Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars42
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2012
Having viewed numerous documentaries and film based on the Titanic in the past, I pre-ordered this in hope of learning something new.

This is by far the best I have purchased to date.

There are 6 documentaries covering different aspects of the tragedy, as well as some excellent memorabilia and a CD carefully crafted into a nice box.

I am yet to complete the book, but so far it has been fascinating reading about the origins and construction of the "Unsinkable".

I would completely recommend this for anyone else intrigued by maritime's greatest disaster.
33 comments|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2012
Brillant! Have never come across anything like this before. There is the building of this ill fated ship, the
lives of the people who built her, working conditions they suffered. There are also documents, and varies other papers, copies of the actual signals sent on that night.
There is also a section on those involved, from Capt Smith to the bankers, to Bruce Ismay.
The documentry on the finding of the ship by Robert Ballard, and the more resent discovery of the section that was torn away as a result of the collision with the iceberg, and of the ship breaking in two,as well as
the investigation into the expansion joint, as a possible weak point.
Something in the region of six hours or so of viewing. There is also a book included with this very collectable piece of history.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2012
just to make sure people are aware this is for the standard set and not the deluxe set as per previous review ie with memorablilla cd and book

its annoying amazon link there reviews anyone seeing that first hand may order the cheaper version and not see the deluxe version and wonder why no cd etc in it

anyway as prevous reviewer this is excellant 7 3/4 hours of documentary for current price £11.99 3 dvds and n ot thr other stuff seen in the deluxe version but i have no interest in the book or cd so this suits me just fine

a bit naughty i know but sainsbury in uk are currently selling this at £8.99 and its where i got mine but if you cant find it then amazon at 11.99 is still well worth it and wont break the budget i am sure
11 comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
First, I may only be disappointed of myself for not noticing the DVD's has only Dutch subtitled(I can't speak Dutch! And needed English subtitles!!) but nontheless my English is good anyhow...
The Product can't possibly disappoint you. There are the DVD's, a CD a book and a little paper bag With many little surprises as ship tickets, postcards etc etc....You will just have to buy to find out what's more in it. The film is a History Channel's and do have some new facts and mainly. it is very recommended Product to all Titanic buffs. The cover is of hard paper and fancy. Except for lack of subtitles, I will give the Product '5' stars since you can't give it a 10! ):)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
I bought this on a whim for my boyfriend as a last minute resort surprise. However he really really enjoyed it and got a weeks viewing out of it. He could not be pulled away from it. However it is incredibly long over 7 hours of viewing and there is so much information. If giving this as a gift be warned, it can be addicitve.
Also it give so much detail it may put some people off. Not for those who have only a fleeting interest.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
This was bought as a gift for my father, who is obsessed with the history of the Titanic. I haven't watched them as its not really my thing, but he loves them! They arrived in brilliant condition, and in plenty of time. There were no scratches or dints on the box, which was wrapped in unbroken cellophane.

The disks inside were not damaged in any way either. It gets a 5 for its condition, arrival and my dad's obsession with the dvd's!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2012
If your interested in the Titanic then this box set is the one to buy it contains 6 documentary's on three discs a cd containing the music which the band had played plus some collectibles. I like how this has been packaged and i think it is value for money.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
This is a must buy if you love the titanic. Beautifully boxed in a strong and protective outer casing with individually boxed dvds
and well presented material. Ok the underwater discovery teams trials and misfortunes can seem a little overdone but that would be only a minor criticism. Overall this box provides a mine of interesting info about the building, sailing and eventual loss of this fantastic liner. Ok some of the 'facts' are no more than speculation and the writers/editors do at times appear to have an unnecessarily negative attitude toward Captain Smith. However, that said, I have watched this boxed set several times and have enjoyed it thoroughly. I consider it excellent value and a product worth a place in any titanic enthusiasts collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
i think its a fab thing if you are intrested in the story of titanic and i think its well worth the money however before i bought the set i looked at what amazon said it had in it and went on other sites like youtube to find out what was in it and it stated that there was a newspaper from the time of the sinking and a poster neither of which was in it im still happy with what i got but if you are wanting these items i wouldnt buy it.
44 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
In a word - disappointed. Having over 3 decades, viewed numerous amounts of information on the Titanic, expectations were running high for this DVD collection, and whilst some areas were as expected and didn't disappoint, there were other areas sadly lacking. For example, there was too much 'acting to the camera' for my liking, and supposed information included was nothing more than filling disc space (watching a 'presenter' making her way to a building, etc. or listening to divers massaging their egos is hardly informative); add to that the continuous repetition of something said not 10 minutes ago for the umpteenth time, and all hope of watching something worthwhile, diminished more and more and disappointment grew.
The lack of, or omission of facts also frustrated; one example of that was during an expedition dive by this team, emphasis was put on the finding of a propeller blade with the number 401 stamped upon it, the Titanic's numbering for her propellers, 'proving' the wreck to be Titanic. Yet no mention was made of the fact that when the Olympic incurred yet another mishap under Captain Smith, thus damaging a propeller blade, upon being duly returned to ship builders Harland & Wolff, workers were ordered to fit the Olympic with one of Titanic's propellers. This resulted in both sister ships being fitted with propellers bearing the same number stamped upon them, 401. An important well-documented fact yet not a mention of it which seems rather odd, given how the makers were keen to include how the diving team were having problems regarding their diving tanks thereby delaying their dive! In no way am I saying that the sister ships were swapped, however, by not including such important information only half-informs the viewer.
For someone wanting to dip their toes into the 'Titanic pond', it's a fair base to start from; for those wanting in-depth details and information about the Titanic or anything substantial regarding the aftermath, the hearings and political furore that followed the sinking, this set may well not be what you seek.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)