Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 5 January 2018
How can it be possible to get 5 Blu-ray films for £7? Anyway, I don't really care but what a deal. Casino, Carlito's Way & Scarface are all classics! As for the other 2 films I haven't seen them yet but even if they're rubbish the other 3 certainly make up for it. Bargain!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2017
Great value and very good choices to include in a box set! I have always preferred Casino to Goodfellas unlike most people, so I really just wanted Casino on DVD, then I saw this! Scarface in Blu ray with surround sound is awesome!! Best movie box set I ever got!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2018
Really Good But Case Is A Bit Of A Pain
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2017
great item well packed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2015
Excellent value for money, all films have great extras on them just like special editions, I bought this blu ray for the films at the very least and just hoped it would have added extras, I am so happy with this purchase such a bargain, would highly recommend.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2017
Great set!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2012
it's amazing to have this edition. but i don't like this packaging to huge. maybe uk version can use slim case. all movie gangster all in the set. vey amazing and all it's free region .. :)
i see all transfer movie very good and good audio. no doubt if yu don't this edition you may be thinking to buy it
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2017
Where's goodfellas
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2015
the box came broken
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 January 2012
Firstly, if this boxset tempts you watch out - there is an 'alternative', almost identical, edition which omits 'Scarface'; perhaps unsurprisingly, the only real way to tell is if the legend 'Scarface' sits sneakily at the base of the vertical listing of the included titles on the outer box (assuming it is pictured) to make the total = 5, or if the retailer makes a positive effort to mention that it is included (most don't). You have been warned !

This collection is, in my opinion, an excellent way to dip into the world of organised crime/gangster films as they are all very decent efforts from noteworthy directors with good production qualities and notable casts - no 'duds' included, as so often can be the case with these type of boxsets....

I'm not sure there is a real standout classic (although many would probably disagree and say that 'Scarface' is) and, for me, they all have just about equal standing and their own individual merits.

Happily, the collection is 'simply' that outer box holding the standard retail Blu-ray editions of each feature in their respective blue Blu-ray case.

Sadly, there are blemishes with this collection. Yes, the transfers are all 'proper' HD with the requisite improvement in resolution/soundtrack format BUT 'Casino' suffers from a horrendous prevalence of print damage (ie it has not been 'cleaned-up') and 'American Gangster' looks no better than an upscaled DVD.

In the case of 'Casino' this matter is unforgivable as the regular 'intrusion' of small white flecks onto the screen is very distracting and makes watching the film on Blu-ray a struggle; remastering really should have been easily possible for what is a relatively modern film.

As far as 'American Gangster' is concerned, the transfer is completely unblemished - it just doesn't offer any noticeable improvement. Having said that, what you do get is the extended edition and all the additional extra features from the expanded DVD edition on the one Blu-ray disc - so it does offer something extra.

The remaining 3 films are definite improvements and present themselves extremely well. 'Public Enemies' is a modern production so was always likely to be impressive, but the significant improvement to the older 'Carlito's Way' is a pleasant bonus. Similarly, 'Scarface' is also better but it did include the occasional 'shimmer' from various background features in panning-shots; a result of too much noise-reduction processing perhaps ?

If you want more detail, I've written individual reviews on Amazon for some of these films on Blu-ray, namely 'Casino', 'American Gangster' and 'Public Enemies'. Here are the links to them (or get to them easier/direct by going via my Amazon profile) :

Casino [Blu-ray][Region Free]
American Gangster [Blu-ray][Region Free]
Public Enemies [Blu-ray][Region Free]

So, if priced attractively, this boxset is a worthwhile purchase as opposed to buying the Blu-rays individually and also because the films are all quality efforts, offering varying degrees of improvement over their DVD editions - except in the case of 'Casino', unless you can see beyond the print damage (I couldn't) in which case you'll be very happy/just as satisfied with it as the other 4 Blu-rays.
66 Comments| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse