Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars63
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£48.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 February 2013
Larry David is the funniest character on TV. Curb is a masterpiece of comedy writing and the way that all the events in an episode tie together to inevitably bite larry on the backside are amazing.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
I'd never seen any of the first 7 series before but it didnt disapoint! An aquired taste i expect but some great cringworthy situations, either by accident or the fact larry has to speak his mind no matter waht ha ha!! i waited ages for this 1-8 boxset to come down to less than £40 but ended up paying just over in the end but still at least £20 cheaper then the highstreet still.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 September 2012
Larry David (Creator of Seinfeld) has a strange, and sometimes challenging life - and here, we pretty much get to see his life en vrac - everything from mishaps down at the golf club to him apparently leering at Richard Lewis' (played by himself) girlfriend's chest. You could say, it doesn't matter how much money you have, you'll always have problems in life.

Larry's life looks good on screen though, and especially the lovely Cheryl (Cheryl Hines), his wife who really has to put up with Larry's odd moments. He's also got his best pal Jeff (Jeff Garlin), who tries to manage Larry and get him some good gigs. There's also his celebrity mates like Ted Danson, Mary Steenburgen and Rosie O Donnell. Still, Larry doesn't seem that happy.

Some of the best moments from this come just out of the blue, like when Larry's driving Jeff's wife Susie somewhere and she starts having a naughty moment due to something stuck in the chair. Another good one is when Larry has to hide a wheelchair bound girlfriend in a house and gets caught out by Rosie, who goes about decking him. I also like the episode where Larry decides to pick up a hooker so he can get to a ball game quickly through the carpool lane. Who could forget the episode where Larry has to stand on the street outside a restaurant with a sign admitting he steals cutlery?

For me, this is a good comedy, as it's raw and does not look overacted. Larry usually wants his actors to be as stress free as they can be, and from the extras you can tell they all had a good time doing this. I especially like the fact there is no laughter track like there was in Seinfeld, and you have to laugh at the antics of Larry due to their pure stupidity. Everyone is strong in this, including the extras like his friend Marty Funkhouser (Bob Einstein) and Leon always cracks me up - especially his favourite line "You're my Caucasian Larry" - it's like comedy gold.

Also if you love Seinfeld you're going to enjoy seeing Julia, Michael, Jason and Jerry again.

The extras are good on this, you get interviews with the cast, a few out takes on some of the seasons, and a few extra bits especially with the Seinfeld reunion. HBO have again made a quality product spanning out the series on 2 disks per season, with the quality of the image and sound top notch.

I'd highly recommend this to fans, old and new, as it's a good show and worth a look. Yes, it does seem to have a cult following with a "you either love it or hate it" ethos, but I'd say it's a quality show.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
I was returning to New Zealand on an emirates flight, the lights in the cabin were set low and most people were asleep - well that was until I decided to tune into a few episodes of this most brilliant comedy - I think I belly laughed from Fiji to Auckland. Sorry to all those other passengers, I'm now a convert to "Curb"
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
What can I say about Larry David in curb your enthusiasm other than he's a genius :) one of the funniest shows on tv. Every episode is brilliant and cannot stop laughing from start to stop
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Eight seasons of Curb Your Enthusiasm for £45? Eight seasons? Pretty, pretty, pretty good. You'd be a fool to miss it. Unless you've bought it already. In which case, watch it again!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
from one of the creators of "Seinfeld", a gently humorous look at life through the eyes of a man who dares to think and even worse, say, what many of us secretly shy uncomfortably away from. And it must be said, also says and does things which would make must of us cringe. Often improvised, allegedly a caricature of the man himself, and it does seem that way. Very funny in parts, quite hard work to watch non-stop, episode after episode. In small chunks, delightful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
Enough 'Curb' to keep you happy for weeks or months. Great stuff. This was a very well received Christmas gift.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
Very disappointed, first DVD of first series would not play. Must be something to do with American series because I have had problems with NCIS large boxed set DVDs as well. I have had this boxed set for a while now without playing any of it so too late to return. I will just have to write this one off as an expensive mistake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
Discovered by chance, CYE got me hooked allmost instantly. You just have to enjoy rudeness and wrong social behavior brought to perfection by Larry David. Hope rumours of a 9th season will become true one day.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)