Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2012
I was very pleased with this Yamaha keyboard the moment I opened it. I personally think this model looks very pleasing and even elegant, with its lovely black finish, white speaker cones and array of illuminated buttons which give instant information as to current main settings. Complete with the very clear, blue backlit display, the S650 has a very modern appearance.

The `newness' doesn't end their either as the functions built in and the KBs ability are, for the price, and in my humble opinion, excellent. The 9 MegaVoices inherited from the Tyros range really are a in a class of their own and sound just beautiful. Second in Voice quality, but still very good replications, are the Live!, Sweet! And Cool! Sounds which are more plentiful and therefore more varied. The MegaVoice technology is also clearly discernable in the quality of the Styles, and the fill-ins and various Intros, Main rhythms and Endings make playing music a real pleasure. I am very impressed with the ease at which the software structure makes altering a whole host of settings within the keyboard, and also the way these same settings can so easily be saved to a memory location via the touch of just two buttons! Playback of one's own preset Style, Tempo, Voice, Dual Voice, Harmony and DSP, amongst others, can be ready in seconds.

Expandability using the built-in memory is something that I am particularly enjoying by downloading and installing Yamaha sound packs, such as the Best of Europe Pack. Something that I wasn't aware of before buying is the restriction that only one of these `Packs' can be installed at any one time! Not really a major issue as installing takes seconds, however, any User Song saved in memory that used a Pack's Voice, for example, which then gets replaced by another installation, will be altered - due to the very fact that this Voice has now been removed and its memory slot gets replaced with some other Voice! Saving User Songs to USB, may avoid this issue but I have yet to try this out. Downloading free MIDI files, i.e. whole songs, from various Internet sites and transferring them to the KB via Flash Drive is a breeze and the instrument's conversion of the MIDI to its own sounds is excellent, making playback so good, my Dad said, "You don't need to be able to play it!" This is, however, holding back my keyboard playing `cause there's so much pleasure in being easily able to set the Demo button to play ALL tracks from a Flash Drive at RANDOM!

All in all, I am very, pleased with the PSR-S650 and would probably only step up from this to a legendary Tyros - IF I could afford one, which, for me, was a big selling point of this model. Indeed, I have read online of the S650's description as being a mini Tyros! With great sound from two quality 12 Watt speakers and tweeters, this keyboard was hard earned money very well spent - in fact...invested!
11 Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Perfect for this price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
Good range of sounds, backing tracks and songs (with more on the Yamaha website). Love the intro/main/ending selection as you can mix and match them in a number of ways to tailor a song to your requirements. Sounds are excellent, at last guitars are becoming more realistic - the acoustic guitars are very good. Good access to your own midi creations with the ability to hold them internally or on a usb stick.

Niggles - the on/off button is not as firm as it could be; getting to functions is hard work (all the functions are on one button, and you sometimes have to scroll through a lot of functions to get to the one you want). And I would like to have seen another set of buttons to split the Registration/Part utilities. But these are minor aspects.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
Great sounds from this middle range instrument. It is a good balance between simplicity and great sounds. You can get more versatile instruments but thry get very complicated. The different ways of getting the best from this machine areeasy to learn. Altogether, great value for money -and you'll amaze your friends as it can sound like an orchestra is playing.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
This was an excellent buy for my daughter. She has been looking for a replacement for a year. Really pleased with the product and delivery.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
I did piano lessons as a kid, then swapped to the guitar. Then I started work in the real world - so haven't played piano/keyboards for decades. It didn't take long to fathom out the gist of the controls, find some music and within about 2 hours was producing recognisable bits of music! An enormous range of syles, variations and instruments, this should keep me amused well into the springtime of my senility.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
A beauty, what a pleasure to play, so many sounds and combinations avaailable, still finding other freat things and highly recommend
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Very happy with this keyboard workstation. I have still much to learn to take advantage of its many features but I have had many happy hours playing it so far.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
Start playing when you take it out of the box, no long set up process, easy to access sound pools for a variety of sounds. I still need to register mine for a free sound pool download so I don't know what is available or what the cost of other sounds will be but there are lots in the keyboard to keep most people happy. Much to still explore but first impressions are excellent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
I bought this keyboard because i didnt like the strings and pianos on my Roland em30 , this sounds beautiful with deep rich tone and a top variety of sounds,,, still havent got round to working out saving settings etc but im sure its easier than im making it
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 24 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)