Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2010
I am 81 yrs old and this dvd held me enthralled especially the weightlessness fighting. Certainly one of the best movies 2010.
It is also one of those movies you have to watch several times to catch up on what you missed first time around
0Comment| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 December 2015
Christopher Nolan’s intelligent and complex SF movie is an intriguing heist thriller centred on Leonardo DiCaprio’s Dom Cob, a guilt-ridden, disturbed con-man who accepts a corporate espionage contract which, if successful, will enable him to return to his estranged children in the USA. Cob and his fellow criminals operate by infiltrating the subconscious of their victims and while ensconced in a dream-state steal secrets, or in this case plant (incept) an idea for nefarious purposes. This ambitious film challenges us to look beyond the impressive special effects and action sequences, demanding our full attention with its labyrinthine plotting, non-linear narrative, alternate time-frames, false realities and issues of perception, and similar to the director’s other perplexing movie, Memento, it is a film which rewards with each repeat viewing. Definitely a film to watch, probably more than once.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
Well worth a watch, very impressed with the film from start to finish. Be prepared for you mind to spin at the start as a lot of information to take in but I think that added to the depth of the film.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2010
Whoever is reading this knows what Inception is and is probably wanting to buy the film, if they want to read a review then best go to Rotten Tomatoes or IMDB, but I'm here to tell you about "Inception: Limited Edition - Triple Play (Blu-ray & DVD & Digital Copy)".

It comes in a plastic case covering the metal briefcase that is bigger than the briefcase it's self obviously. The briefcase however is lighter than one would expect. Carved into the front is the title of the film and then under that is the clip which you undo to open the briefcase. In front of you after opening it is the Blu-ray box with a holographic slipcase. On the other side is the "Portable Automated Somnacin IntraVenous (PASIV) Device Instruction Manual MV-235A" which tells you how the fictional PASIV Device used in the film works, it's a nice tie-in book. If you take that out then under the book are five art cards that are about the size of a postcard. Two are posters from the film and the other three are stills from the film. Above that is a replica of Cobb's Totem as seen in the film. Underneath it says "INCEPTION" carved into the Totem. Next to the space where the Totem rests in the box are the numbers "528 491", a reference to the film of course. All of the contents are in a hard foam.

If you open up the Blu-Ray box you will see three discs. Two Blu-Rays and one DVD. There is a leaflet inside instructing how to get your version of the Inception Digital Copy. As with most Digital Copies they have an expiry date (05/12/2011, in a years time yesterday). The first disc (Blu-Ray) is disc 1 of 2. It is in black and white and has a birds eye view of a city but with "Inception" written in as if a building itself. The second disc is in colour and shows the Totem spinning on it's side. The third disc (DVD) is black and white too with nice relevent patterns on it.


Special Features (as copied from the back of the box):

Extraction Mode - Infiltrate the Movie's Imaginative Landscape to Learn How Christopher Nolan, Leonardo DeCaprio and the Cast and Crew Designed and Achieved the Film's Signature Moments

Dreams: Cinema of the Subconscious -Can the Dream World Be a Fully Functional Parallel Reality? Joeseph Gordon-Levitt and the Leading Scientists Take You to the Cutting Edge of Dream Research

Inception: The Cobol Job - Comic Prologue in Full Animation and Motion: See the Events That Led to the Beginning of the Movie.

5.1 Soundtrack Selections From Hans Zimmer's Versatile Score.


Main Feature
1080p High Definition (DVD standard definition for the third disc) 16x9 2.4:1 DTS-HD Master Audio: English 5.1 Dolby Digital: Castilian Spanish 5.1, English 5.1 Audio Descriptive Service.

English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Norwegian, Swedish

Special Features
May not be in High Definition. Audio & subtitles may vary.


Final note for people who don't own Blu-Ray players but are buying this boxset for the collector's items: the special features are on the second Blu-ray disc. The DVD disc contains just the film, no special features. So if you are a collector who wants the items as well as special features then I recommend buying this and the 2-Disc DVD edition.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
1818 comments| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 February 2014
This review is for the Blu-Ray version - Amazon have a habit of bunching reviews together over different formats.

This is one film that I was happy to get on blu-ray over DVD. The picture quality is superb, a real show case for HD. Colours are vibrant and edges are sharp, with some grain where there are large patches of one colour, but not that you would really notice as you will be drawn into this film. The sound quality is great coming out of my standard TV speakers, but I can't comment any further as I don't have surround sound or a high end sound system.

Dom Cob (Di Caprio) is a thief, but not the kind that steals physical items or data. He steals information from minds. This is done by drugging the subject and using some hi-tech jiggery pokery he and his team are able to enter the targets mind whilst they sleep. A world is created in the targets mind and Cob must trick the person into giving up secrets whilst they go about their business in the dream. However, some people are aware of this and can take precautions.

What Cob can do is trick them further and create a dream within a dream. All this messing around in the mind is not without its dangers and if Dom and his team are not careful, they can get locked in forever. Pretty soon you begin to wonder if your life is real, or are you living in a dream world.

A very thought provoking film that may take a few viewings to get you mind around the time dilations that take place when 'going under'
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I cannot believe it has taken me this long to get round to watching Inception I finally succumbed to the hype and can confirm that it was 100% deserved. Inception is a cleverly crafted film that will blow you away with its star studded (and very talented) cast, stunning CGI and mind boggling plot.

A whole host of famous actors star in Inception from Leonardo do Caprio to Tom Hardy to Joseph Gordon-Levitt to Ellen Page. I don't think I can fault a single move or sound that came from these actors who all gave flawless performances. I cannot pinpoint which character or actor stood out the most to me because they were all equally brilliant. Leonardo di Caprio is probably the actor who got to show the greatest spread of emotion and showcase different sides to his acting as his character is involved in a love story. This story permeates throughout the entire film, though rather strangely, few other characters are involved in it at all. This addition to the story just gave the film a little extra something and added an emotional level to this cool-as-a-cucumber film.

I do not think I have ever seen a film with such stunning CGI effects. Hats off to whoever was in control of the effects because they were truly brilliant and breathtaking at times. Inception deals with dreams within dreams (sometimes dreams within dreams within dreams!), in which the subconscious is allowed to create whatever world it desires and the cities created in this film were simply amazing whether it be a modern Western city, a Japanese city or even a ski slope. If only it were possible to fold a city in half with roads replacing the sky. It was not only the CGI used to create the scenery that was impressive, but also the effects used during the action sequences. There were plenty of fights during this movie, most, but not all, involving gunfire and the fluidity of the on screen action was astounding. This is not ordinary action though, in one case there was even a fight when the gravity had been switched off and ceiling became floor and vice versa multiple times. It was just so ... cool! James Bond has nothing on these guys.

Alongside the brilliant CGI effects there was really great cinematography. Now I don't really know anything about filming or the technical side of film-making but it's impossible not to notice the fluidity between shots and the capturing of perfect angles. There's also a really great soundtrack which just gives this film that extra umpf and makes everything more dramatic and tense. This film will not only play with your mind, but also your senses as you're assaulting by an array of brilliant sights and sounds.

All in all, Inception is undoubtedly one of the best films of the decade and I don't think I can fault it in anyway. I rarely give 5 star ratings, but Inception truly deserves it. This is a must see film for everyone that will keep you entertained for every second.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2016
Great film . Exciting , meaningful and superb special effects . This film has depth its not just an action packed special effects ride , its about one mans search for redemption and coming to terms with his grief . Leonardo DiCaprio is wonderful in this with a great supporting cast .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2011
OK this is a fantastic film, brilliantly conceived and executed, but anyone buying the film on blu-ray is likely to have seen it before and know what they are getting. This review is more concerned with the triple play format itself.

So, you get a nice blu-ray with all the normal bells and whistles that this brings and also a DVD copy if like most people, you don't yet have blu-ray players dotted about the house. My understanding was that this pack also included a third copy, in digital format, that could be transferred to a mobile device such as a smart phone or ipod to watch on the move. Being quite a long and very involved film, I thought this would be ideal for me to put on my phone and watch whenever I got the opportunity. I was very, very wrong.

Firstly, there is no digital copy in the pack, you have to download it using the code you are given. Secondly, you have a choice of two formats to download in, either ipod/iphone compatible or in good old fashioned windows media. If you make the mistake that I did and download the wrong one I am afraid it's bad luck because the code is only valid for one download. If you do choose the right one, which as it turns out I actually did, you may find that it does not play on your device due to the highly restrictive digital rights management built into the file. The DRM also accounts for the biggest single problem with these triple packs, the DRM protected file is only valid for 4 months from the original release date of the film, that means that four months after the film becomes available to buy, you can no longer watch the digital version, it will not play on any device, at all, ever again. If you buy the film 4 months and a day it is released, tough, won't work, so don't bother.

I honestly do not see the point of this at all, the film industry wants to cut out illegal copying and so giving people the opportunity to own a legitimate copy in the first place would appear to be the ideal solution, but if that copy only works temporarily (if at all!) then it really is not worth it, in fact it seems to be just another way of the adding a few quid on to the price tag.

These restrictions apparently apply to all of Warner Brothers films, not sure about any other company's films as this one has put me off the idea for life. So if you want a digital copy of your film there are other ways to get it, without the DRM restrictions.

Buy the film and you will love it, but save yourself a few quid and just get the normal Blu-ray.
88 comments| 96 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
What a film this is..easily one Chris Nolans best if not the best .hard to describe what it's reminded me of the Matrix ..definetly one you need your thinking head on for otherwise you'll wonder what the hell it's about...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2016
I guess the film could be heavily compared to The Matrix in many ways (similar ideas) and its probably more about "the journey" than the end result. But the effects are inventive and clever, and the Hans Zimmer's soundtrack is one of the best ever. I liked the casting, but the fact that half of them were in Batman is a bit distracting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse