Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
236
4.6 out of 5 stars
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 July 2017
Great album i love it!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
well it is Madness
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2017
A freshness that defies and denies their age - a magically good album. I am loving it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
Great album, great band, need i say more :-)
Love every single song.
Every Madness fan should have this, its a must !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
The boys are back & brilliant as ever. What more can you say they are still delivering good catchy magical tunes over 30 years since they started.
CD starts off with the My Girl 2 which grows on you more & more every time you here it & ends on a heavy Ska beat of Death of a Rude boy (if you do not include bonus tracks). If you are an old fan or new to Madness do get this CD you will not be disappointed with it. Also if you get the chance go & see them live it is a great happy fun filled experience not to be missed for fans of all ages & if not a fan you will by the end of a concert.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 October 2012
Following the truly magnificent `Liberty Of Norton Folgate', I have been eagerly awaiting the next release from Madness, and finally! Here it is.

With their last few releases they have constantly confounded my expectations by taking new directions. There were the excellent covers on `The Dangerman Sessions Vol 1'. Then, when I was expecting Vol 2 to be released, with more of the same, they released the mighty aforementioned `Liberty', a grand concept album that just blew me away. For their latest release they seem to have changed tack again, and recorded a stunning set of songs full of introspection and looking back over their musical career, while still containing the energy, humour and distinctive 2 tone nutty sound they made famous.

The album opens with `My Girl 2', a sequel to one of their best known early hits. But now instead of a relationship with his girlfriend, the singer is older, wiser, and talking about a relationship with his daughter. And so it goes, with song after song that seem very personal to members of the band, but are accessible and great to listen to. My personal favourite after a listen or two is `Death of a Rude Boy', which sounds very much like a tribute to Ian Dury (not the first Suggs has recorded - the excellent `Oranges and Lemons' on Jools Holland and Friends was also a tribute to Dury).

The band were on form in the recording studio, after all these years working together they are a seamless unit, each knowing just what is required. They get right into the groove, and deliver just what they have always delivered, a damn fine set of get you up and dancing songs with wit and vigour. An excellent album, and one that will be looked on as one of their better recordings, a bright burning light even in the shadow of their previous release.

5 stars, and long may they continue!
11 Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
It's always been hard to pin down Madness' music style, which is one reason they are so interesting. Broadly speaking I feel their music falls into four categories, all of which are evenly demonstrated on Oui oui, si si, ja ja, da da.

Style 1: Fast Rocksteady, often knees-up party pieces. More typical of early material with songs such as One Step Beyond and Baggy Trousers.
Style 2: Slower heavily ska-rooted. Features all through their career with tracks such as Grey Day and Forever Young from The Liberty of Norton Folgate.
Style 3: Upbeat nutty, ska influenced. Very much a trademark sound across many albums and typified by The Sun & The Rain from 1983 and NW5 from 2008
Style 4: Slower and sublime. A more hit and miss category which when they get it right has produced some of their greatest songs, such as It Must Be Love and One Better Day.

As I like all four styles this album is easy for me to give 4-stars to. If you prefer one or more styles over the others, it's a question of allowing some of the tracks to grow on you a bit.

Here's how the tracks break down by style

Style 1: Misery will certainly have the crowds bouncing at the up and coming tour. Reminiscent of the song Madness this is trademark Music Hall and just great fun. And the break to Beethoven's 5th Symphony in the middle made me chuckle a bit and shows an appreciation of classical music that started with Swan Lake on One Step Beyond.

So Alive and Black and Blue are both energetic and instantly danceable. Musically aligned with the album Madness 7 they tell the stories of middle-aged men in typically witty Madness style.

Style 2: Three songs in a row take this route. When Madness use violins, it always adds dimension. And La Luna has this in buckets; a beautifully laid back track with brass sections support.

How Can I Tell You is a reminiscing father to daughter advice song that starts with a reggae-like verse but migrates to a catchy chorus, with delightful rhyming couplets. Kitchen Floor is a slightly creepy track about a man's dithering sexual relationship with his wife.

Then there is Death of a Rude Boy, that takes a lot of influence from their 2-Tone counterparts The Specials showing that Madness can still create new material heavily rooted in serious ska.

Style 3: My Girl 2 is a glorious sequel to the 1980 original. Unusually dominated by Hammond-organ sounds of the 60s, there are two versions of this. The first reminds me of Green Onions by Booker T and the MGs. The slower second version and last track on the album has an amazing Doors sounding keyboard solo in the middle.

Never Knew Your Name has a touch of sublime in it too. It contains clever string and brass arrangements telling the story of a man looking back at a missed opportunity to find love, he seems to regret.

Then there is the simply brilliant Leon. Very similar to That Close from the previous album, this track has shades of Sunny Afternoon by The Kinks. I was surprised and delighted to see it is written by drummer Daniel Woodgate and his brother Nick. Whilst Woody has not been one of the most prolific writers over the years he has made a fantastic contribution this time around, writing three of the tracks.

Style 4: As they are less influenced by ska these tracks do take more time to come accustomed too. For me, Powder Blue is a beautiful song and the most sophisticated on the album. There are some quite complex chord patterns towards the end here, flying in the face of the usual simpler, catchy ones. Circus Freaks and Small World are trickier to pinpoint and the only two fillers for me.

Whilst a lot of these songs' subjects might seem a little negative and depressing, the album no way comes across as such. Indeed, the whole album is a quite humorous observation of the Madness lifestage, offset against the irony of mostly joyous sounds.

So overall an excellent set, which benefits from different members all contributing their own essence to the varying styles of the group. Whilst not quite up there with of the masterpiece that was The Liberty of Norton Folgate, Oui Oui, Si Si, Ja Ja, Da Da is a fantastic addition to the Madness catalogue that will be hard for them to better next time out.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
A fantastic release, accompanied by a marvellous tour (they played a set of 23 songs in Dusseldorf, Germany last week) and showing that the band isn`t running out of ideas even after more than 30 years in the music business. Compared to 'Liberty' they sound slightly fresher and more uptempo than before, grabbing the listener's attention with a timeless and grooving 'My girl 2' and finally leading to the classy earcatcher 'Death of a rude boy' with a snappy bassline that can be listened to again and again without getting boring. 'Oui Oui ...' is definitley a highlight, containing a fine mixture of ska, pop and rocksteady tunes which are a hallmark of excellence in this music genre for years to come. My personal favourites beside the aforementioned 'My girl 2' and 'Death of ...' are 'La Luna' and 'Kitchen floor'. Highly entertaining stuff where I'd simply say "YES" to a purchase!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
what can i say about this album apart from its very good and stays true to the nutty boys sound
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2016
Dismal follow up to the mighty TLONF - Why on earth did they release the trashy My Girl 2 as a single when they had Never Knew Your Name as the better choice? But, most disturbing, there's a whole heap of rubbish on here - Misery, Kitchen Floor, How Can I Tell You etc - it's just so basic after the previous album. Some good stuff like Small World but they really let the quality control go here. Massive disappointment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)