Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
58
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 September 2015
Many people's reviews on here are very much what you would assume from the uneducated of film history when it comes to zombie flicks and low budget shoe string films. Also having a laugh at the concept that Dominic Brunt, known vastly nation-wide in the UK as Paddy from the much popular Emmerdale soap. At the end of the day this man is an actor, but further more he has taken a surprised turn in his career, what we all should not assume is maybe this was the guys way into the world of film, T.V was becoming an actor. Dominic is a heralded film fan, namely of horror and 70/80's era'd films. So what he does here is a very very eerie, atmospheric decently made low budget horror that goes beneath the layers of the zombie genre. The look, the photography all posses a grandeur scale, scope, the score and the actors in this headed by an enigmatic also troubling melancholic Dominic Brunt leading the cast. The remaining cast members are all just fodder- pieces to be picked off, for teeth to be sheared wish, tendons to be torn, splattered. are all in the clichéd perverse scared shit-less. The film is low budget, and does suffer some editorial mixing- sound design/sound edits that are very much un-cinematic and brings you out of it, and it feels like a newbies student film, but many student films deserve a pat on the back and mass viewing compared to the generic zombie flicks of our age. A world where zombie films are now restricted to 12A ratings (PG-13 in the USA) ahem i am looking at you World War Z. This harkens back to back garden grunge/gore and the mentality but also is very character enthused, about caring for the characters and their survival and how this afflicts upon their singular lives. As a film critic and a mass purchasing on Amazon i do not feel endowed not to type up a review that films are lesser known on here especially. And that they need more confidence put up into them and more press compared to many illiterate uncharacteristic predictable moronic fools thinking they are funny to mock a man for his role (which he must have a great pay check so he can make great strong ballsy independent films that Dominic Brunt is now doing) and his future role to change the shape of back yard, independent films. Its front poster is very much mis-leading but still the film posses enough scares, both jump and just dread it is fast, fun and brings back a steadily rising climb to decent zombie flicks.

The special features are great fun, interesting, and a very much silenced commentary that is muted and you hear the film more than the silent gentlemen that is Dominic Brunt who is a talent to look out for.

Apart from some set backs in editorial and running time and genuine character devices and Macguffins it is a strong return to the zombie genre that and independent cinema.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Had read all the reviews before purchase so went into this with my eyes open. Very clear that there were two camps on this one. Whilst not that bad the poor (ie misleading!) cover art for the DVD really doesn't help.
As for the film itself, the plot is straightforward, a 'close to divorce' couple take a break in the country to try to salvage the marriage, and things take a zombie affected turn for the worse. The effects are fine, but what let it down for me was that I was hoping for a bit more on the estranged husband / wife aspect, the background to it and the consequences of their predicament on their (terminally?) fractured relationship.

The take home message is that this is a low budget Brit zombie horror, the cover is largely irrelevant (apart from it shows zombies) and it should be bought and viewed with that in mind.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
This is a superb film, and a brilliant directorial effort from Dominic Brunt, clearly a man of many talents and tremendous potential. The acting between Brunt and his wife Joanne Mitchell is deeply saddening and sensitive in their roles of a couple whose relationship is disintegrating (perhaps the fact they are married in real life adds that intimacy to an exquisite performance by both of them). Then of course we have - zombies!! Although the landscape is not swarming with zombies, when they do appear, this makes for some very scary moments set against the tranquility and beauty of the film's Yorkshire location. There is enough juicy, bloody, gore to satisfy diehard zombie lovers without the film descending into a parody of zombie films. This is actually a film which maintains its integrity throughout, and is as much a classic as Siege of the Dead and La Horde, which themselves are great examples of the European zombie movie genre. Dominic Brunt is an incredible talent, both as an actor and director. I look forward to his next film.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
Absolute Pants. I would have done a better job myself. They must of forgot to use the sound mic for this appalling film,not only that but the acting and cinematography was also appalling. I watched this for 50 minutes and had enough. Don't be fooled by the five star reviews, they are lying,there isn't nothing good about this film at all.

Paddy, please just stick to being a vet in Emmerdale.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
...i just had to laugh! The scene in question is hilarious! I just couldn't take this film seriously. I appreciate that the makers must've put a lot of effort into it, but it didn't do it for me, so can't recommend. Surely the whole "infected" population/28 days later plot has been done to death by now anyway, and nothing has topped the original classic!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
Paddy needs to stick to fixing animals for a living in the quiet village of Emmerdale! Read alot of positive things about this film but found it slow, dull and non eventful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
I don't like them either. But I saw this one in Hebden Bridge becuase it was locally filmed. Beautifully shot and absolutely gripping. Loved every minute and had a real twist at the end. I've been so looking forward to it coming out on DVD. One of those films that stays with you for days afterwards. Brilliant acting and great story line. Some great one liners.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
I absolutely love zombie films and this latest offering from Dominic Brunt and Joanne Mitchell was superb. It was showing at FrightFest last year and I missed it so couldn't wait for the DVD (which came out today). Great story, fantastic makeup and effects and a really tense atmospheric feeling throughout the whole film. Film also stars Nicky Evans who plays Shane Maguire in Shameless.

Loved the film and I will watch it again. So great to see a small production being so good.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
Not a bad horror but very slow to get going, and the acting is a bit wooden and awkward at times.

Low budget zombie horror about a couple who decide to retreat into the English countryside to rekindle their relationship. A very small cast, which initially focuses on the couple and their problems before the zombies hit. Slow yet the tension builds, and the ending is very haunting.

I would persevere with this, as I thought the ending was pretty good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Just another boring, dull, blood fest Zombie film with the same old plot and scares but worse than most that have been made. The money spent on this, which was probably a small amount, would have been better spent on tea and cakes.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)