Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 27 December 2017
Series 2 of this show is more of the same, with things developing as PC Fidel Best studies to take his sergeant's exams and personal relationships seem to be developing. As with Series 1 there is a plethora of well-known guest stars. At the end it finally seems that Richard Poole and Camille Bordey are starting, however tentatively, to come to terms with the fact that there is more than a professional relationship between them - there are what "Friends" fans might call "Ross and Rachel" moments appearing. Again, well worth watching over and over and works on several levels.

The pity of it is that for Series 3 onwards, and in reality because of the wishes of the actor, Ben Miller's character was written out and a new DI from the UK appeared in the form of the appalling Kris Marshall, someone who looks like an overgrown sixth-former and has nothing of a detective about him at all as he bumbles and stumbles about incompetently. I gave up after that. Now they have even, in true BBC style, shoehorned an Irish actor in to play the DI. I wish Ben Miller had stayed; I think there were great possibilities there. I cannot get interested in the later shows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2014
Having watched series one, I was interested to see if series 2 would live up to the same quality of storyline and I was not disappointed. Ben Miller is superb in his role and could almost be described as a modern-day Poirot. The sets are magnificent, the lure of the tropical paradise that is St. Marie is simply entrancing. The slowly growing empathy and depth of feeling Miller begins to feel towards Elizabeth Bourgine as his beautiful sergeant combines emotion with empathy, and there are some wonderfully touching moments as the straightlaced British detective struggles to show his emotions while remaining what he feels is the right amount of emotional detachment from his colleague. The storylines are great, and the whole supporting cast adds to the overall enjoyment of this wonderful series. I am truly sad that Miller will not be around for series 3, and I do think it will be hard for anyone to successfully follow in his footsteps in what is really a unique programme, a hard act to follow, for sure. Thoroughly recommend this great series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2013
George Taylor. On his knees in the Ste. Marie surf, and every bit as miffed...

Both series 1 and 2 were very good, and always will be. Nothing edgy or radical or po-faced like most modern detective serials. In fact it was comfortingly old fashioned. They also appear to have found directors and cameramen who can film a scene without shakey-cam and non-stop dizzying zoom lens action. Cameras should be on tripods. That's all there is to it.

Normally I'd run a mile from cosy stuff. Midsomer really does nothing for me, yet I can watch this any time. The plots are decent, yet very secondary to a cast that are really on it. They have a proper ensemble feel and are all excellent actors and fit their roles perfectly.

However, I'm with George on this one, and will NOT be buying the third series.

Which bit of "Love Actually" do you ALWAYS fast-forward through?



(Having seen the series, I feel quite bad. I'm not keen on his other stuff, but, fair's fair, Kris Marshall did very well with this, and will keep me watching. It would have been a significant loss, since I watch relatively few shows.)
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2013
Ben Miller's back as the fish out of water English detective still stuck on the fictional island of Saint-Marie in the Caribbean.
He still insists on wearing a suit and tie in 100 degree weather and drinking tea. The rest of the cast are also brilliant playing his fellow detectives and their families.
There are also some great guest stars. Don't know if it's just the chance of filming in the warm that drew them in, but they're very good. Stories are clever, usually revolving around strange murders that don't seem to have a reason behind them. But the stalwart English detective, with help from his colleagues always finds it!
Can't wait for series 3, which has been approved for production this year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2013
No really, the plots are good and the cast once again produces a wonderfully eclectic mix of detective skills, compassion and humour. Of course the scenary is a bonus as is the inclusion of well know TV personaliies in minor roles. An impression forms of actors queing up to get in an episode for two weeks out there.This is one of those series like 'Kingdom' that would be a crime to curtail after three episodes. It is to be hoped that the loss of Richard in series 3 will not spoil the flow and lead to it being cut. Meantime...waiting for series 3 with much anticipation.

Bet the tourist trade has had a boost out of this but getting there via Paris is a bit of a bind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2014
I love this programme. It's light-hearted and the interplay between the four principal characters is wonderful - there's a real ensemble feel from the cast. Don Warrington pops onto set from time to time and steals the scene, it's a great recipe for prime time TV. The scenery is great and the stories enjoyable. It's interesting to see the 'star turns' lining up to feature in the latest murder on this sunny Caribbean island. Ben Miller is fantastic in the lead role and Sara Martins is the perfect (and very lovely) foil. A real treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2013
This show is just fantastic. Who could not like this series with it's gentle humour played by such brilliant actors. Anyone who has seen series 1 should purchase this 3 disc set. I have watched this series over and over again - bit like Life On Mars/Ashes To Ashes and always found something new to see. Never fails to cheer me up or make me smile. Will the two main characters 'get it together'? we will have to wait for series 3, which Ben Miller has stated will be his last...such a shame as how will anyone take over from this slightly autistic detective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2016
DI pool uncovers more murders on the paradise
island very good cast
unfortunately ben miller didn't carry on for the 3 rd. series where
he was murdered in the first episode. Chris marshal ( DI Goodman) was brought in
to replace him, nothing like DI pool but solved the crimes in the same manner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2013
Charming stories with well chosen actors each giving of their best. Danny John Jules is perfectly cast. Not a trace of "Cat", and he gets to have a bike too (albeit an Enfield) The featured cast were each ideally chosen for their roles. Some of the supporting cast hamming it up. Must have been like a second Christmas to be asked if youwanted to fly to Guadelupe for a few days' work...... Having each murder neatly tied up in the last few minutes did begin to wear a bit, but that aside I thoroughly enjoyed each and every episode.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2013
One of our favourite shows! I ordered because I like some of the lead actors, Danny John Jules, Ben Miller and Don Warrington, and also because of the good reviews. My boyfriend and I love this show. Watched first two seasons, can't wait for the next one, although very sad Ben Miller will be leaving, he is marvelous, and will be missed! Love all the actors; Danny John Jules, as others have mentioned is so different in this than he is in Red Dwarf, but another great character for him. Love the special guests.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)