Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.73
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2013
This is Sarah Lean's third novel for children. She has a lovely gentle style and tackles the subject of dementia in this book in a very sensitive and moving way. I loved the relationship between the old man and his granddaughter. Not as good as A dog called Homeless, but still a great read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
This is yet another beautiful book by Sarah Lean, this one deals with a very sensitive issue but in a way that still brings hope and also shows the love between a family at such times. Having lost someone close to me with Alzheimer's this made me cry a lot but more because it's such a shattering disease and even adults struggle to explain it let alone a child having to see someone they love go through it.

This is beautifully handled by Sarah Lean and I will be sure to look out for more books from her.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
This is an emotional story of a girl who tries to piece together her grandad's memory, so he can tell her his most important memory of all. The one about a whale.
This is a very drawn out story!
Probably to be best avoided by people who like fast pace books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
A sweet and simple story. This story is more about Granddad suffering Alzheimer's than that of a whale. By the end I did feel emotional, that is why instead of two star, I gave it three.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
This is a very sensitive story written with feeling. It shows knowledge of Granddads problems or has been extremely well researched. Sarah your first book was great your second ok but this outstripped both. Looking forward to the next, My grand children enjoyed it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
It is a grate story about a little girl trying to save her granddads past and it led her the something amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
This was a great book if you like Sarah lean's books then this one is great and if you like animals .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
My daughter was very pleased with this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
As described with prompt delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
gave as present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.99

Need customer service? Click here