Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
683
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.24
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 30 August 2013
16 year old Laila Khan has befriended her 17 year old classmate, Ray-Ray Thompson. Since the death of her father, her uncle, Mahmood Khan has become head of the family. He is a strict authoritarian in upholding the honour of the family name. Ray-Ray's father is a powerful London gangster currently imprisoned. This innocent teenage relationship triggers a sequence of events that rapidly escalates into a vengeful, relentless family feud between the Khan and Thompson families with Laila and Ray-Ray caught in it.

Jacqui Rose skilfully develops several plotlines, including a psychotic kidnapper, that progress into a fast-paced novel packed with action, breathtaking chases and violent life-threatening confrontations. The plot strands are ingeniously interlinked with neat twists, surprises and coincidences that lead to a nerve-racking and unpredictable ending. The final paragraph has an unexpected ironic touch.

Jacqui Rose has written another superb exciting and exhilarating book that really is difficult to put down as the narrative changes in direction, locations and relationships rip along at such a rate that as a reader I constantly wanted to know what was on the next page. Enthralling, entertaining and enjoyable. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
I really enjoyed this book, could not put it down.
It was gritty, unpredictable and a really good story.
The best book I have read in a while, it is as good if not better than a martina Cole or similar authoress.
I won't spoil the contents of the book but if one reads the first chapter you will be hooked.
Looking forward to her next novel.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
Fantastic book. I could not put it down . The story has you hooked as soon as you start reading . Think this is her best book yet!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Gripping from start to finish. A brilliant book which I would highly recommend . I will look forward to the next book.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
This really is two separate books. The first regarding the abuse, abduction and forced marriage of Laila is good. The author could possibly have stuck to this story and developed it further. More detail on Pakistan and assistance available to forced marriage victims on return to the UK. I agree with some of the other reviews that said the meeting with the friend was rather shoehorned in, in order to advance the plot. Surely the neighbours would have heard the friend shouting at the window straight away and would have told the husband?

Part two is barely connected to part one. When Laila meets up with Ray again why didn't she recognise his voice? I'm not familiar with the prison system but I doubt breaking someone out would be this straightforward. The author should spend more time researching her subjects. Arnold was the best drawn character and obviously not really dead. Maybe I'll find out if he crops up in the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
When Laila a sixteen year old girl living in Bradford with her very strict family befriends Ray-Ray son of a London gangster she suddenly finds herself in immense trouble.Before long she is shipped off to Pakistan, and against her will forced to marry a man who delights in bullying her both emotionally and physically. Unknown to Laila her friend has been severely punished by her family and Ray-Ray's imprisoned father is preparing to exact his revenge.
This was a really good read, a page turner right up to the very end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
I was so disapointed with this.It started off so well but got absolutely bogged down in the middle with ridiculous characters and daft plots.Is it really that easy to escape from prison? Would a policeman not smell a corpse a mile off?.The main story about the girl being took to pakistan was not even mentioned in the middle bits,i havnt got a clue if she got home,if Freddie was sent back to prison or the ridiculous Arnie,whose dad was so far fetched,ended up dead or alive,because frankly i gave up and didnt really care.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
I liked it but it was a little poor in parts, like the author hadn't done their research homework........Very often repetative ans somewhat far fetched. Touches on "arranged marriage thing, and seems as though the author didn't have enough info so they elaborated a little.....Usual cockney wide boys were present and it did seen a little copycat MARTINA COLE in places.............I wouldn't rate it at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
Since the death of her father Laila's life has been controlled by her uncle, the only time she gets a chance to be herself is at school where she befriends new student Raymond 'Ray Ray' Thompson, son of notorious London gangster Ray, who has moved up to Yorkshire with his mother for a fresh start after his father was jailed.

But this innocent friendship soon sets off a trigger of events that will tear them apart and life will never be the same again for either of them.

Having previously read Taken and Trapped I had high expectations for Dishonour and I wasn't disappointed as it was another drama filled story that had me hooked right from the off. I loved the diversity of the characters and how the various storylines all interlinked with one another till they reached their conclusions.

This story takes us from Bradford to Pakistan and London as we follow the lives of Laila, Ray Ray and their families. I was routing for Laila to shake off the ties of her family and make a new independent life for herself, and was definitely silent cheering as certain characters got their comeuppance although the ending was certainly left open with one character so it will be interesting to see if he makes a re-appearance in future books.

As it's taken me so long to read this book, her new book Betrayed has already been published so I've now added it to my wishlist to read, preferably before her next book Avenged is published in August.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
It seemed to take forever for this book to be released and it was not a disappointment. I am a great fan of Jacqui Rose and can not wait for the next book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.99
£3.24
£2.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.