Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
47
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2012
Wow! Lord of the Rings is the best film of all time, and LEGO is the best toy of all time; a perfect combination i've wished for, for over four years.

This set was the first one I bought because it has four members of the fellowship, and also, it has a cave troll in it. The gate is very accurate.The wall looks very Dwarven, Balin's tomb has a good exploding feature, and the well has a nice look to it, But the figure does have trouble falling inside it properly.

Legolas has a very nice bow and accurate clothes. Gimili looks almost identical to what he looked like in the film; his clothes don't look like they did, and Pippin and Boromir look amazing and accurate. The cave troll looks really cool, but he does have trouble falling over in certain positions. The Moria goblins look awesome and they are very accurate. This set is an excellent starter set.

The tomb 9/10
Legolas 10/10
Gimili 9/10
Boromir 10/10
Pippin 10/10
Cave troll 9/10
Goblins 10/10
Overall 9/10

For the Cave troll, if you have any lego minifigures, put the bases on the bottom of the troll's feet.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
Even at the rrp of £70 for this set it is incredible value for a licenced LEGO set. With 6 minifigures (4 from the fellowship: Boromir, Gimli, Legolas and Pipin, and two orcs) and a cave troll figure, there is a great playability to the set, an ample amount of minifigures to create a busy battle scene.

The backdrop to these battles has been done masterfully. With the 4 separate components: entrance, wall, tomb and well, the set can be arranged in the way the builder wants, adding more flexibility for those who still want to stay fairly true to the films or books. Additionally having the separate components allows the set to be stretched out, making it bigger and more impressive.

Constructing the set is enjoyable, with many of the pieces being a decent size and the final product is very durable. There are nice features built in to further increase playability such as the axe to barricade the doors and skeleton falling into the well alongside others.

My 2 gripes with this set are: 1- the vast number of stickers in the set (but this is down to personal taste) and 2- the cave troll falls over with its club in any forward position. But apart from these it is an excellent set beautifully transferring the world of Tolkien into the LEGO medium, I just wish Balin could play with and enjoy the set too.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
I'm a 63-year old Lego addict, and I love Lord of the Rings, so this had a lot to live up to. As usual, Lego's attention to detail and its genius at making little knobby bricks look like dwarves, elves, trolls, ... well, like anything really ... was much in evidence. As usual, very clear instructions, easy to follow, and not a single bit missing. As usual, the assembled model is a joy to behold. If I have a criticism, it is that one little element - the skeleton, attached to a bucket by chains, that 'falls' into the tomb, is actually very difficult to make work properly. I don't think a child could do it at all, and the box does say '9-14'. If I had bought this for a child to play LotR games with, I suspect there might have been some frustration. Also, pointless saying it was a bit pricey - Lego have maintained quality over many years, presumably despite being under enormous pressure like everyone else to cut costs, and I guess charging quite a lot is how they do this. Altogether I would say it's brilliant value for an adult or older child, a tad less so for a younger child who actually wants to play with it, but what do I know - my 4-year old grandson plays with 'proper big boy's Lego' and manages brilliantly; anything that wont work, balance, move, stay put, whatever, when his little hands try it is simply turned into something else that will!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
I am a lego collector and this is by far the best product for price in the lego lotr set. It is so realistic in comparison with the film with hidden treasure such as *SPOILER ALERT* the falling walls, the well, tomb of balin and the very detailed door and many more! I love this price. 11/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Lego seems to be taking over the toy world with its excursions into space, the jungle, farmyards and Lord of the Rings - and that's just a small sample of the offerings available. One grandson loves it, another is obsessed by it, spending hours creating weird and wonderful models. What's not to like?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
lovely well made set with loads of imagination gone into designing it. The cave troll is great to play with, and it looks nice left out once its all put together. Don't overlook it as a present for a girl if she is a LOTR fan, but they do need to be around eight years old to be able to sit and assemble it as it takes a few hours work with lots of instructions to follow. Good practice for concentrating at something.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
Lego lord of the rings amazing. :) :) :) smiles alround. Good for the money. Can we have more offers on the Lego please.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
The main reason I bought this was for the minifigures. Gimli, Legolas, Boromir and Pippin are all great, especially if you're trying to put together the entire Fellowship. And it's always great to have a couple of more Orcs. The Cave Troll is a great part of the set too, though there are some balance issues with the club it carries.

The scenery looks nice as a backdrop, and the details in it are great. The weapon barring the doors that the orcs and troll break through, the book that Gandalf reads in the film, next to Balin's tomb, and the bucket and skeleton that Pippin knocks down the well, all make me very happy as a fan of the films.

I have a few of the sets and this one is definitely my favourite in terms of price and content, I actually think it's great value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
Bought for my boyfriend who is a geek and he loved it! It looks really cool once you've put it all together. Takes about 2/3 hours to build
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
Hours of play from my son (9y). Arrived faster than xpected so thats always a plus. Very pleased with service
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

What do customers buy after viewing this item?

Best Selling • Lowest Price

Top Rated


Need customer service? Click here