Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
286
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 28 March 2014
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Jesse is a waitress and single mum determined to provide a good upbringing for her son. This means no broke charming cowboys which when she meets Jack he appears to be be just that. Jack try's to win her round but with little success so instead he becomes a friend offering to help her find a 'rich' guy. As her helps her he becomes close to both her all her family and perhaps Jesse can fall for him after all but Jack is keeping a secret.

Jack is more than just rich. He is worth millions but he wants a woman to love him for more than the size of his bank balance so when he meets Jesse and decided she is the one for him he lets her believe him broke. However when Jesse finds out the truth and that Jack has been lying to her she isn't too pleased!

I found this book an awful lot like the old style romances I used to read when I was just starting out with the genre. It was charming, sweet and romantic and the characters were very endearing. You cared about them and wanted them to reach that happy ending you just knew was coming. Not a type of book I would read all the time but a pleasant departure from the the books that are all to serious and gritty.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
I was quite surprised by this quiet, little offering. Not so quiet. Not so little. Not an offering but more of a ' read this & fall in love'!!!!! With the characters, the author ( new to me & now on my permanent look for list!) but how the story was woven together makes a delightful reading experience! Thank you Catherine Bybee, I loved my first taste of your writhing talent & will be on the case now that you have been found. Refuse to discuss plot or anything else for that matter. Read it for yourself & see if you feel as thankful as I do that real talent can be discovered along with the already well established writers that we all are already in awe of!!!!!!!
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
This book was really sweet.

So far it is safe to say that I have loved every book I have read by Catherine Bybee. You know that her characters are going to have a good attractions with pits and falls before fully coming into the romance and a brilliant feel good ending.

Jessie is a young mum who works long hours late at night as a waitress in order that she can spend her daylight hours with her son in order that he doesn't miss out. Her younger sister lives with them rent free in order that she also helps with her son.

Money is tight and she often has to juggle her funds to the penny and would love to fall in love and marry a rich man to provide more stability in her sons life. She wants her son to have the best he can.

Jack Morrison is on his way back with his buddies from a stag do when they go for a meal at the dinner where Jessie works. He is immediately drawn to the waitress and becomes entranced when she tells him no. A feeling that he has never felt before has him deciding that for the first time he actually wants to chase a woman to see if she would fall for his as him, so he pretends to be a poor waiter. He is actually the son of a billionaire hotel tycoon and is rich on his own merits.

Jessie and Jack provide a brilliant chase where Jack is constantly kept on his toes and Jessie shows her loyalty to her family and her love for her son.

It is heart warming to see how Jack instantly connects with Jessie's young son and just seems to slip effortlessly into their lives.

Of course both Jessie and Jack hit a few bumps and have a few misunderstandings, which only makes the romance seem more plausible and endearing.

I already love this series and can't wait to read the next one!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Since it's as easy to fall in love with a rich man as a poor one, hardworking single mother Jessie Mann has decided that the next man she lets into her life is going to be rich enough to make him worth it. When the cute and charming Jack Moore crosses her path she can't help but notice his sexy cowboy accent... or his beat-up truck. So when he asks Jessie out, she says no.

But Jack Moore is really Jack Morrison, billionaire hotel owner, who's grown tired of dating women who are only interested in his bank balance. Jessie is a different kind of lady and Jack has no intention of letting her get away. Because if she can see the man behind the millions, then maybe she's who he's been looking for all along.

This is a cute Californian romance with a hint of cowboy sweetness. Jack is charming and confident, Jessie is sweet but strong, her son Danny is adorable and there are a couple of meddlesome sisters around to help the plot along.

This is an easy, enjoyable read about the bumps on the road to love. True, I spent most of it wondering just how Jessie was going to find out the truth and how much grovelling Jack would have to do, but always in a good way.

Light and lovely, this is a great pick-me-up tale. I look forward to reading all about Jack's sister, Katie, in the next: Not Quite Mine.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2016
Here we have the multi-millionaire tired of gold-diggers meeting the single mother waitressing the graveyard shift at a diner – greasy spoon café.
So far so not very original.
Mis-understandings, mistakes and deliberate mis-directions ensue, all of which mean the traditional ups and downs of a romance not going smoothly.

Nicely written and starts well as they begin as friends but the last chapters are too conventional in this type of story and we knew what was going to happen. I therefore reduced my initial 3.5 to 3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2016
Entirely lacking originality and full of stereotypes.
Love stories do tend to rely on a certain formula, but here it is absolutely trite without any redeeming features.
The hero is very wealthy, but hides this fact from the heroine. Up to her, he has only met "gold-diggers" with unpleasant characters.
The heroine of course is stunningly beautiful, but only a poor waitress, supporting her child and sister on a meagre salary.
He is impressed, as he's never encountered kindness in another female.

After about two or three chapters, I gave up. Life is too short to waste on such uninspired stories.
Save your money, I'm glad I received it for free.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2016
I enjoyed this book immensely. The need for caution when meeting and dating new men was well explained as were the issues of dating men who lacked financial substance and an ability to commit.

The sentiment in this story is well understood by many single mums struggling to raise their offspring.

Some of the situations were a little unbelievable but nevertheless this was a good read. Am hoping the next book in the series is as good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
Not Quite Dating immediately said, Cowboys. Never one for reading those types of stories, I decided to give it a try. Wouldn't hurt, right? I'm so glad I did. Catherine Bybee floored me with her style of writing. Fresh, concise, and emotionally charged! I found myself smiling every time 'Jack' appeared. Eagerly cheering him on till the end. And now, I'm desperate to see what happens in the next book!

So. Would I buy another Cowboy book?
If it's written by Catherine Bybee, YES!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2016
This is one of those books you have to keep reading - I was hooked from the first page to the last. A heartwarming story, well-written with a few bumps in the path of love along the way. The main characters are strong and believable - each with their own agenda. I enjoyed the 'will they won't they' tug of wills between them.

Will most certainly be reading the follow ups.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
Jessie is a single mum and waitress in a local diner. Jack Morrison is a mega rich hotel chain owner...Jack is fed up of women wanting him just for his cash but when he meets Jessie he wants her. However to ensure she loves him and not his cash he pretends to be a temporary waiter at the hotel . Jessie sees him as just a dreamer and although she's attracted to him thinks she needs security over dreams....maybe she can have both. This is as lovely little love story, you 'll need tissues but a hea is always guaranteed to bring a smile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)