Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
87
4.2 out of 5 stars
On Canaan's Side
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.63


on 22 August 2017
I can never quite fit into the skin of a male writer making his main character a woman and then talking through her eyes as if he would understand a woman's voice. However the author created her so it is him speaking! I am always captivated by Sébastien Barry's way of weaving in the deepest past to a current moment. Made me think about my own past and if it has made me who I am now?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
A magical writer. Poetic, lyrical. His imagery is unbelievably sure. So many memorable phrases woven into a truly poignant story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Just couldn't put this book down; wonderful characters and beautifully constructed, I would highly recommend it to anyone for reading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2017
Hard going, not up to past writing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Excellent story, very moving
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Such a brilliant book- poetry in the writing- just wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
A deeply moving survey of twentieth-century life from Ireland at the time of partition through to the Gulf War. The prose is beautifully written. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
A most beautifully written book. Compelling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Fabulous
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
This book makes me feel, like looking at a bunch of Chrysanthemum, standing in a vase, the water gotten a bit stale - sunlight piercing through the vase and painting a beautiful glistening mosaic on the wall - a mosaic out of many little pieces, memories, precious recollections from the past, bitter and sweet, understandable most, for the one holding those thoughts. A life coming to the point of feeling the hidden structure of so many things, revealing her dignity and looking at all with peace.
Reading several of Sebastian Barry's novels, and liking his poetic writing style. His books seem to be in the first place books from the past, precious beautiful and sad memories, dense pictures conjured up by the longing for the happy places out of the past, and the understanding of times of grief and hardship. It is like looking back trough a light fog to houses with wooden worn out staircases, over which many feet were walking, the running of the tiny one's, as well as the measured paced steps of the grown up's. His books are witnesses of times gone, yet never covered with dust, more the wish to reconnect with the good things out of those times and the gratitude for moments of beauty and the endurance of love, which keeps this world together, moments a lasting meaning and "Geborgenheit" when deeply needed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Annie Dunne
£3.99

Need customer service? Click here