Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
37
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2011
Eagerly anticipated book 3 of the Hew Cullan mysteries as I found books 1 and 2 very addictive...... Having just finished 'Time & Tide' it was certainly a worthy follow-on to the previous books in the series. In fact the characters are developing nicely now and the feel of the natural and political landscape is excellent. 'Time & Tide' would certainly make an excellent film!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
Shirley McKay is such a gifted writer! No word is wasted, and her depiction of a bygone age in which human characters live and move and react in such a timeless fashion, is flawless. Set in St Andrews, Scotland, the accent, character and sheer humanity of her creations are irresistible. The central character, Hew Cullen, is likeable and we hope, feel and journey with him.

In this story, a Dutch ship flounders off the Scottish coast, and is wrecked on the rocks as it tries to reach the safe harbour of St Andrews. The whole town is mesmerised by the sight of the ship and its special cargo, and soon a tug of war ensues between the good people of that town to gain possession and control of that cargo. Emotion runs so high, someone is prepared to kill for it...... Despite his efforts to stay neutral, Huw is drawn into the situation and finds himself tossed on the tide of events, just like the ship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
Hew Cullan still has problems. After the events of the previous book, he seems to have decided that being a lawyer is perhaps not his calling, and so he has returned to his hometown of St. Andrews and the life of a professor at the College. He spends his days flirting with the sister of one of his pupils and talking with his friends, seemingly content to put off making the hard decisions about his future. And then the windmill comes to town.

It is an ill wind that dashes ashore the ship carrying it. The only survivor is Jacob, a delirious young Dutchman who speaks some cryptic words to a local innkeeper before dying, and this sequence of events plunges Hew into a quest to find out the truth behind the matter. The local baxters (breadmakers) want control of the windmill to improve their own position in the town and, perhaps as importantly, to deny it to anyone else. However, under the laws of marine salvage, the true owner of the windmill must first be determined.

Hew is contacted by the Coroner (in this context, the King’s agent) to investigate and determine the truth of the matter, and in this it looks as though he might finally have found his niche. The Coroner, Andrew Wood, is a nicely sinister figure whose motivation remains shrouded, and whose relations with the rest of the town are never clear.

The early death of Jacob gives Time & Tide its central mystery and sets Hew off on a path that leads him from St. Andrews to the Dutch Netherlands, embroiled in a savage fight for independence against the Catholic Spanish. There are two extremely effective sections in this part of the novel – one which brings home the horror of religious and civil conflict and how it turns the population against itself; and a second that takes a more nuanced look at the soldiers of the period.

Time & Tide is the third in the series, and it feels as though Shirley McKay is comfortable with the characters and their period. The banter between Hew and Giles feels natural and human even in period dialect, and the way that the characters’ lives develop also feels realistic. The wider political situation of the day is referred to throughout, ensuring that the reader is kept informed of what’s going on in the world without it being obtrusive.

Time & Tide is truly impressive in its scale. Sweeping effortlessly from town politics in Scotland to Dutch whorehouses and the brutality of war, it still manages to keep the central plot devastatingly personal. The quest to discover the secrets of the windmill turns out to be far more convoluted than it seems, and it is the power of this central mystery to keep on surprising that gives the book its power.

David

Breakaway Reviewers received a copy of the book to review.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
Followers of Hew Cullen have come to expect a fine story, elegantly constructed, that rattles long at a good pace, and in this title Shirley McKay certainly realises all expectations. An excellent read that one can recommend without reservations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
I enjoyed this very much. I'm not usually a reader of medieval crime fiction and this is the second book in the series that I've read. While it took me a while to get into the period in the first one, this came much more easily and I found it simpler to understand the vast differences between then and now. The characters are well developed and the relationships between them interesting. Quite startling in parts to realise how subservient women were and how tenuous their hold on life could be when stepping out of line. It made me feel very grateful for being part of the twenty-first century.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Another gem by shirley Mckay Hew is at his best looking for the answer to the mystery surrounding a windmill and two deaths have the town in a state of panic, all is settled by a trip to Holland and some shrewd acting on hews behalf
A good read
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
Like all the Hew Cullen books, this one is a good read. My only criticism is that I find difficulty in keeping track of the characters, and who is speaking at any given time. This problem may be mind rather than the author's. I recommend the book to anyone interested in historical mystery stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Not what I was expecting. This is a very limp episode, almost like the writer was forced to knock out a story rather too quickly. Hew Cullen did not solve any great mystery in this one, which is a shame because i loved the first book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Enjoyed the first book in the series and have not been disappointed with the three following books. Hew Cullen is an interesting character and it is fascinating to watch his character develop during the series. Look forward to reading more of this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
after reading 1 & 2 of the hew cullan series i had to buy the 3rd. i knew it would be good but just how good astounded me. another page turner. the book took over my life whilst i was reading it. my life was on hold, sad but true. shirley mckay does not do predictable, she also does not do fantasy. what she does and does superbly is craft characters you believe in and want to read about. the poetic narrative grabs you by the hair and drags you willingly into the story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse