Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
811
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2010
This review is for the Blu-ray. It's hard to say anything about this film that hasn't been said before. A gripping tale of humanity, hope and ultimately redemption in the most unlikely of circumstances. Well into my top dozen or so films- I must admit to being a sucker for happy endings! Suffice to say that if you haven't seen it then you need to. Morgan Freeman was absolutely amazing, in both his acting and his voiceover.

The Bluray comes packaged in a narrow bluray case, which doesn't bother me. In fact I could maybe be doing with more of them to save shelf space. For the record my one was sealed. Picture Quality was extremely good and certainly added to my enjoyment of the film. There was a little grain, but the picture was very clean, and if anything the grain added to the realism in many of the prison scenes. Colours were very good, with a lot of blues and dark scenes that worked very well. Watch out for a scene towards the end with Andy standing in the rain. HD definitely brought something new to what was already a great film,and definitely added to my enjoyment of it. Ratio is 1.78:1 so it fills the screen on a widescreen TV, without stretching the picture.

Sound is much more limited, in the UK version, with Dolby digital 5.1 being the top offering. I understand the US version has a True HD soundtrack, so if that is important to you then you might consider looking for an import on Amazon.

All-in-all it was a great viewing experience though, that held my family spellbound for its whole length of over two hours. Definitely 5 stars in my book.
33 comments| 97 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2000
This is easily the best of the Steven King based films, even surpassing "The Green Mile", "The Shining" and "Carrie". That alone is merit enough to buy this brilliant film. The cast is topped by Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman, two of the best actors of their generations. This story revolves around Andy Dufresne (Robbins) and his wrongful conviction of murder and the following ordeal behind the walls of Shawshank Prison. This is a powerful emotionally charged piece of cinematic history and well deserves a place in any video collection.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2001
Frank Darabonts suberb prison drama adapted from a Stephen King story gets everything right. The story will keep you hooked right from the start with great moments of tension and a great twist at the end. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman both give their best preformances ever. I defy anyone not to feel good after this film.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
Version: Japan, U.S.A / Warner / Region A, B, C
Aspect ratio: 1.78:1
VC-1 BD-50 / Advanced Profile 3
Running time: 2:22:33
Movie size: 23,56 GB
Disc size: 31,88 GB
Average video bit rate: 16.42 Mbps
Number of chapters: 40
Subtitles: English SDH / Chinese / French / Japanese / Korean / Portuguese / Spanish

Dolby TrueHD Audio English 1423 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 16-bit / 1423kbps (AC3 Core: 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps)
Dolby Digital Audio English 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio English 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Audio French 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Japanese 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Spanish 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps

#Commentary by writer/director Frank Darabont
#2 Documentaries: Hope Springs Eternal: A Look Back at The Shawshank Redemption, Shawshank: The Redeeming Feature
#The Charlie Rose Show segment featuring Darabont, Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman
#Comic Spoof of The Shawshank Redemption
#Stills and Collectibles Galleries
#Theatrical Trailer (HD)

*************************************************************

Version: U.K / Region A, B, C
Aspect ratio: 1.78:1
MPEG-4 AVC BD-50 / High Profile 4.1
Running time: 2:22:32
Movie size: 30,44 GB
Disc size: 42,58 GB
Average video bit rate: 25.98 Mbps
Number of chapters: 12
Subtitles: English

Dolby Digital Audio English 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio English 256 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 256kbps
Dolby Digital Audio English 224 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 224kbps

Extras: PAL-SD

#Commentary by Frank Darabont
#Hope Springs Eternal: A look back at the Shawshank Redemption (31m:00s)
#Shawshank: The Redeeming Feature (48m:00s)
#The Charlie Rose Show with Frank Darabont (42m:19s)
#Cast Interviews - Tim Robbins (27m:21s), Morgan Freeman (20m:54s), Bob Gunton (37m:45s), William Saddler (32m:24s), Clancy Brown (15m:41s)
#Stills Gallery
#Shawshank Storyboards
#Original on Location Footage
#Original Theatrical Trailer
#New Theatrical Trailer
55 comments| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
I saw this film recently for the very first time and I think it is excellent. I have seen quite a number of "recent" films that Morgan Freeman has been in and so it was interesting to see one of his earlier ones. The whole cast and production were at the top of their game and it was a fine example of brilliant cinema. It was also extremely well written and although the violence was not excessive it was necessary as it showed the brutality of prison life. It was a rare treat to see James Whitmore who I remember watching him in Gunsmoke.
I am glad I have seen it and I urge you to add it to your library because this calibre of film deserves to be there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 9 September 2013
One of those films that just keeps getting better
every time you see it.

Everyone should see this. Unusually for a film about two men, it's about friendship, and platonic love.

Set in Shawshank Prison, Andy and Red spend twenty years in each other's company. Based on a slight novella by Stephen King, this is one film that I think outclasses the source material.

Incarcerated for murdering his wife and her lover, Andy Dufresne struggles quietly to cope with life in prison, watched by Red, another long-term inmate. Over two decades, the men become friends.

Everything about the film is beautiful. The acting, music, Morgan Freeman's perfectly judged narration.

It's a film you watch every year and know you'll feel the full range of emotions while watching: sadness, pity, anger, hate, and life-affirming joy.

If you've not seen it yet: why not?!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
What can you say about The Shawshank Redemption that hasn't already been said? It must be one of the best loved and indeed greatest films ever made. I do not know anybody that has seen this film that doesn't LOVE it. It really is that superb.
Adapted from Stephen King's novella Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption, it tells the story of Andy Dufresne (Tim Robbins), an outwardly timid man convicted of murdering his wife and her lover and jailed for life. Arriving at Shawshank prison in 1947, Andy becomes the victim of prison brutality in the early part of his stay but he also befriends another lifer, the prison "fixer" named Red (beautifully played by Morgan Freeman) and his buddies. Through his knowledge of taxation and financial transactions he also becomes popular with the prison warden and the guard that runs his brutal regime but Andy also soon realises that in prison life means life and that's what they try to take from him.
This is the most beautiful and ultimately uplifting film you could ever hope to see, whilst recognising the traditional conventions of prison drama (such as brutality and rape), it is really a film that demonstrates that the human spirit can overcome brutality with faith, friendship (and a rock hammer). This is as close to the perfect film as you will ever get. It is perfectly cast from the leads Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins, who give wonderfully understated performances to the supporting cast of Clancy Brown, William Sadler, Bob Gunton and Gil Bellows. It is subtly directed by Frank Darabont who carefully manages to avoid overstatement and oversugaring the cake with sentiment and pathos.
The most amazing thing about this film is that although it was nominated for seven academy awards in 1994 it didn't win any (they were dominated by another great movie, Forrest Gump) and it is described in Leonard Matlin's film guide as "terribly overlong", "hollow and predictable". How wrong could you be? The Shawshank Redemption is a timeless all-time classic that will cast its spell over many people for a long long time to come.
Five stars are often too easily awarded by movie reviewers but this deserves six.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2006
Among my ten most favorite movies of all times. I must have seen it about five or six times, and got more and more enjoyment with each viewing. Undoubtedly, "Shawshank Redemption" is a nonpareil piece of cinema on all counts: impeccable cinematography, wonderful story-telling, brilliant casting and flawless directing.

The movie is about life, hope, freedom and friendship. Blending the masterful acting skills of Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman, Frank Darabont blends empathy with brutal physical and emotional violence to the best possible effects. The chemistry and bond between Robbins and Freeman is unforgettable.

I recommend everyone who has not seen this to grab it ASAP. This 3-disc edition is really amazing with superb picture and sound quality with lavish extras which are particularly well made and thoughtful, and considerably enrich the viewing experience.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Shawshank Redemption has to be the best film ever made(for me and everyone I know) plus its a film you never get bored of watching, and for the life of me how this film never one best Oscar is beyond belief, but then again the Oscars rarely get it right. But still this is a wonderful film and Morgan Freeman plus Tim Robbins best performance to date.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 May 2006
The Shawshank Redemption is one of my all time favourite films. Based on a Stephen King short story, it follows the story of one man who is convicted of murdering his wife and her lover. The film follows him through the many years he spends in prison and the people he meets.

A heart-warming story with a fantastic ending. A film everyone should watch at least once
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)