Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
929
4.3 out of 5 stars



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2013
I bought this router from Amazon to use with my SKY+HD box instead of the Wireless Connector offered by Sky. I decided to buy this as not only was it cheaper, it has a higher maximum rate 150Mbps vs 130Mbps of the Sky offering and isn't locked down so could be used with other equipment. It was easy to setup and works flawlessly giving good speeds. The version I bought from Amazon came with a UK plug as I noticed some reviews mention those from other suppliers coming with a European plug. I chose to set it up in client mode (think glorified wifi dongle) rather than any of the other options as this seemed most appropriate for my setup. Overall I found it easy to use and setup and very versatile although the documentation barely mentioned client mode and I already have a TP-Link WR1043ND so am familiar with their web interface. The information for doing this is a bit vague so here is how I got it working (I dropped a star from the rating because the documentation would be confusing for someone who doesn't understand the basics of setting up a wi-fi router)

Setting it up for use with Sky+HD On-Demand (formerly Anytime+)
===============================================================
ON YOUR MAIN ROUTER (Virgin SuperHub, Sky etc.)
1. Note your routers IP Address and mask e.g. 192.168.0.x, 255.255.255.0
2. If you have a wireless access list setup make sure you add the WR702N's MAC address to the allowed list.
3. Add the router WR702N to your DHCP reserved address list e.g. 192.168.0.254

ON THE WR702N
1. Connect it via the ethernet cable to your computer and disable wifi on your computer so that the ethernet is the only network connection
2. Point your browser at 192.168.0.254
3. Login with admin as the user and password (you may want to change the password)
4. During the setup select client mode
5. When prompted for an IP address ensure that it is in the same subnet as your router e.g. if your router address is 192.168.1.x then make the WR702N address 192.168.1.254 for example
6. Ensure the subnet mask is the same as your router e.g. 255.255.255.0
7. Set the default gateway to the address of your router e.g. 192.168.1.1
8. When prompted reboot the router you can log back into it via the address you chose above e.g. 192.168.1.254

ON THE SKY+HD BOX
Ignore anything on the sky site about activating on-demand you just have to set it up on the box
1. Plug the ethernet cable into the green ethernet socket on the back of the box do not plug it into the WR702N yet.
2. Connect the WR702N to the power supply (the usb socket on the sky box isn't powered so you may need to use a plug)
3. Go to the services menu and select the network page
4. Plug the ethernet cable into the WR702N and wait a minute
5. The network page should detect the network and which point just follow the onscreen instructions.
6. If any of the options on the page say fail just unplug and re-plug in the ethernet cable to the WR702N.

Hope this helps someone who is trying to set one of these up with Sky.
88 comments| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
I wish I had bought this device sooner! I moved into a university residence complex of apartments in September where internet is supplied only by Ethernet, which left me with the problem of not being able to use my Android phone or tablet online.

After some searching I found that the TP Link 702N was the device I needed; when the package arrived I couldn't get over how tiny the device actually is, and come with a flat short Ethernet cable and a mains plug that can also power the device by USB if you so wish. Setting up is effortless, you don't have to go near the admin panel of the router if you don't want to, plug in and play, the device itself is preconfigured as an access point, which is the function I require. Setting up on my devices was a matter of entering the default password found underneath the device on a sticker, although it is advisable to change this through the routers admin page; as too is maybe not broadcasting the SSID if you don't want anybody snooping on your network.

In summary this is a brilliant device with so many functions for the price, highly recommended!
11 comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
great bit of kit but had a lot of trouble getting it to work in client mode. this ended up being the setting in the wireless called WDS. its on auto by default and it would seem most uk routers use WDS 3. this is what was isolating anything connected to the tplink device lan port via cable from getting a dhcp assigned address from my main wireless router.
i ran through quick setup again setting the WDS to 3 , rebooted and voila. the xbox connected to the tplink got a dhcp assigned address from my router and internet worked from them on.
hope this helps someone else out there as i was pulling my hair out at one point.
now its working its great. very fast connection and all is very good. great for 16 quid which is half the price of a xbox wireless adaptor and i can use this with anything at all with an ethernet port to make it wireless.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2012
I have had this piece of kit running on my LAN for about two weeks now and it has performed brilliantly.

1. If you do not configure this piece of kit at all, but just a. plug it into a working ethernet-RJ45 connection and b. just power up by powering it over USB this gadget will automatically start working as an access point. Just make sure you plug in the net first and then the power. This gadget will detect it is being used as an AP and default to a working environment.

This is why the gadget is so handy to bring to hotels, friends, if you need to do a presentation, or whatever. You do no have to ask for their wireless details, just plug it in and it works. In this mode the gadget can be accessed from a client as 192.168.x.254 by default.

As a first time user you do not need to plug in an Ethernet cable directly to your computer and set to 192.168.0.xxx, if you start by using it as an access point you can just connect with the default ssid and passkey, then check whether it is at your lan's standard net/subnet addres as 192.168.x.254 and then log in to it as admin. Change the setting to whatever you want and you are up and running in seconds.

2. The signal is excellent and the connections as an AP are stable. My old router (a non-wireless zyxel from 2002) had (over time) had an AP added on (an Edimax) which did leave dead spots in the house. So I had added a high gain aerial. This worked, more or less accepatably. (The best aerial location was found by moving it around and then running around with a smartphone detecting the signal strength). This gadget was plugged in downstairs to test and it performd well immediately. The old AP was shut down because this one outperformed it, even without looking for an optimal spot. I had originally bought this to try on trips and holidays and I now find it in permanent as a low cost replacement of my old gear.

3. I have foudn that it shows no sign of any problems with 3 laptops and 3 smartphones connected, so I am confident it can do even bigger loads.

I may configure it as a router to bring on holidays (if the WAN is not detected while driving it can still be used to let everybody enjoy their own eBooks, MP3s and videos off a laptop or NAS-disk), that way the photos can be copied from the smartphones to the disk while diving and than uploaded at hotels, MC-donalds etc..

I have not found any disadvantages, yet. It's tiny size may make it easy to lose or be stolen. A USB with NAS port would have been brilliant too. As it stands I cannot fault this device. I may replace my LANs AP with one permanently.
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
I wanted to use the router as a repeater, so I can only share my experience about this mode. I was getting a very weak or no Wifi signal from my BT Homehub router (upstairs, front of house) in my kitchen extension (downstairs, back of house). I live in an older house with solid walls. Now I have a very good connection with my Nexus 7 tablet in my kitchen, and can stream video using BBC iPlayer without any problems at all.

I have located my repeater in the middle of the house, and I think its important to ensure that you are getting a good Wifi signal from your main router (the one connected to the internet) at this location.

Thanks to other reviews, I have located the step by step instructions on setting this up (before I bought this). FYI, its FAQ ID: 397 "How to Configure Repeater Mode on TL-WR702N" on the TP Link website. I followed this and had no trouble setting it up. The printed instructions that came with the router is not as clear as the FAQ.

I was a bit confused at first as there is no new SSID when using this in the repeater mode. Its just repeating the main router. To test its working, I went into my kitchen, and told my Nexus 7 tablet to "forget" the connection to my main router. Then I ask it to search for Wifi connections and the SSID of my main router showed up but with a much stronger signal. After I entered my passkey (for my main router), I was connected to the internet. Now, when I move around the house the tablet just seems to pick up a good signal in every room :)

The router is well protected in the manufacturer's box, but not excessive. It came with an USB power adaptor. The power cable is a bit short, so you may want to get a longer one if you want to locate your repeater higher than a metre about your mains socket. There is also a short flat and quite flexiable ethernet cable which would be good for client mode operation? There is also a mini "resource" CD, which I have not touched.

I would recommend this to my friends.
66 comments| 81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
After arriving in my residence halls at university I was quickly aware there was a lack of WiFi. Instead, there was a single Ethernet port which had to be plugged into my Macbook in order for me to receive internet connection. I was sick of using my Macbook's Internet Sharing function in order to provide WiFi for all my devices, mainly because it meant my laptop had to be on and plugged in 24/7! So I decided to look at a cheap small router as an alternative.

After a little research I found this product and was convinced that this was a good idea. The packaging is very Apple-esque, and the router is absolutely tiny! Honestly fits easily in the palm of a hand. It is pre-configured as an 'access point' so out of the box it is literally plug and play! Although the router has 5 other options once you login if you are a bit tech savvy and wish to alter the settings or properties. This is literally the only complaint I have; advanced setup can be a little difficult and requires a fair amount of technical knowledge.

Once setup, however, it is literally plug and forget...asides from everyone in my dorm now asking for the password! All jokes aside, once it is plugged in you can honestly forget about it! Range is surprisingly good and the speed is more than adequate. I am able to stream 1080p Netflix to my Playstation and still browse the internet on my phone.

Only real complaint I have is the lack of the 5GHz frequency band, that and no 300+Mbps speed. Albeit for the price this is by no means a deal breaker. Out of curiosity I decided to test the limits of this device, pre-configuring the router for the 'n' band at the highest power and speed. Once connected to multiple devices using heavy bandwidth the speeds absolutely crashed. Just something to keep in mind, this product is best suited to just a few devices that are not using heavy bandwidth!

Verdict:

This is a great product by TP-Link. Absolutely tiny, very portable and cheap, brilliant for providing WiFi where there is an ethernet port and no WiFi. I would definitely recommend :)
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
This piece of kit is exactly what you need when staying in a hotel or any place that only has a LAN connection to the net. With this gadget you simply plug in the LAN cable, add the power supply, (either from the plug which is supplied, or USB lead) and you now have a wireless network in your room, and a few rooms up and down the corridor if you want to share the connection with colleagues. Now your iPhone, iPad, laptop can all share the same Internet connection. Some hotels charge per device, so this unit also solves that problem! The unit is extremely light weight, much lighter than my phone, I guess less than 1oz, and small, just over 5cm square, less than 2cm deep.
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
I bought this to act as an ethernet to wi-fi bridge, to connect various devices around the house to my wireless network. I have previously used powerline adapters but to get enough for what I wanted was going to cost more then £100, so thought I'd give this a go. The first device I wanted to connect up was my Sky+ HD box.

Opening up the box for the router you find the tiny blue box which is the router, a USB cable, a flat ethernet cable, a 3-pin mains adapter, a small (and I do mean SMALL) manual and a mini-cd apparently containing the software. Configuring the router was really quite straight forward. You do not need the CD at all, and there are several reports of it not reading properly, but this is not a problem. Simply connect the router to your pc or laptop with the provided ethernet cable and ensure that you connect the usb cable up too.

Now, this is the only tricky bit - First, find out the IP address of your broadband router - a simple way of doing this is to hold down the windows key on the keyboard and press 'R'. In the box that pops up, type 'cmd' (without the quote marks) and press enter. In the black box that pops up type 'ipconfig' (without the quotes) and press enter. Lots of info will come up when you do this, but the bit you are interested in is the 'default gateway'. Make a note of this ip address.

A you will need to set your PC/Laptop to a fixed IP address of 192.168.0.10 (as an example). For the uninitiated, this is done via your Network settings in Control Panel (for more info on this see Windows Help). Now open a browser and type 192.168.0.254 and press enter and you will see the router configuration screen.

Now, the first thing to change is the IP address of the device. This needs to be in the same range as your router. Find that IP address you made a note of and change the device IP address to match, apart from the last bit. So, for example, if your router IP address is 192.168.1.254, you will need to change the device ip address to (for example) 192.168.1.253, i.e. the first three bits of the address match. It's a good idea to make the last digits quite high (but less than the maximum value of 254!!) as this will keep it out of the DHCP range for your broadband router. When you have done this, make a note of the device's new ip address you have just given it and press SAVE. When prompted reboot the router.

Now go back into network settings and change your PC/Laptop back to `obtain an ip address automatically'. You will now be able to connect to the device using its new IP address.

From here on configuration is simple. If you are using it as a bridge as I have done (i.e. to connect wired devices to a wireless network), select `bridge' in the device mode settings. Then use the `Survey' button to find your broadband router. IMPORTANT - make a note of the `channel' your router uses as for some reason this is not automatically assigned. Select your broadband router, set the channel to match and select your security settings Uusually WPA PSK) and enter your router's key/password. Once this is done, save and reboot the router and Voila!! You can now unplug the device and use it to connect any device in your home or office to the wireless network.

I am massively impressed with this little bit of kit. For £16.99 it is a very affordable way to connect wired devices all around the home, or to use as a wireless AP as described in other reviews. Extremely reliable so far and nice and tidy. Cannot recommend highly enough. The only (very minor) niggle is the lack of proper documentation but there is enough to get you started. Already bought another one and about to place an order for another three!
22 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
We turned up in our rented holiday home in Cornwall which did indeed have broadband as advertised, but NO WIFI. Disaster! It had a BT Voyager 220v router that I think Noah used. Anyway, the iPads were effectively useless, and without a mobile signal so were the Blackberries. I found this little beauty on Amazon. It arrived, I plugged it into the router, and it just worked. I found the wifi network scanning with my Blackberry, put in the password from the back of the router (written in tiny letters) and that was it. I have connected 2 Blackberries, 2 iPads and an Apple TV. I am also now the official family hero.

A couple of other thoughts. I didn't have a PC with me so I chose this device as it was cheap and didn't need configuring. The wifi range is good, I get a full signal upstairs. It says it is a 150 Megabits per second device and I think the fast ones are 300 MBS but I am not techie so can't really comment. It's fast enough for watching YouTube and surfing the net. A sticker on the box says it is for cable which confused me as I thought it meant cable TV modems, but it works just fine with the BT broadband router.

Overall delighted and amazed at how easy it was to fix our lack of Wifi. I Googled how to add Wifi to the BT Voyager 220v router and the answers looked very complicated and involved configuring routers with IP addresses which is way above my pay grade and I don't have a PC on holiday. The answer was so much simpler and just needed me to spend £25 on this.

Did I mention I was happy?
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
I was a bit wary of the other review (the only other one at the time of writing) because I thought it read a bit like an advert, so my apologies to its author.

I bought this router to use as a portable AP for developing Android apps against web services on my laptop, so I needed to create a network on the go and my laptop's Intel MyWiFi didn't seem to be working. It is beautiful. It's 59mmx59mmx20mm and comes with a short LAN cable, a USB cable with a tiny connector (micro?), a UK mains plug for the USB, an 8cm CDROM with the user guide on it, and a quick installation pamphlet. I was bowled over by the whole package (nice box, too). On Amazon I paid £21 + £1 postage.

I couldn't get it to work straight away but that was entirely my fault because I expected DHCP, but that feature isn't enabled by default. I had to RTFM. You need to set _your_ IP to a fixed address 192.168.0.xxx to connect to the AP and from there set it to DHCP. On the bottom of the router, on the label, there's the MAC address, AP name, PSA key, and the default admin user id and password for the router's web interface. Even the web interface is great.

The router is not suitable for connection to a BT line; it is for cable connections, and I have not investigated this functionality because I don't have cable and I didn't buy it for that. You can connect to the router via the enclosed LAN cable for configuration, etc.

In the web interface (at 192.168.0.254, which it lists on the label on the bottom of the router) you can set the operating mode to AP, bridge, router (when the LAN port becomes the WAN port), and repeater. AP's the only one I've tried but I might have a crack at bridging to sort out an otherwise unrelated issue elsewhere.

All the documentation's in English, and there are detailed steps and diagrams for connecting using Windows.

Finally, I bought it from a seller called Kikatek. I didn't have to contact them at all; the router was despatched quickly and arrived in just a couple of days even by 2nd Class post. Kikatek sent a link to their client "portal" where I was able to track the parcel. I didn't need to worry too much about that as it arrived very quickly.

Well impressed.
66 comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 127 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.