Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
135
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2013
Sometimes it's good to have a small book about a big subject. The voyage of the Mayflower carries enough weight of history to inspire volumes of fat tomes but sometimes you simply want to know stuff like - what were the cabins like? and the weather? did they take pets? and how did they manage with going to the loo in stormy weather?
This brisk and unflinching account of who boarded a leaky old ship at the wrong end of the sailing season for a hellish journey to an uncharted shore, why they did it and what happened next would be a perfect primer for further reading of American history. Or if you read for the fun of it, it's just a really interesting little book.
11 comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
Fascinating account of the voyage to America of the Mayflower pilgrims, fetishised in America's founding myths as a group of right minded people fleeing religious persecution in England (boo, hiss!). Turns out they were largely Dutch chancers, economic migrants in search of the buck and the freedoms that having money bestows. An eye-opening and iconoclastic read. I love it when history does this.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Well, I was really looking forward to an in-depth examination of the Mayflower episode, the background, historical development and importance of this seminal event. Even a critique of whether it was such a seminal event. Got instead a short summary that left me wanting a lot more than the book gave me. Not recommended - but it did spark an interest.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
Really entertaining book. It lays out the story leading up to the famous voyage, as well as how the settlers got on after they arrived, and what happened to the famous ship afterwards.
An interesting read even if you aren't into history
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The author has obviously done much research on the Mayflower, her crew and the adventurous, courageous landlubbers in this short, but honestly written book.

I was hoping for more enlightenment on the ship itself and the living conditions on board, bearing in mind that she was designed to trade, not carry passengers, but lets remember that this was 400 years ago!

Looking back at history over the centuries certainly makes you appreciate what we take for granted now with travelling and modern medicines, etc.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
This is only a short book but well done to the author for clearly taking a long time to research his facts and tell us an honest story. Obviously there are many 'myths' about the real story and these are mentioned but they are put in their place and a clearer picture comes to the. Some who prefer to keep the traditional view would find this a scary book to start but I can assure them there is no negative slant to the book. Honesty is the greatest truth and this book sets out to tell a story and use the facts to get there. I would reccomend this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 June 2015
An entry level work for background on the Mayflower. The title is a little feverish as the journey itself constitutes only a modest part of this short book. The strength comes from the descriptions of the backgrounds of the passengers, their reasons for going on this astonishing adventure and their experiences during the first few months in the new world.

A perfectly good introduction for those wanting to develop an interest into American Colonial history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
Well written although there is no excuse for the writer to favour this group of pagans as pilgrimages making their way to America where others like them had fled and settled there. Protestants is what they came up with for defying Christianity. Whilst they were being hunted by the English king, these pagans thought they had the right to practice their division elsewhere but I'm sure that this was to lead to corruption?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, it shows no matter what kind of person you were or what religion or status, you all pull together and help one another. This is what living as a colony helped them to survive and the trip across on the Mayflower proved.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
These were indeed intrepid people who came through all manner of tests and tribulations to found a nation and start the annual celebration of Thanksgiving to The Lord which is still celebrated to this day.

I enjoyed this lesson in history which was presented in a very readable form. I do wonder if we, the present day people would be as hardy and resourceful as these folk were.

An enjoyable read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)