Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
115
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£15.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2013
This is a really gripping music industry film , with so much reality and so enjoyable to watch. If you are a budding musician it will enthuse you onwards to aim for greater things. I play drums in a band and we gig, this film just makes you want to practice and do just more off what you inwardly love to do daily. I blatantly shows what it is all about and why you do it . Thank you Dave Grohl
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Totally excellent film from Dave Grohl of foo fighters about the place where Nirvanas nevermind was recorded in 16 days. Part historical documentary as so much great music was made at sound city ,Fleetwood Mac acquired Stevie Nicks and Lindsay Buckingham whilst recording their 1975 Album and the interviews are fascinating . There are also contributions from Neil Young,Tom Petty,Lee Ving,Trent Reznor, Corey Taylor and Frank Black as well as what remains of Nirvana recording cut me some slack with Paul McCartney. John Fogerty and Rick Neilson also feature, along with members of Queen of The Stone age . In terms of rock documentarys it doesnt get any better and the new music is very special , really enjoyed McCartney, Stevie Nicks and Coray Taylor though its all good.
Dave bought the soundboard and the film maps the creative process in making the music and not being afraid to take risks and explore new territory . In reality this film is a vehicle for musical creativity and excellence of vision, though overall the plaudits belong to Dave Grohl for placing his enthusiasim on the screen in a very honest truthful manner . In addition the various producers, owners and employees of Sound City tell the story in a forthright and interesting manner which delights the viewer and is a first rate watch. Its warm , creative and a wonderful film with an incredible soundtrack bringing the music right up to date. I thoroughly enjoyed this and if rock music is one of your passions you will too, in addition its humerous too not taking itself too seriously,well done Dave.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
This directorial debut from Dave Grohl is both an homage to a centre of musical excellence and a tribute to some of the amazing artists who recorded some landmark works there, some of whom return to record new tracks for this documentary and accompanying CD soundtrack.

Rather than merely a series of fascinating talking heads, Grohl shows real flair as a film-maker, both in his framing and editing, and it is this panache which lifts 'Sound City' above the standards of your average rockumentary and gives it immediate 'classic' status.

It's a very moving piece of work, a real labour of love for Grohl, and reveals some fascinating facts about this oasis of genius in the San Fernando Valley as well as some memorable anecdotes from the coterie of stars interviewed.

Stand out moments have to be the recollections from Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks - their one and only infamous 'Buckingham Nicks' LP, before joining and transforming Fleetwood Mac, was the first ever to be recorded at the studio - and it's quite a tear-jerker to see the ever-wonderful Nicks record a breathtaking new track for this film which expresses her deep sadness at the loss of her godson to a heroin overdose last year.

All in all, this is not to be missed, and the high quality widescreen, 5.1 blu-ray contains an exclusive 45 minutes of extra footage which is just as unmissable as the 107 minute movie itself.

Excellent!
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
Wow. I just finished watching this. I read some reviews before hand and saw that everyone was raving about it, so I decided I'd buy it finally on Blu-ray. I was blown away with this amazing documentary directed by the one and only Dave Grohl! It spends the first hour explaining the history of the Sound City recording studio, and which artists were involved in the rise of this legendary studio. Then for the final 45 minutes it shows Dave Grohl, and many other artists like Trent Reznor, Paul McCartney and many more actually in Grohl's studio recording the soundtrack for this documentary on the mixing board that was used in the Sound City recording studios. Overall, a definite buy for any up-comers in the music industry, or just music fans in general. I give it 5 stars! Absolutely amazing, one of the most incredible and inspirational documentaries I've ever watched. Go and buy it!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
This documentary weaves several different themes into one another seamlessly in a beautiful story of a record label that has definitely touched your life unless you've been living in a cave somewhere in Afghanistan since 1970. The documentary uses a specific piece of technology - the Neve mixer as a corner stone around which the story of music and people are anchored. Essential watching for anyone interested in the modern history of music. It is remarkably informative and makes connections between people groups and styles of music that are both surprising and captivating. It's examination of music technology is fascinating regardless of whether you are watching as someone who enjoys the featured music or not. The soundtrack itself is a catalogue of favourites that have by now been mostly forgotten by the mainstream media. Unfortunately the documentary does become a little self-indulgent and sentimental by going beyond the history and filming the making of a new tribute album which is heavy in feeling, completely empty in lyrical content and stinking to high heaven with ego.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Having heard some amazing songs from the Sound City album I also bought the DVD documentary by Dave Grohl of the Foo Fighters. The documentary charts the story of a grotty little recording studio in LA which surprisingly was where some of the greatest albums of all time were recorded. A truly heartfelt documentary about a small studio which saw some amazing artists create their masterpieces and used real recording techniques despite the advance of digital trickery. It's a fascinating journey and it is well worth a watch if you are a music fan. Some of the stars talk and reminisce about their experiences and you get to see and hear some of them record the Sound City CD too. Buy the CD and DVD and enjoy some truly great music and history too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
Well....what can i say. Awesome doesn't cover it really. All i can say is, that it is obvious that Dave Grohl kept the pick of destiny after filming with Jack Black and Kyle. Everything he turns his hand to becomes the best thing ever! This is a piece of art at the end of the day but not the kind of art where you get all teary eyed. The kind where you throw your fist in the air, sing along and rock it!! On some song you can of course sit back and just listen with your eyes close. The different sounds that come from the instruments and the way they conjoin is fantastic. BUY IT!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
When the Judgment Day comes, this documentary film might actually weigh more on Dave Grohl's scales than what he had done as a musician.

This is in no way meant to belittle his musical contribution, but rather to stress the incredible amount of research and work that obviously went into this chronicle of American rock history 1969 - 2013, written and shot on the backdrop of a life story of a Neve recording console. (Granted, Grohl took what some might find an oversize part in the second half of that chronicle, but then he kind of deserves it, doesn't he?).

We should all send a cheque and a big thank you note to Dave Grohl for capturing this history, which is what I am doing right now.

TR
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
a very interesting and well done rockumentary on the infamous "SOUND CITY"recording studio, written by Dave Grohl it covers the studio from its humble beginnings in the late 60`s thru to Dave buying the original desk and inviting former sound city recording artists to JAM once more ,includes Stevie Nicks ,Matt Goss, Paul Mcartney,and josh homme to name but a few, recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
I bought this thinking it would be more of a movie than an documentary so was a little surprised but not disappointed. I think the interviews are relevant, candid and insightful.

Dave Grohl is charismatic and energetic on camera which really makes the film much more engrossing. The musicians and producers interviewed certainly provide insight in to Sound City. A great watch either way.

The extra's are brilliant too, the song recorded with Corey Taylor on vocals and how it was all tracked down and recorded was brilliant. Thoroughly enjoyed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)