Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 28 September 2017
Very well written, not overly academic, it makes an interesting and informative account of some well known, and some not so well known historical events. As the subject is so huge it doesn't dwell long on each chapter, but sets out in a logical way how events are directly or indirectly linked and allows reflection on history's great successes and disasters and how this has influenced modern times. It is now a little dated as recent political and natural events are changing the order of things at such a rapid pace. But history is not static, it is dynamic, and as soon as the historian puts his pen down, another chapter begins. And so on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2017
Great book. It is a fascinating read. If you have always been interested in reading and are looking for an area to investigate further this is a great book, as a result of its' descriptions of various era's I didn't know much about I have bought several other books to learn more about them.
Well written, and I highly advise it.
Obviously what should or should not have been included is a controversial topic but I didn't want to stray into that, obviously things had to be cut to fit in one book and one could have many opinions as to which parts of history deserve the most attention.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
OMG - I wish he had been my history teacher - where was Andrew Marr when I needed him!

The author, so well known for his political interviews, takes a side step to become an enthusiastic story teller who should inspire generations of people to question what they think they know about even the times that they have just lived through. A fascinating delve into history that shows world events, how these have been portrayed in history lessons and in the media, and why they still resonate in the modern world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
I'm about half way through and flagging a little. I don't care that much about Genghis Khan. But the early chapters were brilliant - a new and thought provoking idea on every page - well, new to me at an rate. I'm confident that the later chapters will be equally well-written and informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Lots of good information, well researched and presented. All the expected historical characters, and some unexpected, but well discussed and structured. Love the fact it's not any region centric, and covers all regions of the world. At points it does get a bit "preachey" where Mr Marr pushes his views on things like climate change (I agree with him, but just feel he lays it on thick). Interesting views at the end about the evolution of governance. Well worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Solid, if rudimentary, introduction to history. Of necessity can only be a light skimming through centuries of human development (?) but probably as good as any single, quite short book could be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Interesting and informative. I have not reached the end yet but would recommend the book on the approximately 3/4 I have read so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2017
A mammoth read and a huge book, not to be read from cover to cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
I normally give Andrew 5star rating but I found this rather boring. to much detail
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
I chose 5 stars for the easy to understand way it was written.
More should have been written on democracy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)