Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
8
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 September 2013
Every "world-leader" should be made to sit down, read Umair's inspired prose, sit back, reflect, and then act upon the wisdom contained therein. No ifs, no buts, read, act, reap the rewards.
But they won't. No way. Not a chance, because the vested interest, financial clout, plutocracies that have put them where they are would trash, trample upon and burn this worthy tome and the common sense writings it contains, at their soonest opportunity. This is a sad bit inevitable truth of the world we live in now - those with money get wealthier and more powerful on the backs not of some vast, Marxist proletariat, but actually by fleecing the unspoken middle-class majority who do JUST ENOUGH to get by, with the odd night out and the occasional holiday away., yet at the same time are unable to rise up and question the plutocracies due to constraints of family, time and job commitments. And so it goes on...........
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
If you are mildly cretinous and would like to feel intelligent, check out this book for some dumbed-down entry-level Marxism packaged with woolly hippy nonsense sprinkled with buzzwords like "paradigm-shift" and "potential". Guaranteed to over-simply complex subjects and concepts, allowing the layman feel as if they have all the answers to the world's problems. Why study history, philosophy or economics when Umair Haque has cherry-picked the parts that agree with his utterly banal ideas and packaged them into this airport-reading fodder for you to rattle on about at dinner parties?

This is the literary equivalent of a microwave ready meal. Do some proper reading instead of wasting time with the sort of meaningless Powerpoint pseudo-intellectual drivel in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
This is a relatively quick read - but it is excellent.

Full of great context and ideas - well explained.

There's subtlety in the idea of business becoming more social, more conscious, more ethical or "better" - whatever you want to call it. And Umair does a great job of making this subtlety plain - it requires a paradigm shift, not just harder thinking within our current models.

I also liked the sections around reinventing how we think about strategy, business vision and mission. Some really painful examples of mission statements from the 1990s!

If you are interested in how a tidal wave of activity is hitting business in the next few years - this is a great starting point.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2012
Umair Haque offers logical reasoned arguments as to how economics in the 21st Century can and will inevitably be redefined to deal with the growing mess created by the world's leading economies over the past 200 years. Read it and be inspired!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
Powerful arguments don't need flowery prose - they need simple direct communication backed up by examples. Whether you're an employee, a CEO, a politician or an entrepreneur Umair raises important questions that we all need to ask ourselves. It's no good looking around and complaining, saying "they" messed everything up, yes, maybe they did - so perhaps it's time we take back control and become much more mindful and conscious in what we do. That starts at home, every purchase decision is a ballot paper - if we buy poorly made products from suppliers that treat their staff badly because it's 2 pence cheaper then we shouldn't be surprised that there are no nice jobs for our children.

Betterness clearly sets of the new criteria for how businesses will compete in the future - it's happening in small ways now and will gather pace as the old economy dies out - it's up to us to re-imagine our future, w can have more of the same or something better...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
I agree with much of what the author says but vested interests will always prevail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
excellent and thought provoking read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
Nicely written in an engaging manner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)