers into accepting Belfort’s outrageously selfish, unthinkingly cruel behaviour. It works, too – more so because Terence Winter’s ( Boardwalk Empire , The Sopranos ) screenplay cleaves to our anti-hero, refusing to investigate the fallout of his misdeeds as he steals from rich and poor alike to line his own pockets (and mirror). It’s a decision some will take issue with, just as some, justifiably, accuse Scorsese of being in thrall to his gangsters.

But this is Jordan’s tale, and it’s sold by a magnetic, never-better DiCaprio.

A touch too long, yet never slack, at three hours, TWOWS benefits from independent funding, Scorsese’s brass balls and an A-grade cast’s turbulent improvisations to emerge as an epic, boldly broad screwball comedy about the state of America, then and now.

Despite the US censors trimming back the screwing and swearing, this is an audacious, riotous epic. Scorsese and DiCaprio’s fifth and best pairing, it’s liable to give the Academy a heart attack.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
"The Wolf of Wall Street" is an overly long black comedy about a crooked Wall Street broker who makes his fortune in the 1990's. The lead role is played with gusto by Leonardo DiCaprio who seems to have subscribed to the Jack Nicholson school of acting.

The whole movie is so completely over the top with a large amount of foul language, sexual depravity, drug abuse and general bad behaviour that it is hard to believe that it is supposedly based on a true story. Its this outrageous behaviour that gives the movie its best moments though as you can't help but laugh at the hedonism on display.

Unfortunately though for most people with any sense of morality the characters portrayed in the movie are a group of the most unlikeable, unethical, greedy and dispicable people you can possibly imagine. If you consider that people like these were responsible for the worlds financial difficulties in the new millenium you wonder who it is you are supposed to empathise with. There are many similar movies dealing with the rise and fall of drug dealers, and it seems that anti-heroes are popular with cinema audiences at the moment. I found it difficult though to sit through a three hour long movie where all the main characters were scumbags and there seemed to be little moral judgement of their behaviour.

"The Wolf of Wall Street" has its moments, but it is far from being a classic Scorsese movie. The film never convincingly feels like it is set in the 80's and 90's and while they obviously had fun filming it I noticed a large number of continuity errors between shots which was surprising for such an experienced director. You can't help but compare this movie to the old Michael Douglas film "Wall Street" of which it seems to be an updated, more exagerrated version but one with a lot less charm.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2016
This film started out really well, the story was building and it was becoming exciting, but then it plateaued. It was much of the time difficult to see where the film was going. Just as you thought it was reaching its climax, it would just keep going, and going, and going. The end of the film wasn't something you could forsee, in fact a few times I thought it was near the end (I hadn't previously looked at the film duration) but it kept going.

Yes there is a lot of sex, nudity and drug taking. Not something I approve of in real life, but not something I find offensive to watch, it is just a story. However, the above content didn't really add much to the film and it became rather repetitive.

There was a vague plot of how the FBI were chasing Leonardo in his role, but there wasn't really much suspense.

The film was a bit like the writer has started the film with a clear mind, then decided to finish it whilst nursing a hangover.

If you already know it is a long film, you might get some enjoyment out of it, but I just think it is really lacking. In my opinion Leonardo is good, but the length, lack of direction and momentum of the film really lets it down.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 October 2014
I can't claim to be the biggest fan of either director Martin Scorsese or star Leonardo DiCaprio, but in the case of "The Wolf of Wall Street", both men really do push all the right buttons.
DiCaprio is simply outstanding as "hero" Jordan Belfort in this saga of gross hedonistic excess and sleazy corruption in wheeler dealer New York in the 90s. It's a long film, but Scorsese keeps a firm hand on the tiller, and the pace, and with it the viewer's interest, never flags. Throw in a sassy, intelligent script, and some wonderful ensemble playing from the supporting cast, and you've got a winner.
"The Wolf" is by turns cynical, coarse, bitterly satirical and very funny. It may offend some of those of fainter heart, but it's an enormously entertaining and satisfying piece of work.
22 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
It started promisingly, not brilliant but a fairly standard rags to riches good boy turns bad story. Then it was ridiculous, OK I get the lavish, excessive rather repulsive lifestyle but there was far too much of it and none of it was mildly amusing, in my opinion. Then the film just goes on, and on, and on and on and on......I have to admit that I switched off before he got arrested because I just couldn't take any more. I've given this two stars, one because Leonardo Di Caprio is brilliant, he makes himself completely unlikeable which is a rare skill, and another star to give the benefit of the doubt because the film may have improved, I neither know nor care.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2016
I just couldn't get into this film, it felt so conntrived & like it was trying too hard. Also, being a staunch anticapitalist I found myself quite unsympathetic towards the vile & repugnant characters that populate this movie. That said, there were several laugh out loud moments that enticed me to continue watching, mainly of the scenes involving them getting wasted & the hilarity that ensues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2017
This was a great film and can be seen on TV currently.

For the small cost however and to miss commercials, at this price (used) I find it easier to buy and watch at my own time of choice without adverts.

I will not dwell on reviewing the storyline, as doubtless there are many professional reviews already!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
Of all the films I have seen so far this year, this is hands down my favorite. This really is a rare film. A film where the acting is nothing short of perfect and the script is hilarious. It's in my top three for Martin Scorsese's best work.

The film is such a fantastic depiction of the story about Jordan Belford. The insight throughout the film into the life and mind of someone so powerful and smart, yet deceitful makes it worth watching alone. However, the comedy throughout is icing on the cake.

It's not often as well where a film with this sort of genre is done so well. Leonardo DiCaprio is nothing short of flawless in his role as Jordan Belford. How he didn't win an Oscar, amazes me. He definitely feel like the right choice for the role and he portrays Belford incredibly well. Jonah Hill also pulled off a great, always hilarious, performance. I'm 100% sure that there was not a single piece of bad acting though this whole 3 hour long film.

For some, the amount of swearing, drugs and "mature themes" in the film was overboard. You need to take into account, however, this is Jordan Belfords life you're seeing, of course there were moments were it was over exaggerated, but it would be rude to tone it down to satisfy the needs of the few.

It's definitely my best film of the year and almost my favorite film ever. If you like a good, well done comedy...this is for you. It's a story that everyone needs to see, it's an insight into a life that none of us will ever experience personally, and that is what makes this film so good.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)