Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
394
4.1 out of 5 stars
Size: Printer With Start Up Toners|Change
Price:£190.99 - £299.97
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2017
I love this printer. It's a real work-horse, is dead simple to use and just doesn't go wrong. I had the previous model for years ad only upgraded to this as the old one became incompatible with my new mac. I've had Epsom and Cannon printers before and found them too complicated and fiddly. HP all the way!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
I know to get a wireless laser printer for around the £70 mark is good, its amazing really. Anyhow, quick delivery and easy setup, the wireless feature was new to our home office and is a real bonus for laptop and tablet's to printing while the host PC is turned of. I'm happy to recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Even though it wasn't rated for it, it manages to pick up 320gsm card quite well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
This printer was so easy to set up, it gives great printout quality and it is really fast 18 ppm, HP does it again, quality combined with price - Superb. Only drawback is the cost of 'Original' cartridges, but compatibles work just fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
so far it is quite good and silent. Although i was expecting the toner to last longer i am still happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
A straightforward printer, just what I needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
excellent printer and quick delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
Having read many of the complaints and bad reviews of this product (especially about the set up process) I was a little worried when I took the plunge. How "hard" could the set up really be?

If you don't know anything about computers then yes, this printer might be a pain. Installation is not plug in, power on, and you're done, no - there is an actual set up process. Unless of course you're just using it as a USB printer in which case it might well be plug and play. But if you want to set it up on the Wireless network and on Mac OSX then here was my experience and tips.

==Installation==

First of all, yes, you will need a Windows Laptop (or Windows Bootcamp) to do the initial set up. Start by removing all the packaging material from the printer (including all the ones inside). Plug in and power on. Next, connect the windows laptop to the printer via the usb cable provided. This should start the installation process. If not, the USB connection acts as a drive, double click "My Computer" and you should see the HP Installation Software. Start it and it will walk you through the installation process.

If you can't find the drive, try unplugging the USB cable, pause, and try again.

During the set up procedure it will install the drivers to your windows laptop, after which it will then walk you through the wireless set up (Install for wireless printing) and ePrint setup. If/when it asks you for your selection of "Automatically Find Network Settings" or "Manual/Advanced" I clicked on advanced (which isn't so advanced) really you just choose your network and enter the password, it will then try to connect to the wireless network and you're done.

If you want to add the printer to another windows laptop, then on that laptop, click on "Devices and Printers" and "Add Printer" and then choose "Network, wireless, and bluetooth" printers, it will then show a list of available printers. Find the P1102w and follow the instructions.

Note: If you have installed the drivers, but want to change the network configuration later, you can access it by going to the Windows Start Menu -> Programs -> HP -> Wireless Configuration. Which will walk you through the wireless set-up again.

==Mac Setup==

Now stroll over to your Mac, I have an iMac with osx 10.8 installed, so the following instructions may differ if you're using an older/newer version - but here it goes.

Click on the Apple Symbol (top left) and go down to "System Preferences", now click on "Print and Scan". Chances are your printer list is either empty or full of printers that you have used previously, don't worry about that, at the bottom left of the box is a '+' symbol for you to add a printer. Click on it and a new window will pop up showing all available printers. If your P1102w is connected to the network and ON (make sure its on, by default it stays on for only 5 mins! - Very annoying!) then it should show up automatically.

Now highlight the printer you want to use and a drop-down menu bar that allows you to choose what printing method you can use - mine automatically chose "AirPrint". While there is a bigger emphasis on Apple computers to use AirPrint, I found AirPrint to be awful. It would take several minutes for the file to print, if at all. So instead, click on the drop down bar and choose "HP Laserjet Professional P1100W, 5.0" or whatever HP driver shows up. This then starts the HP installation process for your mac. Once the drivers have been installed the printer is now set up for use.

Now open your favourite word processing document and bash out a few words and try to print. If it isn't your default printer then you will have to go to "file"->"print" and manually choose your printer. If it's your only printer set up on your mac then you can just hit the print icon. Now print something (again, make sure the printer is on!).

Here, I found the difference between the "Airprint" and "HP Laserjet" drivers. If you set-up using airprint, chances are it does nothing - you sit there waiting and waiting, on the other hand if you chose the HP drivers, then printing is almost instant. Yes, almost instant, it starts printing almost as soon as you let go of the mouse click.

Finally, lets get rid of that awful "5 minute auto off" - If you closed your printer settings window, go back and open it. "Apple Icon" -> "System Preferences" -> "Print & Scan" and double click on your printer. A new window will pop open, that's your print queue. Now click on the "Settings" icon, and in the middle of the pop-up window is "Show Printer Webpage" click on it and a new browser window will appear that connects to the printer over the network (make sure the printer is on!). Then head over to the settings tab where you'll find the auto-off set to 5-mins. Change it to whatever you want, but for me 30 mins is fine. Hit apply and you're done. Feel free to explore any other settings you want to change.

And you're done.

Note: When you turn on the printer, it takes a moment for the printer to be recognized by the network, it then takes a moment for the Mac to find the printer on the network, so the first print job might take a minute - but after that, following print jobs are instant.

Note: If you want to change the Auto Off settings in windows - then either: Go to the Windows "Start Menu"->"Programs"->"HP"->"HP ePrint" and it will automatically open a browser window to the printer's webpage or alternatively manually type the IP Address of your printer into your browser (assuming you know it, or know how to look it up).

===Extra tips!===

Added: 5 Nov 2013

According to more recent reviews the printer now comes with Mac Drivers. No need for a windows computer for the installation process.

If you let the printer go into sleep on its own, you can wake it just by sending something to print! ~Awesome.

If you find yourself having to re-install the printer whenever you restart the modem/router (because the printer's network address keep changing), be sure to change your router settings so that your printer has a "static" (non-changing) IP address.

I also managed to figure out how to work the Duplexing (two sided printing), its easy once you know how.

If you're using Word go to File -> Print -> "Copies and Pages" -> "Layout" -> Select "Two-Sided: Long Edge Binding" and then print. It'll print off a bunch of one sided pages. DO NOT CHANGE THE ORIENTATION OR PAGE ORDER. Just lift out the stack of pages as is and stick it back in the paper tray. Lift the toner lid and close it again. It'll then print off the other side. Once it's finished you'll have double sided print! Great for printing off long forms.

If you're viewing a PDF in Preview (Mac) and you want to print double-sided go to "Print" and next to "Copies" is a "Two-Sided" check box - check it. Now print, and follow the same procedure as before. Lift out. Stick in. Lift Lid. Close Lid. Et Voila.

(Btw, I've had the printer 8 months now and still happy with it.)

==Printer First Impressions==

So far I am very happy with the purchase, the printer works perfectly on my Mac, its small, smart, compact, and best of all it prints on 3"x5" index cards, which was the main reason why I bought this printer. Set up process took about an hour (less if I had read this review first!).

There is the duplexing option on the Mac, but unfortunately it is manual, and ... buggy. It involves printing off one side of the pages, reloading the pages, and hitting a non-existent go button (the work around is to lift the toner lid, and closing it again, strange I know). If you're looking for a fully automatic duplexing printer then you might want to look elsewhere.

While not been using the printer long, it is small and compact and perfect for the occasional printing. The toner cartridges are expensive, ~£50 when I last checked. But these should last a long time if you're only printing every now and then. Chances are I won't need to replace it for a year or two - but if you're print happy, then you might want to consider the running costs.

Overall, very happy with my purchase, and not sure what all the fuss was about. It worked fine for me.

PS: If you're deciding between this printer (Sold by Amazon) and the other one currently listed (that is a pound cheaper) make sure you buy the one sold by Amazon. I have read reviews that the cheaper one sold by a third party distributor does not come with a genuine HP toner cartridge - and therefore no warranty. While the one sold by Amazon has not been tampered with and comes with an original HP toner. It's not worth saving a pound if you're gonna get ripped off.
review image
1010 Comments| 148 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
Great printer. Smallish footprint and works great with Mac once you get your head around it. Here is what I did to get it working wirelessly.

1) Set Firefox to be your Default Browser (NOT SAFARI!!)
2) Connect printer to Mac using USB and install from disk.
3) Visit [...]
- Search for 1102w firmware and find the firmware mac (dmg) update (there was 2 when I did it one for windows and .exe file and .dmg for mac). Download run and install.
4) Open system preferences and go to print & scan, select the printer from the left, and click options and supplies, then utility, open HTML.
5) In the HTML configuration go to networking tab and select wireless on the left.
- Select your wireless network from the list of Available Networks (SSID) and press the << button to copy the network to the "Current Network Name" box.
- Compete the authentication selction with your network passwords.
- Click Apply at the bottom, then OK on the next screen
6) Select bonjour from the left hand menu
- Check enable bonjour
- Click Apply at the bottom, then OK on the next screen
7) OPTIONAL: I then set my printer in the IPv4 congifurator to have a manual ip address
8) Back to System Prefs on the Mac and Print and Scan.
- Click the + button under the list of printers and your new printer should be shown in the list of nearby printers.
- Dont install yet, first delete the printer from the box above by selecting it and pressing the - button.
9) Now install the wireless printer via the + sign and viola! - Wireless printer installed that works with iPad, iPhone and your Mac.
10) OPTIONAL: - Throw USB cable in a drawer somewhere, with all the other cables you no longer use.

The whole thing shouldn't take more than 5 minutes.

Printing is a breeze. Enjoy!
66 Comments| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 112 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)