Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
35
4.6 out of 5 stars
I Can't Help Myself: The Collection
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 March 2017
Hi great delivery super service item perfect thanks very much appreciated
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2016
a timeless classic cd
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Great CD...very happy with it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
wife love them we used to dance to this music when we were in our teens
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2017
What can I say but brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
ive always been a music fan mainly rock but now I love every going great to have a choice for what mood you are in thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
Good quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
There is a long-list of compilations that bear the name of this long-running soul quartet. The vast majority of these efforts show discernment in recognising that The Four Tops' best work came in their first spell with Tamla Motown (1964-1972). This cheaply-priced and pretty cheap-looking 2012 release, from the budget label Spectrum, does as well. It boasts some of their biggest and best hits from that period, including: 'Baby I Need Your Loving'; 'It's The Same Old Song'; 'I Can't Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch)'; 'Reach Out, I'll Be There', and 'Standing In The Shadows Of Love'. With their powerful musical arrangements from Motown's in-house backing band the Funk Brothers, yearning lyrics courtesy of crack song-writing team Holland-Dozier-Holland, and stirring vocal performances from baritone lead singer Levi Stubbs, that quintet of tracks affirm why they were the lead male vocal group for the label at that time, despite stiff competition provided by the likes of The Temptations.

Unfortunately, there is also a lot of material missing from I Can't Help Myself that regularly appear on other showcases of The Four Tops' work, such as ballads like: 'Walk Away Renee'; 'It's All In The Game'; 'Still Water (Love)', and 'Ask The Lonely'. The inclusion of a couple of album tracks that are often overlooked - mildly diverting cover versions of Bobby Hebb's 'Sunny' and Fred Neil's 'Everybody's Talkin' - doesn't really provide suitable recompense for those omissions. Slightly more pricey selections with bold titles, such as The Ultimate Collection: Four Tops or The Definitive Collection, offer more persuasive introductions than this rather more plainly-subtitled 20 song CD.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 14 March 2013
At under four pounds this CD has got to be the nargain of the year on Amazon.

The fabulous Four Tops were simply great.

As a die hard Progressive Music Fan back in the days I was amazed at just how good these four guys were.

Their genius shines through on all these fabulous tracks.

If you really want to know why music from Tamla Motown was so good in the sixties then this fabulous Cd is the perfect place to start.

I really envy your journey of discovery if you do!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
Well there are so many great songs on this album.I could not stop dancing.Bearing in mind I was driving my little white van.Lol.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Gold
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)