Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



on 23 June 2014
Season 5 of Californication has been the most enjoyable of the series so far. The characters seem to be coming into their own, especially Hank Moody. Although Charlie is turning out to be very funny indeed. The fact that Beca's boyfriend seems to be a mirror image of a younger Hank lends itself brilliantly to the growing up of Hank Moody. Looking forward to season 6.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Any Californication fans in dispare that C5 US are not showing season five well dont worry. Go to www.amazon.de and do your own import for just over 18.00 euros inc shipping, which is a bargain compared to this UK price.

The only difference is that the packaging and sleeve notes are in German. This region two DVD set supplied by Amazon proper defaults to english language when 'play' is pressed and subtitles can also be selected in English if necessary.

I'm on episode six and its all good so far apart from overt use of the 'C' word in episode one.. so be warned.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
The first few series were great, but personally I wouldn't bother with S5 if I were you; hank's best days are behind him
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 June 2013
My last review went astray so here goes again...

S.5 moves the story on a bit from the sunset of S.4 and that's all to the good. This time Hank has a crazy/cool rapper as his new wingman and potential executioner, more love rivals for the affections of his dearest (no longer nearest) and a bunny-boiler on his back. However, rather than being the misunderstood sinner, old Hanky is now more of a referee, a voice of reason, whilst still prone to the occasional ear-bashing.

Charlie, Marcy and their circle remain as horny as ever, but Charlie has become a real scene-stealer, a weeping willie of a man. Cool scenes include the ride along bj, the dinner party conversation of inappropriate frankness, the swimming pool scene and the flashback episode to Karen and Hank's house-hunting in LA.

What doesn't work - not for the first time - is the end of season reversal which is too stupid for words. A'ight!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
Arrived quick. Was glad to find 3 extra season of this great show after C5 stopped airing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Ordered this off Amazon Germany as I had been waiting to see this season for awhile - dissapointed 5* stopped showing it.

Even into its fifth season with the same cast and basically the same storylines, Californication somehow remains fresh and funny. This season introduces Wu Tang producer RZA as Samurai Apocolaypse (this seasons Lew Ashby) Samurai and Runkle provide most of the comedy aginst the continually bleak situation that is Hank's personal life. There is also a welcome return for Bates from season two or three (I can't remember) who is brilliant as Karen's new squeeze.

If you liked the first three seasons you'll definitely like this. A welcome return to form after the largely stale fourth season.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
After the rather weak and moral one trick pony series 4 , its nice to see that hank is back [ cant say the same about his hair do !] and that we still have a proper adult tv comedy , with all the ott jokes and the sex . I think its the Runckles that really have my attention now , they are so sharp , witty and just bounce off one another . Not every episode is sharp and I really could not take to RZA , he may have street as a rapper , but he really cant act along side such smooth operators . A very clever ending too , now I just cant wait for series 6 . Channel 5 who are chicken for not continuing to show this showtime treat .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
californication has finish now, such a shame, brilliant series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
The fifth season had a lot to live up to, especially as we've been waiting for it in GREAT BRITAIN for a long time, but as it turned out it was well worth waiting for and very enjoyable, some brilliant scenes and classic stories. Thank you Show time, and cast.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
back on track after dire season 4
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)