Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
109
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

A beautiful film in 3D Made me really feel I was in orbit watching this DVD through my Cinemizer glasses. I'll watch it over and over again. Spectacular footage. Great sound too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
fantastic, what a sound at the launch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
I've never cried watching a movie but this one made me cry with awe. The universe is magnificent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Good quality 3D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
item as described timely delivery , thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Nice one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Not bad... the pictures from hubble are awesome..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 October 2013
This does have some great 3D footage in the highest HD quality - as well as a very good surround soundtrack and interesting commentary from Leonardo di Caprio. But after 45 minutes it's all over and just feels too short - you want more and the two extras are only in 2D and not that interesting.

The footage is made up from two distinct sources - the NASA footage of astronauts working to service and repair the orbiting Hubble telescope and actual footage of images created from Hubble, of far-away gas clouds and galaxies. The former is interesting and the shots in space of the astronauts working above the earth are truly spectacular - the 3D imaging really makes it feel like you are there.

Even more spectacular, are the two sequences that have you flying through light years of space to see stars forming in dust clouds and far-off galaxies that are billions of light years away. However these are just not enough, you really feel there must be more that they could have shown. The astronaut training and preparation was stretched out and the really stunning images were held to the end.

Overall I am glad to have seen these images and some are definitely worthy of many replays - but the sequences of Hubble data, while being the true highlights, are also the briefest - leaving you feeling slightly short-changed.

I would say that this has to get four stars for the sheer quality of the stunning images - but maybe 2-3 stars for value and time given.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
QUITE GOOD, HOWEVER, DID'NT BLOW MY MIND! I'M A SPACE FAN AND ENJOY ALL VIDEOS RELATING TO THIS TOPIC, HOWEVER, FOUND THIS FILM A BIT BORING! HAD TO SWITCH TO ANOTHER FILM TO REFRESH MY MIND - IF YOU SEE WHAT I MEAN.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
Though I do appreciate that those with 3D are in the minority, I suspect that it is the back of many of your minds that one day...! Also of course most of the 3D blu-rays come with a 2D version so you can watch now and upgrade later. I have recently bought `IMAX HUBBLE 3D' which everyone I have shown it to have been spellbound by the images in space and the trip via pictures captured by Hubble to the farthest reaches of the solar system and other galaxies. The film is narrated by Leonardo DiCaprio and follows the 2009 flight of the shuttle Atlantis, and the dangerous final mission to repair successfully the Hubble telescope. Originally shown in 3-D IMAX screens, with much of the footage shot by the astronauts, this looks incredibly good shown on my Panasonic 6000 projector viewed on an 8ft home cinema screen. If you sit really close to the screen you could almost believe you had your own Imax experience at home. The 3D images are superb and it makes you really appreciate the incredibly difficult technical achievement of establishing and maintaining a Space Station. The film also gives a feel of what it is like to be blasted into space and life on-board the Station. The Hubble telescope has given mankind a tremendous leap in knowledge in the search for the origins and extent of the universe. Only complaint, it is at 40mins the film is a bit on the short side. I thought this `Hubble Imax' was a better purchase than the somewhat similar `Imax Space Station', because of the additional superb 3D images from the Hubble telescope.
55 Comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)