Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive playlist - Elton John Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
134
3.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2015
"Thank you for supporting the British film industry" they tell you at the beginning of the DVD. You must be joking......
There is absolutely no reason for this film to exist.

So back we go to Rettendon. Where? Wake up at the back, this is the Essex village outside Chelmsford rendered 'infamous' by the Range Rover killings of December 1995. Police discovered three corpses riddled with shot-gun bullets. Weep not. The dead were Tony Tucker, Pat Tate and Craig Rolfe, an unsavory trio, big in the Basildon area, branching out from night club security into drug running and all-round thuggery, lovingly documented here. Convicted killers were Mickey Steele and Jack Whomes, alleged rivals from the criminal fraternity, whose families still proclaim their innocence. And don't forget Darrel Nicholls , employed as a a driver on the fateful night, but who wasn't involved, later becoming a police informer, leav ing the area, changing his name etc....The events have inspired books, documentaries, conspiracy theories and some of the worst films of this century or any other.

Read the credits, fear the worst. The script comes from Stephen Reynolds, who later hit new depths with the Danny Dyer kill fest Vendetta. Directing is one Paul Tanter, of the underwhelming 'Jack' trilogy and the Rise and Fall of a White Collar Hooligan. The heart sinks as White Collar star Nick Nevern gets us off with a sub-Dyer voieover promising grim and gritty lessons. But Nevern's acting is no worse than that of Jay Brown. Peter Barrett and Simon Phillips, awesomely bad as Tony, Pat and Craig. No surprise, the script is liberally sprinkled with the 'f and c' words, but to no great effect. It's all night club punch-ups, drugs deals gone sour, arms deals and lap-dancing. Kierston Wareing has been round the block with the Rettendon boys before and bafflingly come back for more as the love interest, forsaking Pat for Mickey, not good for team morale. Robert Cavanah, who plays Mickey, has played MacBeth in the past. His Mickey is meant to be King of North Sea drugs runs, with a little carpentry on the side, but not to be crossed.

Tanter throws in a bloody drugs heist in Amsterdam into the mix and some none-too-subtle Leah Betts references (teenager allegedly killed by too much Ecstacy). We also get a sub-David Tennant Scottish cop (were the 'filth' involved in all this?) for added interest, Ewan Ross, once a counter-terrorism expert in real life. Ross at least looks bored and embarrassed. So should everyone else. This is awful stuff.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
thought this was going to be an east end gangster type film but I was disappointed but saying that I watched it all the way through - it was watchable and at times exciting but It wasnt as exciting as I had hoped. Wouldnt watch it again
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
This is an utterly dreadful film but I knew that before I bought it. One to laugh at...the funniest aspect is the voice over narration. Every word is barked at full volume all the way through. It’s like a mockney version of the Cillit Bang bloke. He even narrates over scenes telling us what's happening instead of just letting the scene play out. Rise of the Foot Soldier is also guilty of this. ROTFS is however a very entertaining bad film. This one is only entertaining if you look at is as a Zucker Brothers take on Brit Gangster flicks. The best bit is the copper (who has a fine selection of fashionable weathered leather jackets and the troubled demeanour of Jack Cloth) asking the armed response team driver if they can 'go any faster' whilst racing to save an undercover officer. Brilliant stuff!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
So this is the fourth movie about the Range rover,(not Land Rover) and the shootings, and its the worst one yet.

Essex Boys was bad but had Sean Bean in it, Bonded By Blood was also bad, but you really can't hate anything with Tamar Hassan in it, and Rise Of The Foot Soldier was surprisingly watchable.

This though is really the lowest of the low, it's beyond Rancid Aluminium bad, and the acting is appalling.

I thought it was going to be just another cockney, sweary, Danny Dyer type movie, which I can tolerate, but as soon as the narrator sounded like someone from an episode of Top Gear, I knew it wasn't going to be 'tasty'.

For starters, the cast are the most pathetic depiction of 'Mockneys' I have ever seen, its as if every other word begins with C and has four letters, and anybody they do not know gets a lot of abuse for no good reason.

So all in all, it's just another excuse for lads to swear and drink beer and just be totally wrong about facts and disrespectful to the dead.

RIP Leah Betts.
22 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
AVOID!!! This is one of the worst films i have watched. The acting is a joke, i don't think it's even acting just a bunch of mugs being themselves!!

Hoping to cash in on story thats been covered many time's already.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
absolute pile of rubbish dont waste your money all the other versions are better than this its a cheep version
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
I should have listened to all the other reviews & not bothered, even though it was on £3 (there is a reason for this) crap acting & dodgy accents for a start. It adds nothing to the story than the other 2x films (Essex Boys & Footsoldier) other than the conspiracy theory that the Police had something to do with the murders. This seems just to far out to me. Essex, mid 90's, the plod killing gangsters... Anyways, take my advice & don't bother, it's total tosh!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
A truly dreadful film. The casting is embarrassing to anyone even remotely familiar with the story and it's main characters. The 'true story' promised is full of holes, the over the film narrative is a masterclass in Essex 'gangsta' parody and the acting is wooden to the point of comedy. Do not waste your time or your money.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
This is the worst gangland film ever seen it made me angry how rubbish it was. I love rise,eseex boys,the business,outlaw even the blud blud films like adulthood etc. You wont finish the film they didnt
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
This film is terrible on so many levels.The acting is woeful,the dialogue confusing and the accents less convincing than Dick Van Dyke in Mary Poppins! The actors who portray the main characters are about as gangster as the Anthill Mob and lack any hint of malice as seen in previous films made about the Rettendon murders.Avoid!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)