Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
1,022
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2015
The film opens up like "Basic" with one man requesting another. A man (Joseph Sikora) is accused of random shootings. The evidence is overwhelmingly against him. In Iraq he was a sniper. Jack Reacher (Tom Cruise) arrives as a brash and cocky individual, a role Tom Cruise has perfected. Jack is elusive. Eventually he takes on the task as the lead investigator for the accused. His lawyer (Rosamund Pike) happens to be the daughter of the prosecutor (Richard Jenkins). As Jack investigates, things are not what they seem which draws us into the story.

Unfortunately the mystery is short lived as clues come too fast. It then resorts to an us vs. them with a car chase scene that lasted way to long for this type of crime drama. The script was otherwise well done. Acting was as we would expect from the cast. Makes for a decent rental. There could be a Jack Reacher sequel, hopefully with some complexity. This is another film shot in Pittsburgh, the Hollywood of the East.

Parental Guide: 1 F-bomb, no sex or nudity. Some spicy language and sexual references.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
Just like when Daniel Craig took on Bond, there was a similar uproar from Jack Reacher fans that Tom Cruise was a million miles away from the character in the books. That maybe so and the physical appearance is certainly very different but he does however capture the angry one man army essence of Jack Reacher. Plus the author Lee Child must have approved as he even has a cameo in the movie. The movie itself is like a violent human version of The Littlest Hobo as Reacher drifts into town, saves the day then drifts back out again, no doubt on his way to find some more helpless strangers to help. It's witty, action packed, keeps up a good pace and well worth seeing. I hope Cruise returns for more of the stories :o)
55 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2016
With not being much of a Tom Cruise fan since all the Scientology made him weird, I'd been avoiding his films but I'm glad my hubby put this on for us to watch one evening. It was full of humour and really gave us a good few much needed laughs. Yeah, so Jack Reacher is supposed to be a tall bloke, and yeah he has a few fight scenes that make you think 'really!', but at the end of the day it's a movie, it's for entertainment and that's exactly what it did. It entertained us. We escaped the daily trials of life with 2 year old toddler twins and a baby for a couple of hours... though the baby did chatter away through some of it I must admit.

We're looking forward to seeing the second one.... probably in a few years if we ever get the time!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2017
I never really rated Tom Cruise as a 'good actor' or one of Hollywoods heavyweights as he always appeared to have his roles tailor made for him.. When I saw him in a series of four films he made, not sequentially but here and there I thought he was quite adaptable and found his movies entertaining and watchable.Jack Reacher, ex-Military, starts to involve himself and make inquiries when a suspect held for multiple murders, drops his name. The suspect remembers little about the crime and the plot thickens and starts to take off once Reacher begins to 'poke his nose' where it doesn't belong - according to the criminals that is.Reacher is a one man fighting machine. The action is pretty-much non stop, and has some good fight scenes and chases. Apart from Cruise there is Dvid Oyelowo, Robert Duvall, Rosamund Pike and Werner Herzog. The Tom Cruise films I personally like are The Firm, Valkyrie, Collateral and A Few Good Men.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
I have read pretty well all of the Jack Reacher novels. An interesting and entertaining character combining with fast moving, never a dull moment action. Not the book I would have chosen to show off Lee Childs abilities as an author but was really pleasantly surprised at how good the film adaptation was done. Tom Cruise did a great job despite being a different physical specimen to that of Jack Reacher in the novels. Hats off to Mr Cruise, great delivery of the action scenes and combined that with some wit which fitted really well into the story line. It`s rare for me to say that I`m looking forward to seeing it again..........soon! Great entertainment!
11 Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having watched this film you puzzle at its conclusion what attracted Cruise to the anti hero of Lee Child's source novel and beg a simple question doesn't Tom Cruise get fed up of playing Tom Cruise? This film is fine at what it does and the words "competent", "passable", "workmanlike" and "solid" spring to mind. It's the sort of film that gets 60% on Rotten Tomatoes and try as much as you like its difficult not to warm to Cruise. The plot centres on one of Child's "Reacher" novels, "One Shot," about what appears to be a clear open-shut case against a urban sniper. The police round up him up after a shooting spree in Pittsburgh with enough evidence to put him in the clink for a lifetime. Sadly just when the D.A. thinks he's getting a signed confession, the sniper is instead scribbling a message: It reads "Get Jack Reacher." The opening scene setting this out is very tense and well handled but throughout there are are echoes of Rambo and the action sequences which are fine as far as they go never really hit the "wow" button. "Jack Reacher" is essentially I Max fodder even though on occasions you sense that a much darker beast could be teased out of Childs novels who in turn is hardly the Shakespeare of crime writers. Perhaps Cruise needs to look to some of the writers of Nordic Noir to give him a fresh approach which revolves around compelling story lines as opposed to knitting together set piece pyrotechnics? As a slice of forgettable escapist entertainment this film ticks all the boxes, as a great film it comes no where near the description.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
I've read all the books and 'yes' in print Jack's a big lad and Tom's only little but I was willing to forgive this piece of anachronistic casting and give this movie a fair go.After all even a below par Reacher novel is still a cut above anything else out there.
So far so good. Starts well, moves along at a brisk pace and when Jack/Tom confronts five thugs in the street, explains to them how the fight is going to go down and then proceeds to take them apart I'm starting to think' Hey, perhaps Tom is Jack Reacher despite the obvious limitations in stature.'
Then the wheels fall off.
There is a 'fight' scene in a bathroom that resembles a 3 stooges sketch with incompetent, comedy henchmen repeatedly hitting each other in a scene that wouldn't be out of place in a Tom and Jerry cartoon. Then there is a perfunctory and yet seemingly endless car chase shoehorned into proceedings before Rosamund Pike turns into a helpless, doe-eyed victim and the true villianous mastermind is revealed as a slightly dilapidated old bloke with no fingers.
Cue some gunplay, a fist fight, some exposition, a metaphorical ride into the sunset and roll the end credits.
This movie was bad in a way that Lee Childs creation didn't deserve and Mr. Cruises height has nothing to do with it. It's all to do with a bad script, poor directing and bland, formulaic, Hollywood-mill production.
11 Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Bought this for my wife who not only loves Tom Cruise but the action movie genre such as Jason Bourne.

Absolutely great move, plenty of action, not sure it's as good as the early Mission Impossibles (personal preference), but loved it regardless.

Definitely recommend for action fans out there, enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
I've read all the Reacher books (I think) and have no great objection to someone of Tom Cruise's size being cast as JR. As far as I am concerned, however, the film didn't do enough to differentiate itself from the many other 'Action movies' already made.

Not enough was made of the calm and brooding menace, and the great powers of deduction. I think that's a combination of the screenplay and direction, as well as the acting. TC can do many things but he certainly couldn't stride manfully about the police station in the early scenes and he couldn't scowl or stare down anyone, as in the scene in the bus depot. The attempt at a 'seven samurai' moment immediately before the car chase was quite poor.

And why have a car chase? That just put the film into similar territory as the Bournes, Bruce Willis and others. I think the time should have been spent developing and illustrating the character, to create something different and play to its strengths. Talking of acting; I thought TC looked quite anxious whilst driving the car - I imagine JR isn't anxious about anything.

I enjoyed the opening scenes, the telling of a story without dialogue. We saw something of the analysis and sleuthing but not really enough. I just think that in the end we had a passable but identikit action movie when there had been a good opportunity to create something better.
77 Comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2016
One of Tom Cruise's best films in my opinion. Reacher is an ex-military cop in a type of vigilante meets equaliser role. Subtle humour and a few good fight scenes. If you like films such as Jason Bourne, Die Hard and obviously Mission Impossible then give this a watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)