Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
100
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 December 2012
Borgen is the successful DR political drama starring Sidse Babett Knudsen.
This set contains the first two series of Danish series Borgen as seen on BBC4 in the UK. This set is the official Danish version and is subtitled in English, however, it may be better to wait for the second series to be screened on BBC4 and then obtain the UK release as that will have subtitles as screened on BBC4 and not the English as translated in Copenhagen. Series 3 will be screened in Denmark in early 2013.
0Comment| 98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Having watched and very much enjoyed Series 2 on TV, we bought this product so that we could see Series 1 also. We debated whether to buy Series 1 only, but as we'd so enjoyed Series 2 the first time around we decided to go with both. This, in retrospect, was a big mistake.
We've given the product three stars overall, but this is the average of five stars for Series 1 plus one star for Series 2. The second series scores so little not because of the quality of the acting, the writing or the production values; on the contrary these are just as good as in the first series. What is wrong is that the second line of the subtitles (or the only line when a speech is short) is almost always totally illegible as it appears mostly below the bottom edge of the screen. Occasionally it can be read, but not very often. Of course, meaning can usually be understood by reference to context, but that's not the point. It's a shoddy piece of work, and looks as though English subtitles have been hastily and badly superimposed over the Danish version rather than properly incorporated. As such, it is not worth the money even though Series 1 was perfectly OK. Amazon should really be ashamed of selling product like this; it makes you wonder whether there's any quality control.
We've tried to find a way of expressing our complaint directly to the company, but they seem (deliberately?) to have made this very difficult so we don't really have any alternative to drawing the attention of potential buyers to ineffectual dubbing here.
22 Comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
Well done BBC4 for another excellent series.
Political drama with family life and all it's problems thrown in for fun.
I feel excited for anyone about to embark on series one and two at this moment be prepared to want to stay up all night for " just one more episode "
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 February 2013
I suppose I'm now at an age where I'm starting to find a lot of tv superficial and have largely stopped watching it. But after recommendations from other family members my wife and I rented out the first series. We have found it utterly compelling. Well written and acted, it captures the subtle intrigue and power plays perfectly. In particular the portrayal of media and politics feeding off each other is thought provoking. If only we could be party to such events in real life (and assuming real politcs is half as interesting) I think you'd make voter apathy history overnight.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
I was nearly put off ordering this because of some previous comments about the subtitles being very difficult/impossible to read. I'm very glad I did order it in the end, brilliant show and I had no issues at all reading the subtitles. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Get past the rather slow first couple of episodes and then you are hooked. Excellent series, brilliantly acted by all players. Best thing I have seen in ages - I may even try and learn Danish!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
Ordered this on recommendation by a family member. Definitely not disappointed. Had me hooked from 1st episode. The problem is that I can't stop watching and over the past 2 weekends have watched series 1 and am now onto series 2. Will definitely be watching series 3 when it arrives on our screens in the New Year.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
This is an excellent Danish political drama. You've probably had a taster so specifics to the format:
The bluray format is good and much clearer than the dvd. The subtitles are excellent and do not annoy the vision and they are also well translated. I was worried about this. On Bbc4 the translation and subtitles were good and these seem to ne the same ones. I previously bought 'the killing ' when it came out on dvd only to find the subtitles large and intrusive as well as being a very poor translation, this is certainly not the case here. I thoroughly recommend this.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
I remember being entranced with 'The House of Cards' trilogy, consisting of the 'House of Cards', 'To play the King'and'The Final Cut', which was about the shinannigens in British politics, with a brilliant performance from Ian Richardson(and the whole cast actually) as firstly the Chief Whip and then Prime Minister. So, when i saw the good reviews from Amazon reviewers of 'Borgen', i was somewhat sceptical as i thought they had not seen the original British series made in the 90's and did not think it could be bettered.

Well, how wrong i was, this Danish Television production is of such a high quality in every facet that it completely overshadows the British House of Cards Trilogy, mainly because the plot is so much more believable and very topical with the characters far more down to earth and natural. The acting by everyone is of the highest standard and the cinematograghy quite outstanding. In fact it is so well done that you sometimes wonder if it is not true in many respects.

Apart from the political side, it has everything a good drama should contain such as suspense, humour, pathos and excellent dialogue with superbly appropriate background music where applicable.

It is one television series that i would actually like to own, just to put on when i am fed up with the usual television mediocrity. If you have not seen it on television, i thoroughly recommend you either purchase it or rent it. The producers of 'The Killing',another excellent series, have followed it up with a series that is even better -Well done to Danish Television, who seem to be at the forefront of this genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Unexpectedly Birgitte Nyborg becomes Denmark's new Prime Minister, head of a shaky coalition pulling in different directions. For how long can she maintain her integrity without descending to the smears, dirty tricks, hidden devious agendas of certain unscrupulous colleagues? What hope too for harmonious family life, as pressures of state continue daily to mount...?

Salute here a series that credits viewers with intelligence! Twenty episodes of about fifty five minutes explore issues and characters in depth. All the way through so much rings true - political manoevrings, divided loyalties, television news coverage, strains on personal lives. The entire cast rises to the challenge, the three leads especially: Sidse Babett Knudsen superb as the embattled leader; Pilou Asbaek as her brilliant but troubled spin doctor; Birgitte Hjort Sorensen as his on/off girlfriend, investigative reporter Katrine.

Painlessly much is learned here about complex issues, ranging from the plight of the Innuit in Greenland to problems besetting Afghanistan. Health care, immigration, the ethics of whistleblowing are amongst subjects raised. Occasionally themes seem based on very recent events. In fact several times episodes preceded real life occurrences. This is one of the fascinating facts revealed in Season 2's bonus feature - it almost an hour long and well worth checking out.

Do not be put off by the idea of subtitles. Briefly they perhaps overwhelm but very soon prove no problem - greatly preferred to the dubbing alternative.

It was assumed the series would last just two seasons, everything here thus rounded off satisfyingly. Only then came the news a third had been commissioned. Surely mission impossible for it to maintain the standard? Incredibly, by all accounts, it is even better.

Can a series really be as good as so many claim? Be assured that this one is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)