Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
61
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2013
In an age of even more disposable "pop stars" playing ever more homogeneous music,
we need this band. Paid their dues, play their instruments adeptly,a wide range of
styles and a massive source of songs. Saw them live recently and they were absolutely
satisfying throughout. Recommended thoroughly.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
It says something about this band that they have been around for 45 years according to the sleeve notes. You can't describe this album as a greatest hits collection but it does give an insight to the diverse range of what Fairport Convention was about. Some of the tracks are particularly good and timeless, 'Meet on the ledge' and 'Si Tu Dois Partir' for example, serious fans and followers of this band will have most if not all of the tracks but this might stimulate interest from new or potential followers?
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
I bought this CD for a quick round up of the best known Sandy Denny tracks and yet I was quickly won over by the excellence of their post Denny material too. Highly recommended and obviously hugely influential and enjoyable music from a great band. If you listen to a lot of later music from artists working in an 'English' idiom it is now obvious to me where they got a lot of their stylings from. Now I'm ready to go out to my local record shop and buy the full length albums.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
As Electric Eden: Unearthing Britain's Visionary Music author Rob Young reminds the reader at the beginning of the reasonably well-presented 8 page booklet that accompanies this 18 track CD, though this very English folk band have existed for nearly half a century: “it’s worth bearing in mind that you’re never listening to the same band at any given point… Like so many of the other folk-rock mainstays of the past few decades – Steelyeye Span, Incredible String Band – it’s easier to consider them as you would a football team or an orchestra: the name stays the same, but as the years pass by, so any number of players pass through, attain membership, make their contribution, and move on to new pastures.”

But only an errant knave would deny that they were at best in their earlier days, when they featured the crystalline vocals of Sandy Denny and the expressive guitar work of Richard Thompson. This broadly chronological, 2012 compilation recognises that fact by focussing on roughly the same period as the very similarly-titled 1999 double CD Meet On The Ledge: The Classic Years 1967-1975. Drawing upon albums such as Liege and Lief, Unhalfbricking, and What We Did On Our Holidays, it boasts a sample of some of their very best work, including the incomparable 'Who Knows Where the Time Goes' , the rousing ‘Come All Ye’ and the reflective title track. It also features a couple of odds and ends, with a live version of non-album single ‘Now Be Thankful’, and the unusual ‘Cropredy Capers’ - from 1976’s Gottle O’Geer - a funk instrumental that recalls the Average White Band.

But this budget-priced, nearly CD-filling, collection of traditionals and self-penned material probably isn’t a suitable starting point. It omits a whole host of key tracks from that period which have rightly become compilation fixtures: ‘Tam Lin’; ‘Fotheringay’ ; ‘Sloth’; ‘Walk Awhile’, and ‘Crazy Man Michael’.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
If you dont know the musicof Fairports this is the album to get yoy up to speed. Classics like a Sailors Life will amaze any folk rolk fan.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
A good introduction to fairport or a quick way to get some classics if you don't want to reproduce your vinyl collection on CD.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
Yes if your a folkie, then you should have this already, if not, then do go and get it. Play to your heart content as this is a timeless classic.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
Good compilation for fans of the group if you want your favourite tracks together on one disc. Worth the money.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
I recalled this group from my youth and was surprised that this CD was still available. So glad I bought it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
I spent my teen years listening to this type of music. It has brought back many memories from my youth.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.00
£5.69
£5.78

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)