Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 1 September 2015
Exciting and engrossing story
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2015
I have just read another's review that basically says "a good book but it gets a bit repetitive". I would say that pretty much sums it up. I have not read a book by this author before and enjoyed the read. You can tell he's coming at it from a positive and respectful angle, and there is always merit in trying to get the "real version" out there to redress the balance after negative press formed on half (if that) of the story. This must be very frustrating for those either involved or connected to those involved, who are sworn to silence or forbidden from trying to defend themselves or their loved ones. At least from this angle, the book is something I appreciate

Having read all of the main texts on the Bravo Two Zero debacle, I would have liked this book to have explored more of the similarities in failure. At one point in the book Lewis says that lessons were learned from Bravo Two Zero, but after reading the book it hardly seems the case, save for the use of vehicles and the issue of cold weather clothing. The incredible intelligence failures could have been explored more...or perhaps Lewis didn't want to turn it into an analysis of where it all went wrong. For me, the book could have benefitted from an in depth post script covering the post mortem that must surely have taken place. In a way the almost unbelievable repeat of such a clusterf*** was the really interesting story, and that was not investigated.

The action is repetitive. Ok that might be how it happened, but somehow it became frustrating to read. It would probably transfer to screen better than it does on paper.

The book is a good read if you appreciate stories about human spirit, and the incredible will to survive. It is hard to read without thinking how you might cope yourself in such a situation, and realising you wouldn't at all. You leave the book with a great respect for everybody involved (except for those behind the desks who dreamed it up)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2013
Zero 6 Bravo awesome book about a capture and hold mission behind enemy lines that could have made Gulf War 1 so much quicker. Just goes to show the value of Humint over Elint. The descriptions are brilliant and all power too the guys that pulled it off and got back.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2014
What a gripping read this was. A hell of a task in the first place, their job was made all the harder due to the usual mistakes and so on from the so-called 'Intelligence' people. Despite their difficulties, they overcame their problems and gained success in their hurried departure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2015
An explosive action packed account of a secret operation carried out behind enemy lines in Iraq, having served in the Iraq conflict myself I find this type of account thoroughly awe inspiring.

Any who is interested in modern history this is worth a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2016
Really interesting read about the SAS and how they get into situations and get out against very superior forces.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2017
A very interesting account of a real life special forces mission during the second Iraq war. Brilliantly written and a proper eye opener.

Also clearly highlights the skill and expertise of our special forces - we are blessed to have such brave and courageous people defending our country and our rights.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2017
A great read ,thoroughly enjoyed it. Brought home the harsh reality of what the armed forces have to face. Huge respect for them and for the way Damien Lewis wrote this account.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2017
A fascinating insight into the activities of our Special Forces. Given a ludicrously impossible task, they gave it their all. I won't spoil it by revealing too much. Well written, I found it difficult to put down. Anyone with a vague interest in the SAS should read this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2017
Brutal and honest account of a doomed mission in Gulf War 2. Well worth a read recommended . Luck shines on them
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)