Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
18
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.89
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 December 2013
I discovered this artist when she supported Depeche Mode in Hannover a couple of weeks ago and I couldn't believe my luck to get SUCH a good support act - the atmosphere was ace -she is wicked live - I was very proud as a Brit abroad with such a cool British line up that night!!! Anyway, couldn't wait to get this cd and I wasn't disappointed. As the title suggests, strong vocals and Portishead type music, slightly rockier. Its just stunning. However, she may want to reconsider her artwork in the future - its a bit weird and not one you can leave lying around the house with young ones about - its not really relevant either. If you saw this in a shop you would just think it was strange - doesn't do her any favours. Defo try and see her live. I am chuffed to bits to discover someone I like so much.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
What a great début album! Very powerful, emotional and dark music with haunting vocals.

Definitely an artist worth catching live if you can.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
I became aware of Nadine Shah when she was a supporting act for another artist, and she blew me away. I thought she could be the main act! Her songs are on the dark broody side, but not at all sad. She draws you in with a unique voice and lyrics which stay with you. There is just one song I like less than the others, but overall this is art for the ears. Fantastic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2016
This album is Nadine Shah's debut album. She went on tour with Depeche Mode and played many venues whilst they were opening for Bat for Lashes and she was well received. She has a soulful voice and is adept at playing the piano which features in many of her songs. This album is written and sang from the heart and features lyrics which tell a story unlike most of today's popular artists. Whilst Nadine won't ever be in the top 40 charts those who listen to her music are guaranteed of a unique musical experience. This album is a mixture of slow finger tapping songs mixed with slightly more upbeat ones. A very unique album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
It's a grower, but give it a couple of listens and it's fine. Some of the later tracks, I think, are better, so keep with it, listen all the way through!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
Great tracks, but as a whole it never beats the sum of its parts. I wanted a little more thought on the production and the direction. If you play it beginning to end as an LP, it falters mid way, but what a brilliant songwriting debut. Lightweight effects are used to lift some tracks and become annoying after a few plays, but the songwriting is great throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
heard this artist on the radio and instantly fell in love.
received the album within couple of days! incredibly beautiful!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
promising introduction, foe me. look forward to the forthcoming album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
Much hype surrounding this debut yet it does not always translate.If mood is your thing then this work reflects the artist and reveals issues.You hear that the songs have substance but its not uplifting and a sense of abandoment prevails.Its intense but tireing.You may need to be in a certain mood; maybe seeking approval for being a bit manic.
The production makes it atmospheric though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
Leonard Cohen of the Midlands. Strong songs hope Nadine experiments like London Gramar. Look forward to seeing her live. Gman Shoreditch Radio& Disorder Magerzine
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here