Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2017
Excellent show on the major events in human history. Very very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
I usually prefer British docs, as I find American docs often contain too much hype. But this series is the proverbial exception, it is the best documentaries I have seen along with 'the story of Earth'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
The narration is not by Stephen Fry. Episode 1 (the only one I watched) was underwhelming. Apart from the annoying use of the present tense when describing past events, the dumbing down of human development to a few events, often hypothetic, scientifically unproved or even wrong makes this unwatchable. There are also frequent pauses, followed by repetition of a previous statement (presumably as a result of editing out the ads) is a further annoyance. Do not bother with this, get Dr Bronowski's Ascent of Man instead.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
After watching this on the History Channel I decided to buy the CD not just to watch again but in the hope my younger children would take an interest...haven't managed that yet but I'm part way through the CD's (there are three) and it's as good as the first time round. Brilliant. Whilst it doesn't cover the whole of the history of mankind (it couldn't possibly)it picks out the important and most interesting bits. Word of warning the commentary is delivered by Josh Brolin and not Stephen Fry. However Mr Brolin's delivery is very sharp and easy to listen to. Give it a try you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
I loved this series but I was vexed to have the commentary by an American when I had specifically searched for the Stephen Fry version
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
This DVD had some interesting points but it was rather spoiled for me by some rather strange 'experts' who were interviewed about events in Ancient Egypt, Greece and pre-historic times- a TV news anchor, ex-Navy seal, magazine editor and 'writers' (of who knows what sort of book). May as well have consulted some random Joe in the street for all of the value it added. I gave up after the 2nd episode
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
Great series. High quality production. Fast moving series that whilst it skips through thousands of years of history to "key" points it is a good introduction to human history. Suitable for pre-teens onwards, some minor violence. For people in the U.K. please note that this is the U.S. version narrated by Josh Brolin and not Stephen Fry.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Great series! Loved it from start to finish. If you enjoy your history then this is for you. Also if you liked this the same people did a series called "America: the story of us"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Interesting series but has some historical flaws(i.e. No Jewish slave involvement in the building of Egyptians pyramids?) but overall I liked the series. Great CGI!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Caught an episode or two of this on tv so bought the series. Watching it with the wife and we're both loving it. Very well made and a very interesting story to follow. One of the better documentaries in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)