Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
125
4.6 out of 5 stars
The First World War - The Complete Series [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 January 2017
A must for every one, we should know more about the horror our forefathers went through
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2012
This was an extremely watchable series, which explained the First World War, its causes and effects, better than I've ever heard it. Much of its strength was that it didn't concentrate only on strategy and what the upper echelons were doing, but looked at how events impacted the men in the trenches. Lots of battlefield and trench film demonstrates conditions, as well as first hand accounts (mostly letters) from those involved. Should be compulsory school viewing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
Excellent series missed most on TV when it was aired so great I could have my own copy to watch as I pleased....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Very informative dvd. Lots of information to take in. Be prepared to sit and concentrate as it is quite heavy going at times. Really enjoyed expanding my knowledge
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
An unusual but very intelligent look at the First World War, taking in politics and geography. The programmes are done by 'theme' rather than the usual simple chronological format, and it was all the better for it. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Got it for a foreigner who cannot figure out how, or why, the First World War got started.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2017
Bought for Christmas from their wish list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
very good series but not as good as the world at war
it is 100 years since the end of ww1
hopefully something big will come out next year
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Great service, would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
Top class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)