Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2013
i bought this cd because i am a big fan of Transglobal Underground. this match up with Fanfara Tirana is simply stunning,The first three tracks are not a taster of whats to come, stick with it its well worth the ride .Transglobal are not the main feature that is left to Fanfara ,ok so the vocals are Albanian i presume (im no expert) but thats ok the vocals do get to you ,the horns on this album are something special. im listening to the title track right now haunting horn intro ,bring in the drums then a shift in style ,is it Middle East /jazz. the pumping sound in the background drives this along . There isnt one bad track and that in my opion is something very rare these days.Add this to your collection you will not be dissapointed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
It may take two or three tracks on first playing this CD to get your ear tuned to the mix of musical forms and structures , but very quickly you become aware of the depth of passion and musicianship and are soon caught up by vibrancy and beauty of what is revealing itself to you. The sleeve notes explain the incredibly rich musical heritage of the region. Fanfara Tirana and TGU have taken that heritage, together with TGU`s existing blend of styles and evolved it to a new level. I would call this a Landmark album because I believe it is.
Every single track seems to reveal more layers every time I listen to them .
I can not praise this album enough just superb ...........
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Joyous, plaintive , innovative. All can be found on this album. I wondered what a Techno dance outfit and an Albanian brass band would sound like and it sounds damn good. The Albanian influence brings a somewhat eastern flavour with swirling repetitions of an almost hypnotic nature punctuated with slick Jazzy runs. The backing being intriguing twisted dubby filtered grooves. All this topped off with masterful poetics and rich vocals.. highly recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
It's been a long time in the making, but the restul is well worth the wait. Fanfara Tirana goes out on a limb, mixing traditional Albanian sounds with groovy beats by Transglobal Underground. The restult is unpredictable and spectacular. This album puts the "world" in World Music and exceeds all expectations with its lively, unique rhythms. It will make you jump out of your seat and dance uncontrollably.

5 out 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
As with all the other TGU albums this has the ability to surprise you each time you hear it. I've listened to it maybe a dozen times so far and keep hearing new things in the mix every time. Fanfara Tirana start you up, startle you up sometimes, and merge into and out of the flowing grooves that you think you have heard before but never quite like this. Smooth chocolate clarinet tops the delights - more please!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
Excellent hectic eclectic mix of dance beats and Balkan brass/wind band madness.
If you get the chance to see TGU live-go!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
best album in a long while, ok its easily accessable but theres nothing wrong with that. love to see a live show
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
good fun ,clever combination
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
Transglobal Underground seem to have existed longer than the Jubilee line but can still throw you for a loop (or a beat). For this CD they team up with the Albanian Military brass brand. It's a bit "gypsy wedding"/Gogol Bordello in some parts but that's no bad thing and it certainly engages the limbs and synapses. Particularly like No Guns To The Wedding which goes ragga/reggae in parts (to my ears).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£8.24
£10.98
£2.98
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)