Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 7 January 2014
Bought at a bargain £4 after buying the first album last year as it happens after hearing the 3rd track on the latest album 'Life Round Here' on the radio. Wasn't disappointed with either. Found the 1st album more challenging - needed repeated listenings before appreciating the unusual style (usually a good sign) which I find undefinable (strange that Amazon put the 1st album in the Electro pigeon-hole and the 2nd in the Pop category but I suppose they have to go somewhere !). On the 1st album the comparisons with Radiohead are understandable (Wim Mertens anyone?) but the 2nd album reaches out a little further to a wider audience with the excellent 'Take a fall for me' for instance.

Beautiful music which evokes all sorts of emotions (even if I do find it difficult at times to work out the lyrics) and a breath of fresh air in the polluted world of talentless radio-pap. If you're a Curious Orange - buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2013
If you loved James Blake's previous releases then you will enjoy this continuation of his haunting melodies and fractured songs creating an atmosphere of longing and passion. I'd heartily recommend this album.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2018
Best of his work as the others feel like experiments not albums. Repeating words endlessly is infuriating. Glad it's less on this work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2014
Every track on this album is very strong. Deserved winner of this year's Mercury prize. The only reason I never gave it 5-stars was that it plays for only 40 minutes. Would have been great with a couple of more tracks - providing they were up to the standard of the rest of the album. Just adding a couple of to pad it out would detract from the album's overall quality. Very atmospheric.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2014
I like James Blake i thought his first album was a really original album mixing elements of dance/electronica with Indie. This album is a real progression from that first album-great songs sung with James really distinctive voice. I saw him at the Ritz in Manchester before Christmas and he was excellent live. In my top 5 list from 2013.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2017
A wonderfully ground-breaking CD with especially the title-track Boeing my favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2016
An angelic voice? Melancholic, fragile, sad, beautiful? Maybe, but no words can describe how affecting this music is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2013
This is good music which I have listened to a few times and like. A bigger production than his previous CD - even sounds like Bon Iver or Antony and the Johnsons on some tracks. One thing I do not like is the robotic percussion sounds that ruin some of the tracks. They detract from the words and the feel of the music. My opinion anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2013
Unlike his eponymous album James Blake, the young producer creates a perfect, creative album.

It seems as if he has found a way of incorporating bass driven influences to his soulful voice in a way that allows for each song to flow to the next.

Although I actually have less favourites from this album to his first, this album works as a whole much better.

Overgrown, I am Sold, Retrograde, Digital Lion, To The Last..

Just incredible.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2016
Haunting, ethereal electronic sounds with Blake's intensity soon had me drawn in and hooked. Easy to lose yourself in this album, highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)