Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2016
Is it a bird, is it a plane... no - It's that guy who was in Stardust. Except now Henry Cavill has super powers! Oh, yes - he has a Ghost dad that looks a lot like a Gladiator. Lois Lane looks suspiciously like that fairytale princess from that cool live action Disney movie (You know the one!) minus the singing and helpful wildlife. There's also a wanton disregard for life, property and insurance premiums.

Blessedly this time around, they skip the whole Clark Kent growing up and discovering his powers thing and just have a few brief flashbacks. Instead this time around it's straight to Superman v's Zod and his minions.

An action packed thrill ride of a story that everyone already knows. But you don't watch Superman movies to find out what happens - you watch them for the special FX and the journey to the climactic end.

This is an OK superhero movie by the standards of the last few decades. But it doesn't shine a light anywhere near as big as the Marvel Cinematic Universe. But then this appears to be the first DC movie to share a continuity - so we'll see how things develop with the next few movies.

(NB: At the time of posting this review, I haven't yet seen Batman v's Superman. I've heard the... ahem - reviews. But I haven't yet seen it myself.)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
Nice film and one for the kids (like me!) This is not a re-make of the Christopher Reeve Supermans' and the part played by Henry Cavill is outstanding. The special effects are excellent on my bluray tv and the depth of sound is well balanced ( unlike some films I have reviewed here), the base and treble are correct for the sound level and have been recorded correctly giving an overall pleasing effect. A well constructed storyline with more to follow I suspect!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
After the successful re-invention of Batman(as the Dark Knight)and the naively old school(but ultimately pointless)Superman Returns,a lot was expected of this movie.Don't get me wrong,it's much improved and does bring our favourite cape wearing crusader into a modern age where the new generation expect their heros to be flawed and moody,but the old adage 'less is more' springs to mind.The jarring contrast between the first half of the film(which strikes a nice balance of being both sombre and exciting) and the second half where the epic(showing off)effects kick in and the CGI overload takes over sucks all the heart out of the story.The second half of the movie quickly starts to pummel your senses,until the final battle at the end is so drawn out and over the top it actually becomes boring and you can't wait for it to end.Super hero and Sci Fi fans will get some enjoyment from it but it does end up feeling like a bit of a lost opportunity.A shame.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016

It should be first pointed out that Man Of Steel is another product of post-conversion. The 1080p MVC 3D picture was converted from native 2D by Legend 3D with stereography by Curus Gladstone and James Prola. Shot with a combination of traditional 35mm film and the Red Epic digital camera system, this latest iteration of the legendary superhero is far more impressive in its native 2D format. This transfer comes with a good deal of depth and dimensionality in various scenes. The action-packed sequences full of CGI spectacle are comparatively the best, as near field objects show great separation from the background and often seem to float in midair. Overall, the post-conversion is nicely done but it lacks the sort of immersive effect we expect from the format. (4/5)


Man of Steel (2D) flies onto blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. This transfer has a thin-layer of grain throughout, providing the movie with an attractive cinematic quality. Facial complexions are very revealing with excellent lifelike textures, and the clothing, especially the Kryptonian outfits, exposes every stitch and thread of the fabric. The gritty cinematography of Amir Mokri favours a stylized and heavily subdued look, giving the film an overcast and somber appeal. In spite of a noticeable toned-down contrast, the picture still yields remarkable clarity and resolution in the far distance, revealing the smallest window or tiniest antenna atop buildings. Black levels are inky and true. Overall, this transfer is top-notch. (5/5)

AUDIO (3D & 2D):

Man of Steel has an incredibly forceful DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 mix. From the start, the movie opens with a wall of sound that doesn't let up until the last of the end credits, filling the screen and the room in general with the music of Hans Zimmer. With a remarkably detailed and sharply extensive mid-range, the listener can enjoy each note and individual instrument within the orchestration. The dynamic design is full of warmth and fidelity, peaking into the upper frequencies with incredible, room-penetrating clarity while still maintaining superb distinction and intelligibility in the dialogue. During action-packed sequences, anything from jets, helicopters, alien spacecrafts and Kryptonians speeding across the sky pan from one speaker to the next with exhilarating realism and flawless movement. Every explosion unloads a surge of gravel, dirt and rock that then rains down all around with amazing clarity and continues to bounce further away. Subtle atmospherics, like leaves blowing in the wind, birds flying overhead or city traffic, are employed to fill in the quieter, dialogue-driven moments. Simply an excellent immersive soundtrack. (5/5)


Man of Steel has an estimated budget of $225 million, but has a worldwide gross of $661 million.


Packaging: I do not appreciate Warner Bros to be so cheap as to stack on the 3D blu ray disc onto of the 2D version. A flipcase housing each disc is not that much more expensive.

Major criticism: Just like Star Trek Into Darkness, where the Special Features were split among different retailers, the same applies to this movie too. Walmart got an exclusive 2 extra featurettes, while Target got 5 extra featurettes, when compared to the version that I bought from Amazon. This is not the fault of Amazon, but the studios’ greed. I am sure that some time in the future, a Super Deluxe Special Collector’s Edition will be released combining all the Special Features.

By the way, this type of Special Feature splitting also happened to Pacific Rim, Iron Man 3, etc. Interestingly, it did not happen to The Hobbit: An Extended Journey – Extended Edition. And I’d bet that it was director Peter Jackson who wisely stopped it from happening.


From a story by Christopher Nolan and David S. Goyer, Man of Steel surprises with its thoughtful reimagining of Superman's origins and the personal challenges he faces in his journey to becoming the iconic hero he's known for being. Director Zack Snyder brings his usual bombastic flair but manages to deliver the sort of comic book adaptation fans love to watch and will hopefully serve as the beginning of a new franchise. I bought the 3D version because I like to collect all the blockbuster 3D movies. Since this 3D is a post-conversion, the 2D version is cheaper and of more value.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Before I start my review I would just like say this steelbook looks brilliant, and for a steelbook collector this would look great in your collection. Now for the film, this film is just awesome, I can not believe how good this film was, I have seen many films in my life including all the other superman films, but this film just blew me away, i just thought it was just wonderful and so gripping up to a point I think this is the best superman film, don't get me wrong I love all the other superman films but this just edges it for me.

Oh the 3D is ok, and the 3D depth looks quality but as per normal there is nothing popping of of your screen, but then again the picture quality and sound is truly amazing, and the 5.1 surround sound is up there with Saving Private Ryan.
review image review image review image review image review image
22 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2016
A re-take of the birth of Superman that holds its own against previous versions by conflating several strands that have previously been employed as individual themes for films.Man of Steel - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
I watched Man of Steel for the first time last night knowing only that it was another Superman movie. So I was surprised when the film began back at the start again with the destruction of Krypton. I quickly realised this is infact a remake of the original Superman film and actually Superman II as well as he has to deal with the bad guys and girl again. So how do they compare? Well, the original films were, and still are, very much loved but after you've seen Man of Steel, you realise the original films are very dated now with what would now be regarded as low budget special effects and quaint behaviour. In contrast, the special effects on this new film are fantastic and the last 30 mins are constant, high impact action. It's much more than a popcorn movie and I enjoyed it from start to finish. My friend and I always rate every film we watch. He gave it 7.5 and I gave it 8 out of 10. So definitely worth adding to your Blu-ray collection!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
I can only really review what I have seen in this film. Whether other people think there are avenues that were not opened up is irrelevant I think... So ..., from what I've seen, this film deserves 5 stars because we finally see Superman express himself in an angry state, something that's never really been done properly before. Christopher Reeve, bless him, you have to admire him for the gentle nature he gave his character and those films also have to be admired. It's good to see this side of Superman, whoever you are, you're bound to get angry if someone poses a threat to your mother, it was a quite a nice surprise to see that happen. The only thing that I think wasn't necessary, was the kiss between Superman and Lois. Traditionally, we get to explore Clark and the kiss comes later, so that felt a little out of place. Overall, I'd happily watch this again! The suit by the way is epic! Superman actually looks like a man, natural but different in his own way, this is evidenced by the upper chest hair you see momentarily when you get a close-up of the big guy!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
It one of the best re-telling of the Superman stories. I think most previous versions do not mention how hard it must have been for the young Clark to understand what he was seeing and doing without 'loosing it'. The rest will be spoilers, so I will leave it you to see the DVD yourself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 April 2016
This is a thoroughly enjoyable super-hero film.

I originally watched it at the cinema (in 3D), and subsequently on Blu-ray (both 2D and 3D). The Blu-ray quality is fantastic (excellent audio and picture). While the 3D version is fun, it doesn't add a great deal. So when I choose to re-watch this film, I opt for the 2D version.

This is a re-boot of the Superman franchise, following the less than financially successful 'Superman Returns' (2006) film. While I enjoyed the 2006 film, which sought in various ways to fit-in with the Christopher Reeve's film-series, I thought that this 2013 movie was superior.

This film seeks to tell the story of Superman's origins ... starting with the destruction of the planet Krypton, the orphaned baby Kal-El arriving on Earth and being raised by the Kent's in Smallville, and Clark Kent's transformation into the Man of Steel. All of this has been done before - both in film and in TV series. So it's difficult to add something fresh and imaginative. Yet the film succeeds in this regard. Rather than draw on the earlier movies (or the TV series), this film is inspired by the wealth of comic books that comprise the 70+ year history of Superman. The 'origin story' has been depicted several times in the comic books, and this film borrows from many of these. In addition, it offers new elements - especially in terms of the 'look' of Krypton, of the various space ships, etc.

The story focuses on Clark Kent, and how he's forced to become a super-hero. While he's been a 'good guy' (saving people), he's never adopted a public persona as a known hero. That is, until General Zod (and a gang of criminals previously imprisoned in the Phantom Zone by Krypton's judicial system) arrives at planet Earth and demands to see Kal-El. The General is a nasty piece of work (just as he was in 'Superman 2'), and decides to re-design the Earth into a new Krypton! And so Clark must save the world ... he becomes Superman, and battles the villainous Kryptonian criminals.

There's mayhem and destruction ... but just enough opportunity for Superman to gain a love interest, in reporter Lois Lane. The great city of Metropolis is ruined, and - finally - it's a battle to the death between Superman and Zod. This all happens as the world watches in awe and fright. Fortunately, Superman is victorious.

This film serves as a starting point for the wider DC movie universe. The first cross-over film is 'Batman Vs Superman: Dawn of Justice' (2016) ... which will, eventually, lead into the Justice League saga. This initial installment is a serious tale, offering a complex Man of Steel. He struggles to accept his 'destiny' as Superman, although he knows it's the right thing to do. This is a super-hero who has such vast abilities - powers he himself is unaware of until he chooses to use them - that he's almost utterly separate and distinct from all other people. Yet he wants to live a normal life. He struggles with inner-demons, with the loss of his home world, and with the death of his adoptive father. But he succeeds in overcoming these, for the good of humankind.

The movie is superbly directed by Zack Snyder. Yet it's not his best work (both '300' and 'Watchmen' are superior). I get the impression that he's not had complete freedom to direct, and was operating within parameters set by Nolan (producer; direct of the 'Dark Knight' trilogy). In my view, Snyder is a superior film-maker as compared to Nolan, and I wish the latter had not been involved.

The acting is done well. I was particularly impressed by Henry Cavill, who not only looks the part (and is more in-keeping with the comic book depiction of Superman than any previous film incarnation), but he portrays the tragic aspects of the Man of Steel excellently. In addition to Cavill, I thought Amy Adams was perfect for the role of investigative reporter Lois Lane (brining both intelligence and beauty to the role). Finally, Zod was brilliantly played by Michael Shannon.

I was also impressed by the music - overall, an excellent sound track. It sought to establish itself in a distinct manner, totally separate from the earlier films. In my view, this music elevated the film to a higher level than might otherwise have been the case.

This is a movie I will re-watch every so often, as it's a good super-hero action film. Yet it's not perfect. I think that the Krypton scenes were rushed, and ought to have been extended. And I think Zod should have interacted more with the people of Earth, clearly establishing his dominance (and thereby creating more of a need for Superman). Nonetheless, it's a very good film. 8 out of 10.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)