Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
30
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2017
Still trying to wrap my tongue around the Welsh, but is a fascinating alternative to British history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 April 2013
The latest addition to Sarah Woodberry's After Cilmeri series of novels, the scene now has moved to Scotland, with two new main characters, and only occasional reference to the principal figures in the previous novels. As in the previous novels, the action takes place in a parallel world to the recognised history of the period, but maintains the time jump theme of the previous books, and applying the effect of what could be the result of a Scotland spared the undesired interference of Edward I, set pre-Wallace, who is not involved although he has a brief mention. A young Robbie Bruce is featured, along with real life characters from the 1280s period. This is utter fiction and should be read as such, and as a slightly removed sequel from the other novels, could almost stand alone. Nevertheless, it is an entertaining read, and Sarah has obviously applied reasonable research to Scottish history as she did with the previous Welsh novels which run through the times of Llywelyn ap Gruffudd who, as the Series name suggests, in this parallel world did not die at Cilmeri in December 1282 and went on to not only raise his daughter Gwenllian (so badly treated in the real world by Edward I)but to produce a successor for himself and a half brother for her. I look forward to Sarah Woodberry's next venture.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
This is the last book in the After Cilmeri series available at the moment, Castaways in Time should be available in Sept 13.... :) I eagerly await it! I came across the first book while trawling thro' the Kindle freebies...and because it was placed in my favourite time in English/Welsh history...I thought I'd give it a try.....only a few pages in and I was hooked! It is not really my type of genre....being time travel, but it was a very light summer read and I recognised many of the people featured from history too. I enjoyed it to such a degree that I have since purchase every one of the series, Exiles being the last at the moment I can recommend it ... roll on Castaways.........
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
After reading one of this series of books I defy you not to want to read all the others. I did and admit to being hooked from the first (pre-story) novel. I admit I was looking for something with the flavour of Diana Gabaldon's wonderful Outlander series and of course to addicts like me nothing was going to be quite the same. However, time travel is certainly involved, historical facts are included, characters are developed and I thoroughly enjoyed reading them. What more can you ask for.
(I shall be posting the same review on all the books - yes I couldn't resist reading them all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
I like these.. may not great literature for some but an engaging story with good characters and i found it entertaining.
Mind i find much great literature boring anyway.. i like a story, not a recitation of someone else's dreary life and cause for misery.
A bit too much coincidence in meeting and contacts of the presumably very rare people who have time-jumped meeting... but it didnt exceed my threshold of disbelief.. and this is what? 4th or 5th book in the series and i am still buying and reading so the Girl's obviously doing something right.. after all i am buying the next book.. and some of her other stories too.
Good Light entertainment. Lovely Alt-History base. A true Romance novel in the old sense.. not text porn like so much modern lit for girls... maybe i should have given it 5 stars... ;)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2016
Very enjoyable! Once again set in Medieval times but in Scotland. The representative of the Welsh King of England and Wales goes to Scotland to try to resolve the succession. His party is attacked and many die, some are captured and he himself is left for dead. He is rescued by a time traveller who like himself is accidentally in the Medieval times. The pair manage to rescue some of the original party whilst uniting the warring factions who have claim to the Scottish crown bringing about a decision on the succession in Scotland. Also, there is romantic interest.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
Really enjoyed the book, a little disappointed not to get to hear more about Meg and family, so hope for more in the next book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
I have read the prequel, the novella and each of the books so far in this series, [including the one after this one], and they are brilliant. I love the way you get caught up in all the characters do, how you hang on every word and at the end of the book I couldn't wait to start reading the next one. The description of the Welsh countryside, the castles, the way the people lived in the past just completely held my attention. If you love period stories then I believe you will love these tales with a difference. I have my name down so that I am notified when the next book is released.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
I have enjoyed all Sarah woodbury's books, I have never been interested in Welsh history before, very informative and enjoyable
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
Thoroughly hooked! I am reading through the series one by one and none of these books have disappointed me yet. In this book, the author seems to know exactly when we need a break from the serious drama and adds a little light relief, and then turns and twists the tale until it all comes together at the end with a very satisfactory finish - but still leaves you looking forward to the next book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse